We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kauri Cottage

Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio seating and communal lawns
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio and communal lawns
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Second Floor Lounge
Second floor lounge with French doors to outside balcony. Double sofa bed for one or two guests
View from second floor French doors and balcony
First floor bathroom with shower
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor bathroom
The famous St Hilda's Abbey
Whitby at night
Beach Sunset
Twin bedroom on top floor
Twin bedroom on second floor next to double bedroom
Single bedroom on first floor
Tourist boat from Whitby harbour to Ruswarpalong the River Esk  on the high tide
Sight seeing cruise from Whitby Harbour up the River Esk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zesty2014
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed November 24, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in Kauri Cottage. The views were lovely from the cottage itself sat right beneath a viaduct and the river flowing by the side very scenic. There were 6 adults and a young child and we all had plenty of room to move round within the cottage and ample room for sleeping.

I would recommend a stay at this place and as a family, we would like to return here in the summer months as it was abit overcast and Chilly with being Novemeber! It is a close walk into Whitby about 20 minutes and the views from the viaduct are lovely. We hardly used our car whilst staying there because of the good locality of the cottage. It was nice and quiet throughout our stay and we did not see many other people whilst we were there.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review.

We too think the views and the location are amazing and the added bonus of the viaduct does make it something special.

We are delighted you were happy with our cottage and that you are looking to return.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the summer months.

Thanks and regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina...
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spotless & great location”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a long weekend October 2014 4 adults , 3 kids & a dog, on arrival the cottage was warm and welcoming, with every kitchen appliance you could possibly need, comfortable lounge and 3 bedrooms, and an additional sofa bed in the lounge. A great quiet base within easy reach of the centre of Whitby . There was plenty of room and everywhere was so clean and fresh, the owners really have thought of everything, and the Wi-fi was popular with the kids! We will 100% be back! thanks for a great stay

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. If the kids are happy than usually the adults are happy so pleased that the Wi-Fi did its job and you had an enjoyable break !!

We look forward to welcoming you back to our cottage in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely and well equipped”
Reviewed October 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is on the banks of the river Esk, very close to a magnificent viaduct - very scenic and rural with ducks and the odd rabbit hopping about. Across the far side of the river is a local railway where we were fortunate to see the old steam train which runs on special days. The cottage itself is on 3 floors and is well maintained having a great kitchen and dining area downstairs and an ample lounge on the first floor. There are two bathrooms and also a loo downstairs which is more than ample for a large family. All in all it was very cosy and welcoming; we had a great time staying here and exploring Whitby.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. The steam train is certainly a great sight and is commonplace daily on the rail track at the side of the cottage making its way to Grosmont and Pickering. Your weekend will have coincided with the 40's weekend in Pickering so hopefully you were able to experience a great atmosphere and frequent the surrounding areas as well as Whitby.

We hope to welcome you to the cottage again in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela G
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed October 12, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed a glorious break in this delightful cottage nestled beneath the viaduct beside the river Esk. Everything was provided for our comfort and the location is perfect for anyone who enjoys walking either on the disused railway track or the coastal path.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself and location.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2014
Many thanks for your kind review - we too think the location is just perfect for a relaxing break !!

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danewilli...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absoutly brilliant!”
Reviewed October 6, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Visited this amazing cottage in this amazing setting for my partners birthday and brought along our two King Charles cavaliers , we all had a wonderful time and would recommend this lovely cottage to everyone , we will definitely be visiting again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2014
We very much appreciate your review on our cottage, thank you.

The location is perfect for the dogs and I am sure they will have had as good a time as you !!

We very much hope to welcome you back at some point in the future.

With many thanks and regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KT_Yorksh...
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for a special occasion for 6 adults and 1 baby...
After reading the excellent reviews on here, we contacted Martin & Julie who were very helpful from start to finish. Everything was spot on and we couldn't have wished for a better weekend - both accommodation and weather. The cottage is spacious and comfortable and they have thought of everything, from Champagne glasses (which came in very useful) to matching crockery ( a must for Mum!) Loved the views from the balconies on both floors. Lovely scenic walk over viaducts to the centre of Whitby (approx. a 25 min steady walk).
Hope to return in Summer 2015!
Keep up the good work :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2014
Many thanks for your review - glad all the celebrations went well and the champagne glasses were put to good use !!!

We have now received and confirmed your booking for next Summer so we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pippa L
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Cottage”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Lovely cottage, in lovely surroundings. Just under the viaduct and next to the river (which is ideal for crabbing) the cottage was lovely and modern and very comfortable for the 7 of us! Just a short walk into whitby on the cinder trail which takes you over the viaduct, we did this every day as we didn't bring a car with us. Would defiantly return, many thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you found Whitby easily accessible with just a short walk into town, and that the fact you did not have a car with you did not stop your enjoyment of the cottage and surrounding areas. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing