We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you for hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Birch Hall Inn

Birch Hall Inn
Ranked #81 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: The smallest pub I've seen for years... just two bars with an old fashion sweet shop in the middle where time has stood still
North Essex, U.K.
Level Contributor
319 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Thank you for hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

It's been 8 months since our last visit ... must try and make it less than that next time! Supped some tasty 'Beckwatter' ale and ate moreish pie & pickle and beer cake .... yummy. Enjoyed congenial conversation with the friendly landlady and met the inn's new puppy.

During these quieter times (February), the pub has been closed on Tuesdays. To our cost, we didn't check beforehand and turned up on (yes, you guessed it!) a Tuesday :-( We made sure we made it in the next day though :-) We'll ring up in the future ... just to avoid severe disappointment.

We are always saying "things never stay the same" but we are crossing our fingers that Birch Hall Inn does.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller51_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    20
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

If you arrive at this Pub in Beckhole you will have no regrets, A Camera Pub selling real Ales in such a peacefull position, they are two lovely quaint bars and seating outside where you can sit and have scones,pies,sandwiches ect. For children the seperate little sweet shop is one they will be talking about for years,whether a walker or motorist put it on your list.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely little local”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was my first visit to Beck Hole and will certainly not be my last
Great beer and special pies from Sleights butchers
Smallest bar in Yorkshire

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlanchCroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“quirky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Friendly very small quirky pub.with 2 bars and a sweet shop in the middle, full of charcter had lovely hot chocolate sitting by roaring fire

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank janipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

Again we walked down to the Birch Hall Inn for the famous pork pie and ham sandwich well worth the long walk.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Birch Hall Inn also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Birch Hall Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing