We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style”

Shepherds Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm
Ranked #6 of 18 Coffee & Tea in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Shepherds Hall was built in 1873 and was a meeting place for the Loyal Order of Ancient Shepherds. It is now a fabulous tea rooms, craft gallery and has a lovely tea garden along with ample free parking. A lovely relaxed atmosphere, home baking and food prepared using local produce where possible make this a must to visit. Our craft gallery has unique items and gifts, many of them Fair Trade or British made, along with vintage china for sale.Lealholm is a traditional village, a popular tourist destination surrounded by beautiful heather moors crossed with miles of footpaths and bridleways. There are plenty of things to see including the stepping stones across the River Esk which are not far from Shepherds Hall.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Found the Shepherds Hall by accident but what a find, quaint, clean and friendly. Wendy spent some time chatting to us in what is a very peaceful atmosphere. The food was first rate and served with a smile, it was just a quick bite but this is on the list for a 'proper meal' next time we are in North Yorkshire

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill J, Owner at Shepherds Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Glad you enjoyed Shepherds Hall and we look forward to seeing you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
There are newer reviews for Shepherds Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 126 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This place us brilliant! Visited twice during our stay in Lealholm (it's not in Whitby) and the food was amazing. Toasties are tasty, but the cheese platter with apple and onion chutneys, grapes, bread and crackers was delicious...the ladies said that this was a new addition to the menu and it should become a firm favourite. However, the main attraction was the Yorkshire Cream Tea..best scones I have ever tasted! Last but not least, the ladies themselves...they are absolutely lovely...the friendliest people you are likely to meet, even when traipsing up and down the steep stone steps to serve us outside in the scorching sunshine. Will be our first port of call when we return. Thank you, ladies!

Thank fatange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill J, Owner at Shepherds Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2014

Many thanks for your comments and we're glad you enjoyed the cheese platter. The trips up and down the steps certainly keep us fit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We found this cute place when we were staying nearby at Daffodil cottage at Hollins Farm. What a Lovely little place Lealholm is. We had a two course sunday lunch, it was delicious. We were far to full to enjoy a pud so we took a cake home for later which was yummy. The service is good too. It has some really cool things vintage to buy which you can look at while you wait for your food to come. I bought a little vintage teacup and saucer - a lovely little memento of our visit and stay in Lealholm.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 873Beebop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill J, Owner at Shepherds Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed our Sunday lunch!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

While walking from Danby to Leaholme to catch the train we came across the tea rooms.We had 30 minutes to spare and dropped in for a cuppa.Food looks very nice, the teavwas great and the service and hospitality was excellent.Well worth a visit, there is garden with tables on a nice day.Also there is a small shop on the premises for gifts etc. A definite next time we are that way. They don't open till 10.30am in the week.

Thank stephen r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill J, Owner at Shepherds Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We happened upon this village by accident and choose this place because it had free customer car parking. Parking is often difficult to find in these lovely villages. The scones were the best I've tasted and the staff were not only friendly but gave us some local hints on things to do and also told us about a great Road to drive. It was the opposite directions we were going but we took her advise and were so glad we did. Can't beat local knowledge.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jacquidann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gill J, Owner at Shepherds Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed the drive I suggested. There really is some wonderful places on The North Yorkshire Moors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepherds Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm also viewed

Lealholm, North Yorkshire
Glaisdale, North Yorkshire
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Danby, North York Moors National Park
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Castleton, North York Moors National Park
 

Been to Shepherds Hall Tea Rooms Lealholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing