We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Kauri Cottage

Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio and communal lawns
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio and communal lawns
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Second Floor Lounge
Second floor lounge with French doors to outside balcony
View from second floor French doors and balcony
View from second floor French doors and balcony
First floor single bedroom
First floor bathroom with shower
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor bathroom
Second floor twin room
Second floor twin room
Second floor twin room
Whitby beach walk to Sandsend
The famous St Hilda's Abbey
Whitby at night
Beach Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pinkboatl...
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our short break in this cottage. It was located just on the river bank and friendly ducks regularly came to visit, as you left or returned to your cottage. It was very well equipped and as the weather was cold we spent our nights watching some DVD's, as there was an extensive collection within the cottage. We found the double bed on the top floor to be a little bit hard, but I suppose it is down to what you are used to. The cottage had everything that you would ever want to occupy yourselves, as there was a cabinet full of games and a bookshelf full of books and DVD's. The only down side for us is that there are no bars or restaurants within walking distance. But if you want a family get away break this would be the perfect place to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy feel to the cottage
Liked least: Walking up and down the three floors
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. I am glad the ducks were friendly !! They are a feature of the development due to its location (as is other wildlife) and are loved by most visitors.

We are sorry that perhaps the double bed was not to your taste. A difficult one to address as you can imagine - hopefully it was not too uncomfortable for you and did not spoil your stay with us.

With thanks - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CountyDur...
County Durham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding Holiday Property!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Rent this place, you won't be disappointed!
A truly home from home experience!
Location, location location, right next to the River Esk, with a Slipway outside your front door giving access to Whitby and the Harbour via the River for any boat owners.
Spectacular place, right under the arches of the magnificent Railway Viaduct and so close to the town centre.
This property is located within the Captain Cook Holiday Village, holiday complex, but it is privately owned, and boy, can you experience the difference.
Everything you need for a group of x 7 persons, space, amenities, comfortable and the cleanest you will find.
A credit to its owners, and their cleaner.
Don't miss this one, thoroughly recommended.
Available for short lets, even during school holiday periods (unlike most other holiday let properties in and around Whitby)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, Comfort and Very Cosy
Liked least: There was nothing we did not like about this property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review for us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kauri Cottage in the future.

With thanks and regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne J
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. It was like a home away from home and we enjoyed every minute of our trip. The accommodation is very modern, clean and has everything you need. We had lovely weather for our trip away and it was relaxing to sit on the balcony soaking up the fresh air and great views. We highly recommend Kauri Cottage - its a true gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
Thanks very much for taking the time to do a review for us - we are delighted that your first anniversary was celebrated at our Cottage and everything was to your satisfaction. We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Many thanks and regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauline l
hoddesdon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“100% great place to stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Kauri Cottage offered everything that our family could have asked for. The location is good, being close to Whitby. The kids adored being by the river, feeding the ducks, crabbing, waving to travellers on the steam train, and playing with all the other children nearby. The cottage is very comfortable and modern and is equipped with everything that we needed. It is close to the new Sainsburys Supermarket for easy access to shopping and fuel. The owners are very obliging and booking was quick and easy. We have now stayed at the cottage three times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, facilities and decor
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 12, 2013
Many thanks for posting a review for us - we look forward to welcoming you back to Kauri Cottage for a fourth visit !!

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
782Defaul...
Bingley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I miss you Kauri Cottage”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful place to stay. The age group of our extended family was from 12 to 82 plus a small King Charles spaniel. It is not often that a location and accommodation can suit everyone, but Kauri cottage achieved it with all of our party. We stayed Mon - Fri, the house was clean, comfortable and well thought out. The tranquil setting was exactly what we wanted and after full days out in local tourist places we were able to return to relax and enjoy the views. Our 12 year old was utterly transfixed with a crab line at the waters edge until dusk each evening and never once asked to use X Box or the like. I will most definitely be booking again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location/scenery and the clean and modern facilities of the house.
Liked least: No wi fi and would have liked a comfy chair in the dinning room for my dad who is old
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 5, 2013
Martin and I are really pleased you have enjoyed the cottage and its surrounding areas - it is always good that the youngsters are entertained which generally makes for an enjoyable holiday for the adults !!. I guess the dog was happy too with the water and the grassed areas to roam around.

Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Kauri Cottage in the future.

Kind regards and thanks - Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElaineWB
Birmingham UK
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Superb cottage in great loation!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a week's holiday at Kauri Cottage with our family to celebrate a 60th birthday. The cottage is absolutely delightful, beautifully furnished and fitted out with everything we needed. The photographs really don't do it justice! Everything is beautifully co-ordinated and extremely comfortable. Clearly, a lot of thought has gone into making it a home from home. There were also lots of information leaflets about local things to do and places to visit.
The location is also amazing, being just under the Larpool Viaduct alongside the river. The geese provided our morning entertainment, particularly our daughter's attempts to avoid them!
We were fortunate to have good weather and were able to walk into Whitby several times. The walk is a strenuous one, but well worth doing over the viaduct and Cinder Track.
I really can't recommend this cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 3, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a review. We have upgraded the cottage this year and it is something we try to do each winter ready for the forthcoming season. It is sometimes difficult to assess what people want but a 'home from home' atmosphere is what we strive for and we are delighted everything was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Many thanks and regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The distance to the nearest shop (Sainsburys is a 10 minute drive away)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2013
We are delighted you had a good holiday at our Cottage and glad you had time to appreciate its location (which we think is great too!). The steam trains passing and the wildlife are certainly very relaxing and most children enjoy feeding the ducks. We hope you will be able to visit us again soon and we thank you for taking the time to do a review for us.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;