We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very enjoyable stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kauri Cottage

Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio seating and communal lawns
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio and communal lawns
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Second Floor Lounge
Second floor lounge with French doors to outside balcony. Double sofa bed for one or two guests
View from second floor French doors and balcony
First floor bathroom with shower
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor bathroom
The famous St Hilda's Abbey
Whitby at night
Beach Sunset
Twin bedroom on top floor
Twin bedroom on second floor next to double bedroom
Single bedroom on first floor
Tourist boat from Whitby harbour to Ruswarpalong the River Esk  on the high tide
Sight seeing cruise from Whitby Harbour up the River Esk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebecca M
2 reviews
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for a few days at this property. I couldn't fault it at all. It had everything we needed. Beautiful and comfortable furniture and decor, lots of games, books and DVDs provided. The cottage is close to the river and the location is quiet and peaceful, very scenic. We got taxis into Whitby due to having small children with us, but you could walk. I would definitely recommend this holiday rental. We had a lovely relaxing holiday.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Thanks very much for your review Rebecca - glad you had a relaxing and enjoyable time at our cottage. Any recommendations to friends and family are greatly appreciated, and we hope to see you again too in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed August 13, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our stay at Kauri Cottage was very relaxing. It is well located, within walkable distance of the centre of Whitby and close to the Cinder Track which leads to Robin Hoods' Bay.

The cottage is well-equipped and given the quietness of the holiday village it wasn't at all difficult to sleep at night.

We travelled in a group of five and found the flat suitably spacious for our needs. All instructions and information were sent in advance by the owner, making it easy to resolve any small issues.

A lovely break - thanks again,

Mark

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Many thanks Mark - we too believe the cottage is well located - near enough to enjoy the bustle of Whitby, but yet far enough away too to appreciate the quiet times. All the best to you and your family and if you visit Whitby again we would love to welcome you back to Kauri Cottage.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful zetting
Liked least: The hill going out to the cinder track . But good for the legs.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2016
Many thanks Linda for posting a review for us - sounds like the two little ones had a great time (and hopefully the adults too!!). The weather too of course does provide an added bonus !! Hope to see you again soon !!

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Many thanks Michelle for your comments - glad you and your family were happy with the cottage and the facilities we provide. We hope you are able to visit us again in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TAR80
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely break in a super cottage”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had an excellent stay in this cottage. We found it to be comfortable, clean and very well maintained. We all loved the location and the young children in our group were very impressed with the stunning views of the viaduct and river. We would definitely stay here again in the future and we would definitely recommend to friends.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Many thanks for your review and recommendation to others - much appreciated !! We look forward to welcoming you back to the cottage in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayneMari...
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cottage, Superb Location”
Reviewed May 23, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Wonderful location very peaceful setting next to the river watched the heron fishing every evening. Only a short car journey into Whitby centre - nice walk via the viaduct - the most direct route. Superb property one of the best equipped holiday lets I have been in. The owners couldn't have been more helpful letting us book at very short notice. Hope to be back in the very near future.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location, such a well equipped property
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review for us - we are delighted that you were satisfied with everything including our customer service which we do pride ourselves on. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthYork...
South Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 17, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The cottage is surprisingly spacious. It was clean, very comfortable and quiet. There are three levels and each level has a toilet / bathroom. We didn't walk into Whitby from the cottage but it is only a short drive or taxi journey. We certainly will recommend this cottage, thanks.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 26, 2016
Many thanks for your review - really pleased you had a good time and our cottage met all your needs. We hope to see you at the cottage again soon.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing