We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge with Freview TV, 42" LCD TV & Surround System
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with Freview TV, 42" LCD TV & Surround System
Double Fronted Detached Cottage with Hardwood Double Glazing for Warmth & Quiet Lounge with Cosy Log Burner Set in Antique Fire Surround for those Romantic Nights in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
88 reviews
Lounge with Freview TV, 42" LCD TV & Surround System
Double Fronted Detached Cottage with Hardwood Double Glazing for Warmth & Quiet
Lounge with Cosy Log Burner Set in Antique Fire Surround for those Romantic Nights in
Kitchen with Induction Hob, Full Oven, Combi Microwave, Coffee Machine & Washing Machine.
Kitchen with Induction Hob, Full Oven, Combi Microwave, Coffee Machine & Washing Machine.
Main Double Bedroom with Mahogany Sleigh bed
Double Bedroom with Mahogany Sleigh Bed
Twin Bedroom with Mahogany Sleigh Beds Second Floor
Designer Travertine Family Bathroom
BBQ & Seating Area immediately in front of Gulls Cry & LED Patio lighting & Security Cameras
Summer House in Court Yard
Rear of Gulls Cry as seen from Cliff Street
Hall
Lounge at Christmas
Court Yard at Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 88 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Victoriam...
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

After booking to go to the northern soul weekend this was most certainly the best place to stay . Home from home the accommodation facilities, location all if it was brilliant. I would most certainly recommend this to anyone in any season the accommodation caters for all. Suburb ,

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2014
Brilliant, so pleased you had a good weekend and appreciated Gulls Cry.
Many many thanks for a really great review.
Hopefully soon the Summer House will be finished to complete the overall effect of the Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold Z
Leeds England
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The Very Essence of Whitby”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A delightful cottage, close to the harbour yet peaceful (except for the cries of the eponymous gulls, of course). Car park across the road. Very well appointed and comfortable. Exactly as described. TV in all the rooms (pleased the grandchildren). Sparkling clean. Lovely secluded patio. Gulls on the chimney pots. And of course there is Whitby with so much to see and do, and more fish and chips than anywhere else in the world, I guess.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, location, location!
Liked least: Could not persuade downstairs TV to change channel from BBC1. Others worked fine.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2014
Grateful of your kind & swift review of Gulls Cry, so soon after leaving from your break.
Appreciate you chose to say "exactly as described" which is quite important to me and paints the picture for future guests to evaluate for themselves.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirlanda...
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“really a lovely cottage the best ever”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

this cottage has been refurbed to a very high standard , clean and comfortable, well equipped great location , owner really helpfull will defiantly go back again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: log fire
Liked least: only one bathroom
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2014
A big thank you for taking the time out to write us a lovely review of Gulls Cry, it is always really appreciated.
Although still in very good condition we are planning to refresh the Cottage in June to keep it to the high standard we have set out to achieve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Second time we have stayed at this cottage and my adult children beat me to it as I crossed over the threshold and announced once again " I could live here". The cottage has everything you could wish for and is so close to everything without spoiling the tranquility. We have two children with us ages one and three and it is perfect for them. The three year old loves being in the yard and we are secure in the knowledge that we can watch him from the kitchen so allowing him some freedom. Highly recommended!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2014
It's always a great pleasure and makes me so proud that guests feel we have done enough to make them want to revisit Gulls Cry, rather than holidaying elsewhere in Whitby.
Many thanks for a really appreciated review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rallymast...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easter Short Break”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Gulls Cry Cottage is very clean , modern and central with parking. A really well fitted out cottage that meets all your needs. The jewel in the crown was the enclosed private courtyard where we would sit out in the evening with the firepit burning peat logs whilst enjoying the last of the evening light with a glass of something warming.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 27, 2014
I am so grateful for yet another great review to enable other guests to evaluate a place to stay in the ever popular Whitby
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimbobJam...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stay in Whitby each year, usually around Christmas. This year we decided to go with friends during half term and managed to find this golden gem.

Colin, the owner, is a very nice bloke and extremely helpful. All my dealings with him were via email and after mountains of questions (on my part), Colin was very prompt to answer.

The cottage is beautiful and is situated within a minutes walk from the harbour and all the shops etc.. The overall cleanliness of the cottage is to a very high standard and the furniture / decor is also very nice and to a high standard. It also comes fully equipped with pretty much everything you would need for your stay.

I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone and we will certainly be back!

Thanks Colin and your housekeeping team for making our stay wonderful!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2014
Once again really can't say enough about my appreciation of a great review like this and the time taken to write it.
I will still strive to keep up the standards, and improve where possible to enable my future guests to have as an enjoyable stay as my previous hopefully have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tijakeja
Sittingbourne
1 review
“A dream come true”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The Cottage is an absolute gem immaculately clean has everything you would want and more.Excellent location superbly and tastefully decorated and furnished to the highest standard.
Colin the owner was unbelievably helpful going above and beyond what any one can reasonably expect both prior to during in and post our visit answering questions on the cottage and providing superb details for eating out and visiting the area all extremely accurate.
If you can find anywhere better in the Country I will be amazed

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort for a really thoughtful review, it really is appreciated.
The comments on cleanliness are a credit on the efforts of my partner along with our Housekeeping Team, thank you so much.
My own childhood and adult experiences in and around the area enable me to hopefully give accurate and honest descriptions which are written in the welcome pack. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing