We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!”
Review of Saxonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saxonville Hotel
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Coalville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We can ot fault this hotel. The decor and ambience are of a quality not always found. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable, the food (both breakfast and dinner) was of a high quality, and the service was second to none. The service was personal, and we felt very much at ease.

Room Tip: Although no rooms have a sea view, the room with the four poster bed is very elegant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CockHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    78
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
37
170
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We found this hotel solely by researching Whitby on the internet. The comments about the Saxonville were generally very good and we have not been disappointed. The rooms and general areas were always clean and tidy. The location is good for the beach and town areas and a real plus is the off road parking. The staff were really good and I am sure they would do their best to accommodate any reasonable request. We booked the evening meal for the three days and found the five course table d'hote option was excellent. The breakfast has all the usual choices, including Whitby kippers and is served at your table. This is a very well run hotel and we would certainly look here first if visiting Whitby again.
We would like to again thank the owners and staff at the Saxonville for helping us have a very enjoyable stay at Whitby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballyvourney, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is one of clearest establishments I've stayed in , rooms were spacious and tastefully decorated , situated in a good location for convenience and does have plenty of parking , breakfast was silver service which adds to the elegance of the stay , my only grumble was that prior to booking we weren't informed that we needed to pre book dinner arrangements and as we were a large group couldn't be catered for on short notice , i think that was very unfortunate for us and the establishment to miss out on so therefore can not comment on the dinner side . Have to agree with other reviewers the stairs were a bother but overall would stay again if i ever get the pleasure to return .

Room Tip: Pre book dinner arrangements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millermctojt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June and wish our stay had been longer. Very clean and spacious room although it was at the top of several flights of stairs. Staff very friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the hotel twice and the food was excellent with a varied menu which changed daily. They have a very good wine list at reasonable prices. Bar prices are not over-priced unlike some hotels. Only small comment is that it would have been nice to see some cask ales. Free car park is a definite plus.
Would recommend this hotel and we hope to return on our next visit to Whitby.

Room Tip: There is no lift but staff are willing to help with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clartodm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A real Gem. The rooms are all of a VERY HIGH STANDARD and the cleanliness is second to none. The meals are also of a very high quality with fresh ingredients with a 4/5 course menu which is changed on a daily basis. The staff are all so helpful and courteous. We have stayed there for short breaks 3 years running and have also recommended to others but are reluctant as if too many discover it we may not be able to get booked ourselves!

Room Tip: We have stayed in all different rooms and have found all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here over the May bank holiday weekend, a very pleasant stay, room was spacious, at the top of several flights of steps (warning,didn't see a lift). Has it's own bar and breakfast was nice with full waitress service. Real bonus was has it's own car park,as parking in Whitby can be a challenge with so many day tripper visitors. Location is on the cliff top, just 1 street back from the from, and gives you a nice chance to walk along the esplanade towards the town centre, giving you great views of the river mouth and the abbey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

15 of us stayed here for goth weekend our ages ranged from 16 to 65 all our rooms bar one were very spacious, and very clean good service at breakfast,all the staff were friendly and made us all feel very welcome.my husband and I booked a luxury double for the two nights at £20 extra i dont think this was worth it,all that was different to the standard rooms,was a bath robe and a pair of slippers i would say there was plenty to eat at breakfast,but i wouldnt say it was award winning,although nice.we would visit again.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the ground floor if you have trouble walking,as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken252102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxonville Hotel

Property: Saxonville Hotel
Address: Ladysmith Avenue, Whitby YO21 3HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Saxonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation in Award Winning Family Run Hotel. Well situated on Whitby's West Cliff. The comfort and hospitality of Saxonville Hotel can be found just a few minutes stroll from the narrow winding alleyways of this delightful historic town. Our Fairfield Restaurant has an excellent choice of traditional fair complemented by our extensive wine list and our special sweet trolley of mouthwatering desserts. No supplement on single rooms. Private Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Saxonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxonville Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing