We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Jewel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitby Museum

Whitby Museum
Ranked #6 of 51 things to do in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Striving to preserve an Edwardian atmosphere, this museum houses a variety of general collections.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We've been going to Whitby for years but have only recently discoverd the museum which is next to Pannett Park. It really is a terrific museum with some very friendly and helpful staff. It's good value for money, will appeal to young and old and is well worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kestralforaknave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    134
    23
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
319 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Break from the rain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Excellent musuem bit of a gem on a very rainy day. Great selection of fossils and whitby jet.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“good variety for all the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

something for everyone young and old - we have visited many times and the art gallery is always different too. the museum offers many things suitable for all ages, good value keeps the young ones quite too on a rainy day with so much to see

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank sasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We've been coming to Whitby for about 12 years, and very regular for at least 5 years.
On our recent visit the weather wasn't the best so we decided to take a walk up to the museum, we were pleasantly surprised. The museum is set in the lovely grounds of Pannett Park. On entry to the museum you come to the Art Gallery side, this is a free area to view the pictures. There are some really excellent old pictures of Whitby harbour.

We then went into the museum, the cost I believe was £4 each. We were greeted by a most wonderful guy who knew his museum, highlighting us to the different areas. There are some amazing artefacts here relating to Whitby. We seemed to be in the museum an age & upstairs there was an exhibition about Bram Stoker who wrote Dracula. I found this extremely interesting having recently read the book.
The fossil side of the museum was fascinating along with the whaling area.
The museum could keep you amused/ occupied for hours!

There is also a cafe, which we didn't go to but many do seem to call & if you want to only go to the cafe then it is free.

The museum does have a website you could browse if you're thinking of visiting.
http://www.whitbymuseum.org.uk/index.htm

Well,worth the cost & will not hesitate to go again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Emelbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very educational”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We love Whitby Museum. It's very dated but it's also very old so adds to the experience.
There is a wide range of local history and very enjoyable to look around.
If you need to know anything about Whitby's history you should certainly start here...
(Locals with ID get in for free too)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank MrsWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitby Museum also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Whitby Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing