We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon”
Review of Doodlepots

Doodlepots
Ranked #9 of 28 Shopping in Whitby
Attraction details
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I went here as part of a hen party weekend and we were made to feel very welcome. The process was explained clearly and the lady was happy for us to drink the bubbly we bought with us. She showed us techniques to create an Emma Bridgewater style and our 'hen' was thrilled with the teaset we painted for her and we all said we would come back on a return visit, having got the bug.

The only thing I would say is allow longer than you think to paint... (I'd say allow about 3 hours) we were so engrossed we didn't see the hours fly by!

A lovely way to spend an afternoon before walking by the sea.

2  Thank Rubybuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H, Owner at Doodlepots, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Thank you for your positive comments. Doodlepots is still a very popular choice for hen parties. We are happy to tailor the party to each individual group and offer compimentary Prosecco and commemorative plates for groups of 8 or more, or a group spend of £100 ♡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Doodlepots
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very overpriced - thought the high price of the blank pottery was to cover costs of paint etc. but then we were charged £3.50 per person painting as well. Cost us nearly £70 to paint 4 small items of pottery. Female owner was a complete nightmare with our small children, constantly fussing around us, telling them not to squeeze too much paint out, not to touch stuff in the shop, how to wash their hands etc etc. Made us all feel very uncomfortable and on edge. Would not recommend this place with children at all.

6  Thank pitcherj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H, Owner at Doodlepots, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2017

Under new management since April 2014. All ages are made to feel very welcome and there is a very wide selection to choose from, to suit everyone's budget ♡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I went here with my fiancee (and our puppy!) and we had a great time. I wasn't sure what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised. You pick the piece that you want to paint, choose your colours, brushes, sponges and shapes and then off you go creating. You can buy a drink while you're there and then you just paint. I decorated a dog bowl and I'm no da'Vinci, but it turned out ok. We were visiting Whitby, so, after our pieces had fired, we had them posted to us.

Its a great way to unwind and be creative. There's a great selection of things to paint and the prices start off nice and low, so it doesn't have to be an expensive couple of hours.

2  Thank sean36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Me and my other half went here last summer and we had a great couple of hours . They have a selection of things for you to decorate , all are different prices . This is nice for everyone but i would highly recomend it for families . Two tips -
Tip one . Go in with at least an hour to spare as it can take longer than you think
Tip two - Remember that you have to either get it posted to your house or pick it up two days later

3  Thank beccixox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

At Doolepots you can choose the piece of pottery you'd like to paint, paint it in your chosen colours and design. You leave it with the helpfull staff to glaze and fire, then either come back and collect your piece or they will post it to you. Gets very busy at holiday time, so pre book.

Left the grandchildren many times when we go shoping, or its raining. You pay a Studio fee of £3.50 per painter (this covers the cost of paints, glazing and firing of your pot) plus the cost of whatever you paint, and there is plenty of choice from pocket money to £xx

2  Thank Hopefull-guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H, Owner at Doodlepots, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2017

Thank you for your review. The studio is under new management but not much has changed except there is now no additional studio fee, just the shelf price to simplify things ♡

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doodlepots also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Doodlepots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing