We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, comfortable rooms, great breakfast, friendly & welcoming host - what more could you want?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Linen Guest House
Ranked #29 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stylish, comfortable rooms, great breakfast, friendly & welcoming host - what more could you want?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

White Linen Guest House has stylishly decorated rooms, a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere, and hosts who are genuinely warm and friendly. The breakfasts are excellent (including Lincolnshire sausage, naturally!), the rooms have all the extras one expects with an up-market B&B, and it's situated just a stone's throw from the harbour. Perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welterd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    34
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
192
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel when staying in Whitby for the launch of the book "Dracula's Whitby" by Ian Thompson. The book featured a chapter about local ghosts,(as well as giving a thoroughly enjoyable account of why Whitby and Dracula are connected) some of these ghosts are located very close to the hotel. Fortunately I didn't see any ghosts but the guest house was fantastic!!!! The rooms were comfortable and very very romantic (double showers!) and the breakfasts were just amazing. I had a long weekend in Whitby and this was the best place I could imagine staying.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaslightImagery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend away, we stayed in the Tudor room. Faultless. Clean, spacious, friendly, comfortable, excellent choice of breakfasts.
Thanks Richard and Heidi.
We had a fantastic couple of meals, first at Harry's, towards the pier. Secondly an Indian, the one outside the station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for two nights in the Georgian room. It was a short honeymoon as we have children. The hotel is situated near to the train station and a minutes walk away from everything. The room was beautiful and made the stay feel special, also the added extra of a bottle of champagne was a lovely touch. The bed was comfy and warm and the en-suite was spacious and clean. The only downside to the room was the noise from the traffic. As it is a period property it is single glazed and so I was woken up by various traffic noises. However this did not dampen the stay and we will return again.
Breakfast was lovely and plentiful. I broke my 'no bread' ban to try the jams and they was delicious. All food was good quality. This is a lovely hotel run by a helpful and friendly couple. I've already recommended it to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We have just returned from the White Linen Guest House after a 2 night stay.

Our initial impression was quite good. However that was soon quashed by the parking situation. There is no parking at the front of the hotel and you have to go around the one way system to the back of the property (as far as we know that was the only way to get to it.) The parking very limited and very tight, although it is free. Also one way in and one way out, so if its busy you will struggle to turn round! You enter the B & B from the back door but only when checking in and out as this is Heidi and Richard's private quarters.

The guest house has been renovated to a reasonable standard but personally I feel it was done on a budget and not particularly well thought out especially in the room we stayed in. We stayed in the Tudor Room. My initial impression was that it was a lovely room. But we couldn't get the heating to regulate properly. It was either too hot or too cold. There was no dressing table to dry your hair at and apply make up. I had to move furniture around and stretch the hairdryer which had a very short cable to a point of being unable to dry my hair properly. The hairdryer only worked on one speed (burning hot!) which was changed by Richard on request. The kettle was the old style plug in type not the sit on a base type which again seemed a little old fashioned considering the rooms had been renovated. On asking Richard why the shower and sink took 15 minutes to get any hot water we were told that our room was the last on the pipeline and it was an old hotel! Also there was very limited space in the en-suite and no where to put toiletries other than on the floor! There was also no radiator in the bathroom therefore our towels were still damp in the morning. The room radiators were covered either by furniture or by radiator covers so we were unable to use them either. Not a major problem but the toilet roll was cheap and not what I would have expected from and £80pppn place. You do still need some luxury even when away from home!

Breakfast was lovely and Heidi couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. Good hearty selection of food to start the day. Although the dining room was quite cold as no heating in there other than small electric fan heater.

Great situ as only a stone throw from the centre of Whitby. Try Mister Chips....not cheap but very yummy!

Overall a pleasant stay but wouldn't particularly go back or not go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FIFILEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked a night in the Georgian room last minute and were so lad we chose White Linen. The room was a wonderful bit of luxury. The bed was ridiculously comfortable, great decor and facilities. Hosts were so friendly and accommodating. My gluten free needs were met with the lovely breakfast. I can imagine we will be back very soon and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afhr511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbys
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

A beautiful house on the edge of town opposite the railway station. We were given a lovely friendly welcome and shown to our lovely room. Because of the awful weather unfortunately there had been a leak from the ceiling, we were swifty moved and upgraded to a four poster room with a massive bed with crisp linen.
After a great night sleep we were served the most amazing breakfast, we are vegetarian and wanted for nothing. You are spoilt for choice, all high quality produce, they even do a 'preserve of the day' which for us was lemon curd, divine!
Rich and Heidi are really professional and offer quality.
If I had to make a negative comment it was that we could not park nearby and had a 10/15 min walk, and I found the outside lighting a sparse to negotiate the steep steps.
It was a really great stay and we look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: we saw 2 and they were both lovely so I suspect they will all be as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Highgate House
Highgate House
#56 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#44 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#51 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Linen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Linen Guest House

Property: White Linen Guest House
Address: 24 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully proportioned Georgian Guest House. Furnished to a high standard with all room being en-suite. A short stroll away from the town centre and great restaurants. Large breakfast menu serving local products and Whitby kippers. On the top floor we have a large boutique self-catering 2 bedroom apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your White Linen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Linen Guest House Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing