We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced food”
Review of The Board Inn

The Board Inn
Ranked #65 of 216 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced food”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice spot never got chance to see the view of the harbour but food tasted nice. Decent size portions. I had the scampi my girlfriend had the lamb shank. We found a quite position away from the noise of the full bar. had to look for some clean cutlery nothing major.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pw18968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    101
    48
    21
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My first trip to Whitby and I was advised not to leave without tasting the famous Fish and Chips. Sadly for me this was not the best choice. The first problem was finding clean cutlery, every piece we picked up had stale food attached to it. YUK! I suppose paying up front was the first clue. Portions were ok but the fish was not fresh and the chips were of the frozen variety. Felt ill for the rest of the day after eating here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GeneGenie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice view”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We also had an evening meal here during our stay in Whitby,the service and food were both good at a reasonable price with nice view to the harbour.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhileHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This pub was lovely and welcoming from the outside with beautiful flowers. Inside we maybe should have been alerted by the fact hardly anyone was eating. The homemade seafood chowder was no more than boiled potatoes in milk with a little white fish and a couple of prawns.Unimaginative and with no taste. Would not go back! The BLT was not much better although the lasagne was the best of the bunch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice food and service, but nothing outstanding”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Had an evening meal here during our stay in Whitby. The service and food were both good, but nothing particularly amazing. Reasonable prices and decent portions. It's fine if you just want somewhere to eat before having a few drinks but I wouldn't make an evening of the meal. Nice views from the dining room.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Board Inn also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing