We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“would definitely recommend this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saxonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saxonville Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“would definitely recommend this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The hotel was excellent. Could not fault the service from start to finish. The evening meal was absolutely perfect every night, with a good selection on the menu, and five courses plus coffee. Everywhere in the hotel was spotlessly clean. Would defintely recommend this hotel, and hope to go back soon.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe twin room at the front of the hotel which was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vheathcote310680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    74
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
35
168
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selby
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

A very comfortable stay. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. The hotel was spotless. We stayed in a large room on the top floor. The food was beautiful, breakfasts were freshly cooked to individual needs, not buffet style, and we had two evening meals which were delicious. The hotel is well placed, within easy walking distance of the town and with a handy car park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SelbyFliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

This is a super little hotel and I should know, I've been five times, and just booked visits six and seven! The food is absolutely out of this world.
Six course dinners for residents cost about £17.50 and are incredible for quality and value. Everything is home cooked - no bought in frozen desserts here. Top class breakfast too.
For the solo traveller, another plus is a generously proportioned single room, not like the squeezed in "cupboards" you get put in at some places....
The decor is homely and slightly old-fashioned, but I actually find that more welcoming than some of the stark super-modern places you go to, and it's all spotlessly clean too.
I have to have a gluten-free diet and The Saxonville always goes to the trouble of providing gluten-free bread and rolls, and gluten-free options for all the courses too. It's great to be so well catered for as a coeliac.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen_P_Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This as others have commented, is an old fashioned seaside hotel. Although on the face of it, it is a little dated in its décor the hotel more than makes up for this with very high standards. We don't usually stay this kind of place, we prefer a country pile or modern boutique but on Halloween Whitby was busy and so decided to give it a go. The reception staff and breakfast waiting staff were excellent. The rooms and public areas of the hotel were meticulously clean, (there was a damp smell from the carpet in the bathroom, it's always baffling as to why people design bathrooms with carpets). The breakfast was great, we had Whitby kippers with smoothie. Everything was served to us on an immaculate table. The hotel is conveniently placed to be a short walk away from the action and so fairly quiet. It also has lots of parking which is great in a seaside resort.
We would stay here again but probably upgrade to a deluxe room for a larger bed size, we were late booking.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are towards the back of the hotel where it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank issyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just been for a walking weekend and stayed at the Saxonville Hotel.....really had a comfortable stay and very good food.could recommend to anyone! good parking .....and all the staff very helpful. Ideal for a group booking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from the Saxonville after a 2 night break in Whitby. Good location, minutes from the sea view and a short walk takes you into town. Nice to have dedicated car parking. Room extremely clean, breakfast above average with great attention to detail. Friendly staff. Couldn't wish for more. Hotel is even mentioned on the Whitby Tour.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over during a short visit to Yorkshire. From the check in through to breakfast and finally checkout everything was both friendly and professional. Everything is well maintained and in good order. Excellent sausages at breakfast and proper scrambled eggs.

Nice to have a private car park.

Not the cheapest establishment in Whitby, but quality comes at a price!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frozboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxonville Hotel

Property: Saxonville Hotel
Address: Ladysmith Avenue, Whitby YO21 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saxonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation in Award Winning Family Run Hotel. Well situated on Whitby's West Cliff. The comfort and hospitality of Saxonville Hotel can be found just a few minutes stroll from the narrow winding alleyways of this delightful historic town. Our Fairfield Restaurant has an excellent choice of traditional fair complemented by our extensive wine list and our special sweet trolley of mouthwatering desserts. No supplement on single rooms. Private Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Saxonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxonville Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing