We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and pleasant atmosphere. 🍺”
Review of The Granby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Granby
Ranked #136 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and pleasant atmosphere. 🍺”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

If you are looking for value for money try the Granby....a great selectn of ales and the food is spot on and I tel you there is plenty of it!!......the staff are friendly and the service excellent. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fidothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
20
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
966 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 573 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Called in for a drink only this year at the Whitby Goth Weekend, as last year when we had our meal, we were somewhat disappointed that after burning my Gammon steak, they tried to hide it under pineapple, egg and salad, so we gave it a miss this time round, the beer was good though and the atmosphere is ok, will keep my eye on the reviews to see what everyone is saying about the food quality because I'm sure we'll be back here sometime in the future when we next stay in Whitby..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dnowland_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned from another brilliant weekend in Whitby and both days made a point of eating at The Granby. Not been disappointed yet! Fish and chips were excellent on the first day and the mixed grill and lasagne were equally as good the following day. Met some very interesting people there too. Well done and thank you, we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerbabe54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I was in Whitby for the weekend in another establishment, when I asked advice on a good place to eat. I was directed to The Granby by a local, and I was not disappointed. I ordered 2 roast dinners.(1 lamb and 1 beef, without Yorkshire pudding) My wife and I both thoroughly enjoyed it, but beware, you need a big appetite. Even without the Yorkshires we couldn't finish it all. We could not fault any part of it. The staff were very nice and the service was prompt. The menu was quite extensive for a pub. Just a short walk from the town. Would definitely use this place again on my next visit.

Room Tip: We dined in the small lounge on the left as you enter, but there is a larger lounge to the right. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony5998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Went with my elderly mother and sister for a meal earlier today. After being told that various things on the menu weren't available, my sister had to settle for a bowl of chips, and me and my mother settles for scampi. As I'm writing this, me AND my mother both have terrible stomach aches, so I'm not worried that we were food poisoned.

Avoid at ALL costs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Whitby hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

What can I say about this place. To start off they allowed children in which was a great relief. The atmosphere was one of high spirits. There were lots of families enjoying themselves with children of all ages.
There was a good selection of meals on the menu and the prices were very reasonable too. There were 8 people in my group including a fussy 4 year old and a fussy 89 year old. We all ordered and apart from a little wait, the pub was very busy, our food arrived piping hot and very adequate portions. The food was fantastic and there was 8 clean plates at the end. Very friendly staff who were very accommodating. Would highly recommend this pub to anyone visiting Whitby.
Only downside I found that they worked on a cash only basis and could not accept debit card so would advise a trip to an ATM beforehand.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank voodoo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

called in there with my beautiful girlfriend and had a lovely lamb dinner very good service and clean we went back the next day and had the same . very nice pub grub .very nice girlfriend .will go again next year with my beautiful girlfriend and have the lamb dinner again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#121 of 151 in Whitby
91 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Discovery Accomodation
Discovery Accomodation
#90 of 151 in Whitby
766 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#54 of 151 in Whitby
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Endeavour
The Endeavour
#68 of 151 in Whitby
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granby

Property: The Granby
Address: 34 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Granby 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Granby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing