We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of The Granby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Granby
Ranked #146 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We dined here one mid week evening in December, although the pub was very quiet the food was excellent. Our meals were reasonably priced, well cooked and plentiful. We had a lamb roast dinner: tender lean meat. 2 Yorkshire puds and 4 veg and cod and chips with peas, coleslaw and salad. Possibly the best battered cod fillet I have ever eaten. Real ales were good but a touch expensive. Well worth a visit to this cosy pub when in Whitby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppyday39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 104 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

Didn't stay here, but visited for lunch on the back of Tripadvisor reviews. Was not disappointed!! Best steak pie I've ever had, and the other food looked amazing too! Great value for money with a good selection of quality beers and friendly staff. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank razjam85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

When we go to Whitby (3 - 4 times per year) we make sure we have at least one meal each time, Good food, fast service, smaller portions this time than previously. But they do let dogs in - and have some fantastic beers too. Nice place for a pint on my own with Dog whilst they go swimming or to the museum.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sore_ears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We didnt stay here but had a meal. The Sunday Roast is massive, really good value. A lady walked into the pub as I was tucking in and asked me what I was eating as it looked so good, she went to the bar and ordered 'I'll have what she's having'.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

we have just returned from a stay in Whitby and we ate a couple of times at the granby,the food is first class and as a very good menu and is value for money .
the staff are very friendly as are the locals and the beer is well kept.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ged57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We recently visited the Granby for lunch and were very impressed. There was plenty of variety on the menu and good prices best of all it tasted great ! It is a clean and welcoming pub away from the fish shops on the sea front ! Very friendly staff both behind the bar and the kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tod305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I have been in the UK for six months, in which time we have seen many wonderful places, and met lots of lovely people. One of the highlights of our trip was the week we spent in Whitby. Whitby is a gorgeous fishing village, and The Granby will be where we continue to stay when we return in the future. The Granby is a pub and restaurant on the main level. The lady that owns The Granby makes some of the most delicious home cooked food I have had during the entire six months we have been in the UK. The atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. Above they have rooms for rent. During our stay we felt more like family than strangers. The employees and even the locals that frequent The Granby made us right at home there. One night they even had Bingo, and Mike is the most entertaining caller we have had in the UK (or ever really). Whitby is a very special place for anyone who enjoys history, literature (check out how Bram Stoker and Lewis Carrol have ties to Whitby), and quaint English villages. I recommend walking the paths around the city, and I most definitely recommend going to The Granby for a drink, meal, and if you need a cozy place to stay. Thank you Mike and all the staff and locals for making Whitby a place we will always treasure, and a place we look forward to visiting again. Absolutely a treasure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#121 of 152 in Whitby
101 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#126 of 152 in Whitby
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#7 of 52 in Whitby
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 152 in Whitby
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granby

Address: 34 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #146 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $87 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Granby 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Granby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing