We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in excellent cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kauri Cottage

Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio seating and communal lawns
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio and communal lawns
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Second Floor Lounge
Second floor lounge with French doors to outside balcony. Double sofa bed for one or two guests
View from second floor French doors and balcony
First floor bathroom with shower
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor bathroom
The famous St Hilda's Abbey
Whitby at night
Beach Sunset
Twin bedroom on top floor
Twin bedroom on second floor next to double bedroom
Single bedroom on first floor
Tourist boat from Whitby harbour to Ruswarpalong the River Esk  on the high tide
Sight seeing cruise from Whitby Harbour up the River Esk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pauline R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in excellent cottage”
Reviewed June 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Three generations of our family stayed at Kauri Cottage. It is an excellent property with plenty of space for everyone. The location is wonderful, so quiet and peaceful below the viaduct with the river running beside it. We were visited by ducks a rabbits each day. Yet it is a short drive or for those a little more energetic a walk into town. There is also ample parking close to the cottage.
The cottage is furnished with everything you might want or need for your stay with all the extras having been thoughtfully provided. We were also sent information on places to eat which was very useful. We have always gone to the Magpie but found it disappointing on this visit.. We did try Humble Pie - the pie and mash shop which is excellent and certainly our new favourite.
We definitely plan to stay again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Going home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2015
Thank you for your review - we are pleased that the restaurant review information was useful and you have found another favourite !!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the cottage in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael J
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great cottage!!.....can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Myself, my wife and Max, the Parson Russell Terrier had a great couple of days at Kauri Cottage. The location is set away from the main harbour area of Whitby, but within easy walking distance in a picturesque, quiet location by the river and overlooked by the Viaduct, which adds to the feel of the place.

The cottage was immaculate and better equipped than most houses with TVs in most rooms, gadgets in the kitchen, docking stations for I-phones and free Wi-Fi. There is plenty of outdoor space on the ground and middle floor also. This is a real home from home...and feels more like a home than a holiday let.

We went without the kids this time around, so there was loads of space over the 3 floors, but we are intending to go back again with our 3 children aged 11, 13 and 15 very soon. The cottage will be more than big enough to accommodate us all and no doubt keep the teenagers entertained with the gadgets. There was even DVDs and board games provided to keep everyone occupied, should the weather turn nasty.

I would highly recommend this place, whether you are a couple, family, or group of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and home from home feel of the cottage
Liked least: Couldn't fault it
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to post a review for us. We also think the location is great and the viaduct is certainly a focal point of the area.

We look forward to be able to welcome you to the cottage on your next visit to Whitby - hopefully your kids will love it too !!

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn C
Cottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderfully relaxing stay”
Reviewed June 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the cottage to celebrate my Dad's birthday. It was spacious enough for 3 couples & equipped with everything you could think of. Also plenty of instructions & tips were provided which saved wasting time trying to discover how things work. The location was very peaceful...perfect for a glass of wine sat out on the balcony, next to the beautiful river Esk, before we taxied into Whitby to have fish & chips and enjoy some live music...only £5 & saved finding a parking spot. Also nobody drew the short straw as the designated driver! There are plenty of walks on the doorstep & if you can brave the climb up to the viaduct it's worth it for the views. Overall a great weekend was had by all & we wouldn't hesitate to recommend the accommodation to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful location
Liked least: creaky floorboards
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 16, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us and for passing on to your friends/family the good time you had with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the cottage in the future.

Best regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChamboYor...
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I booked the cottage for 2 nights in May for my birthday celebrations. Never having booked a cottage before I didn't know what to expect. As soon as we walked in the door I was delighted. The cottage is spotlessly clean, well appointed and had everything you could possibly need. The furnishings are modern and the attention to detail is fantastic. Martin & Julie have furnished the house as if it was a home and it has all those little touches that you wouldn't get in a hotel. We ate out all of the time but had we wanted to stay in there was everything you could possibly need to prepare a meal. We got taxi's in to Whitby which were efficient and reasonably priced. We ate at Greens Restaurant one of the evenings were we had a fabulous meal so I can recommend trying there. We also ate at the Java Café and the Magpie Cafe which were also lovely. We stayed one evening on our own and the second evening we were joined by my parents and brother and the cottage never felt overcrowded. We've booked to go again in August and we can't wait, we just hope we get some sunshine so we can enjoy the outside seating area! Martin sends out loads of useful information before you go to the cottage so you don't have to do anything other than turn up and enjoy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughtful homely touches
Liked least: The creaky floorboards!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
Many thanks for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back later in the year - hopefully when the sun is shining and the viaduct, Whitby and surrounding areas are at there best !!

We will pass on your kind comments to our housekeeper too - she has been with us for some years now and we work as a team to maintain the highest possible standards for our guests.

Thanks and kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mummybaz
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage, home from home”
Reviewed May 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We booked the cottage as we always attend the goth weekend in Whitby, but prefer to be out of the town. The location here is perfect, quiet and tranquil but so handy for the town.
There were 4 adults in our group and we were all impressed with the level of the facilities. Everything we needed was there, we love to cook, even on holiday, and the kitchen was really well equipped.
The cottage was spacious, comfortable and beautifully presented.
The owners, Julie and Martin are lovely, they were great with communications and it was a hassle free booking .
We will definately return at some point and i would really recommend this cottage for anyone looking for accommodation in Whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2015
Thank you for your kind review - we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Goth weekends are always popular so if you are able to book sooner rather than later it may avoid you being disappointed.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tintin544...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kauri Cottage - a pleasant stay in a lovely spot”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I have been going to Whitby in May for a weekend away with 2 friends of mine for 5 years now, each time staying at a different accommodation. This year, in keeping with our requirements (we each need our own bedroom; we're a little old and wrinkly to be sharing) I found Kauri Cottage and got what I feel was a good deal. The owner, Martin, was very punctual with communication and everything re the arrangements worked very smoothly.

Kauri cottage is located away from the centre of Whitby, but don't be alarmed. You will have parking space for free and the walk into town is not the way you drive in, it is in fact a climb up a steepish hill for 300m then a stroll on the flat down into Whitby along the viaduct, then you come out near the last big roundabout before reaching the town centre. All in all it's a 15 minute walk; that's enough time to build up a thirst or an appetite. A taxi back from the town centre was £8.50. I do not find East coast taxis cheap but there is more competition where I live, so some might not find that too bad.

The property itself is excellent. It is a modern build and it has everything you will need, though you do need to provide your own towels. A good TV in the upstairs lounge has BT TV with plenty of channels. The kitchen is again excellent and offers everything you need with a dining area to the side. There are 2 bathrooms, one on the first floor and one on the 2nd floor. I used the shower in the bath on the first floor and I found it to be very good. The 2nd floor bathroom does not have a shower so I think we all used the first floor facility but there are no complaints.

The property is spotlessly clean and the ambience of the development is ideal. I would recommend it to anyone unless they do not have a vehicle, as the walk into town is straight forward but reliant on the weather. Kauri cottage is an ideal base from which families can set off for the day then relax in a homely environment once you return.

I will definitely be contacting Martin, the owner, next year, to see if Kauri Cottage is available for hire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I slept like a log in a comfortable bed with a nice heavy duvet, just as I like it..
Liked least: It's a bit picky to fault this but we had to take our own towels
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review for us which I am sure will assist others when thinking of accommodation in Whitby.

We look forward to hearing from you again on your next visit to Whitby.

Thanks and regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrsLThomp...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Whitby Getaway”
Reviewed May 4, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned home after a fabulous weekend away with friends for a 40th Birthday celebration. There were 3 couples in our party and the cottage was perfect. Nicely decorated with all mod cons, wifi, etc. Owners Martin & Julie were excellent in providing information about the property, the local area and with recommending great restaurants. Everything went smoothly with this booking from start to finish, we had no problems whatsoever and would happily recommend this property to family & friends aswell as returning ourselves again.
Whitby itself was fabulous and we were lucky enough to be there when the Tour De Yorkshire Cycle Race went through, which was an added bonus.
The property itself is situated in a beautiful picturesque setting by the River Esk, making it a relaxing retreat from the town centre, but not too far away to walk to and from the main attractions of Whitby taking about 20minutes each way. But if you wished for a taxi, it costs approximately £5 each way. Thanks again to the owners, your cottage is lovely, very well equipped and nothing seems to much trouble for you. We will be back x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2015
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review for us - we look forward to welcoming you back very soon !!

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing