We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house in a perfect location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
17 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen J
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Wasn't expecting a great deal due to the price and it would have been perfectly acceptable if the place was cleaned.
We couldn't bring ourselves to use the cooker or dishwasher, the bins were full when we arrived, paintwork was patchy and the coving covered in cobwebs.
The garage was a godsend as other parking was impossible unless you wished to pay the £7 a day for the council car park.
Must admit that the accommodation heating system proved efficient during a chilly week but it did take a couple of days to get going.
All said and done we had a good stay but more to do wth the family and the pleasant holiday resort that is Whity......will go back.....but to a different appartment

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surrounding area
Liked least: Property cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2016
Thanks you for your review. Since reading your review the owner has replaced dishwasher and they have hired a new cleaner for the property to maintain their high standards at this property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great house in a perfect location”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We loved this house, loads of room, bags of character and the rooftop terrace was a perfect place for a morning coffee and an evening glass of wine with stunning views across the rooftops to Whitby Abbey.

The house had plenty of space, nicely furnished and even a private garage in a block just up the road. Our first trip to Whitby but we will definitely return as we loved it! The house is just off one of the lovely streets with plenty of interesting shops to have a look at. The walk to the abbey is spectacular and the abbey is well worth a visit. The beach is beautiful and we'd recommend a long walk to Sandsend with some lovely little cafe's when you get there. Robin Hood's Bay isn't far away - stunning place to visit.

& to return to the Captain's Hideaway after your day out is just perfect - so homely and welcoming - great base!

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 5, 2015
Enjoying a morning coffee and a glass of wine in the evening on the rooftop terrace sounds perfect! We are glad that you enjoyed your first trip to Whitby and are delighted that you liked the Captain's Hideaway. We hope you will book with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire...
Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tired doesn't describe it really”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

The cottage is situated perfectly for a stay in Whitby, set over 5 floors it has fantastic views - it has great potential but as a reviewer added in 2012 it is tired and I would say in urgent need of decorating and cleaning. There are signs of dampness on the walls and whilst I would expect character in a property of its age this was beyond character. Both the veranda and yard were dirty - a lick of paint and clean up would make all the difference - that said it didn't spoil my stay I love Whitby - had a lovely long weekend

Date of stay: June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: January 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lincolnshire
Reviewed June 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: April 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
stefandma...
Preston
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money in a prime location for exploring Whitby.”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Located just off a busy shopping area, it is extremely well positioned to enjoy shopping, eating, and exploring in Whitby. A spring clean and a lick of paint would make it an exceptional place to stay, but it is tremendous value for what you get. It is a period property, on five floors. The ground floor is a well equipped kitchen, with an adjoining bathroom and toilet. Our only problem with the kitchen, is that the numbers on the cooker controls had worn out and we had to guess the settings which was a pain. There is a decent size flat screen TV wall mounted, with good reception on the five standard channels. The first floor, is a large comfy lounge, with a large flat screen TV, basic channels, and a DVD player. There is also a CD/radio system, lots of reading materials, and a wooden chest of things to keep the kids entertained. The second floor is a large double bed room, with an en suite shower, and a separate toilet and basin just outside. The third floor is another decent size room with three single beds, and the forth floor is another double bed room, with en suite shower toilet and basin. Patio doors lead to a 'sun terrace' with a view of the Abbey. If all the beds are occupied it is less than £15.00/night per head, with gas and electric included! It is none smoking, but pets are welcome which is why we booked it. Decor is rustic, but suits. There is a small private yard, and it is very quiet, even though just round the corner from the hustle and bustle. There is parking available just round the corner on a first come first served arrangement, but the owners have reserved right to park on a pay and display car park less that five minutes walk away, so you just display the permit in your window. Whitby, I always found magical in my youth, and it remains so today. The local beaches are lovely, as is the nearby Robin Hoods Bay, where you can eat with your dog/s after a lovely beach walk, at The Bay Hotel. Books outlining stunning walks can be obtained at the tourist Information centre near the railway station, and if you like fish and chips, Whitby cannot be beaten. We had a fantastic four nights stay, and would not hesitate to go back! Bedding and kitchen towels are provided, bath/shower towels aren't. The stairs are steep, and it is easy to bang your head whilst negotiating them.

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is fantastic, less than five minutes walk to the harbour, cafes, fish and chip shops, shopping less than a minute.
Liked least: Needs a good clean, the interior glass and mirrors were dirty.Some of the appliancies and work surfaces were greasy, and when we arrived there were still bread crumbs under the toaster.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The owner has advised that in addition to the standard channels, a full Freeview package is also available and they are very sorry if you had difficulty in accessing these. Additionally they would also like to advise that in terms of parking, they now have a private garage which is located much closer to the property so parking in the pay and display car park is no longer required. Your comments are very welcome and the owner hopes that they may be able to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alli_Ram
Yorkshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Olde World Charm”
Reviewed May 15, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage is a very rustic type of property with interesting period furniture and panelling throughout. It is a very narrow house with one room on each floor. The main bathroom is on the ground floor at the side of the kitchen but there are an extra two lavatories, one on the middle floor, and one on the top floor, the one on the middle floor is painted a most unusual colour, it made me feel as if I was in a womb!
In my personal opinion, I didn’t find the property to be very child-friendly to be honest. We took along our 7 year old and 9 month old grandsons. The ground floor has stone tiles on the floor which were too cold for the baby to crawl on, and the lounge on the first floor had stripped floorboards which were rather uneven. We immediately moved lots of things out of his way. Also, the middle lavatory was not suitable for the seven year old as the light pull is so high up he couldn’t reach it which was a problem during the night. However, his main concern was a very large poster of Nosferatu the Vampire on the stairs outside his bedroom as he found it very scary and because it is screwed to the wall we couldn’t take it down or cover it up.
However, a high chair is provided along with plastic cutlery for young children and there is a chest full of games in the lounge and a bookcase full of children’s books on the middle floor.
The range of crockery and glasses more than met our needs. If you are visiting this property please remember to take along pepper, sauces, vinegar etc as apart from salt there were none provided, but the biscuits were very nice.
The best room in the house is definitely the double room on the top floor, this is the only room which provides a view, and has its own tiny en suite and a rooftop patio which allows you to look across to the abbey. However, please mind your head when you are using the stairs, this room would probably not suit less mobile people. Also, the seagulls woke us each day at 5 am as they are nesting on every chimney pot around the property, and opening the curtains and seeing several seagulls staring at you from the fence was a surprise each morning.
All in all, an excellent stay.

Date of stay: May 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roof top patio
Liked least: Should have recommended that visitors take their own Sky card
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2012
Thank you for the time taken in providing your review. After receiving your comments, the owner has made the decision to remove the Nosferatu film poster and they are also going to arrange for the cord in the hallway toilet to be lengthened, by 16 May 2013, to make it easier to reach for children. The owner is disappointed that there were aspects of the property that you did not find to be child-friendly as they strive to make it suitable for all guests. They have advised that they opted for terrazzo tiles in the kitchen as these are much easier to keep clean and hygienic. The owner is very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the property and is grateful for your feedback as they value all comments received.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing