We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cuddy Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Cuddy Cottage

Cuddy's cosy lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuddy's cosy lounge
Cuddy's cosy lounge Cuddy's cosy kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Cuddy's cosy lounge
Cuddy's cosy lounge
Cuddy's cosy kitchen
Double bedroom
Cuddy's kitchen
Cuddy's dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Showeroom
Cuddy picture
Goths walking up the 199 steps
View of Whitby Abbey
Bottom of 199 steps
Cobbled street in front of yard
View from entrance yard
Harbour view from  199 steps
Rooftops from 199 steps
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Travel803...
1 review
“Cuddy Cottage”
Reviewed September 28, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Cuddy cottage is lovely,well maintained,an ideal holiday home.Shops,cafe and pubs are close by which on rainy days is so convenient. Would highly recommend the cottage and Whitby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 30, 2018
Thank you so much Gordon for finding the time to review the cottage and giving positive comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit, albeit the weather could have been kinder.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JustSel
2 reviews
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed August 28, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We spent a lovely week at Cuddy Cottage, Whitby. We were there for folk week and needed somewhere convenient. It was tidy, comfortable and had everything we needed. In previous years we’ve stayed over the bridge so it was a pleasant change to be in the old town. The only challenge was driving to the cottage to load and unload the car due to pedestrians.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 6, 2018
Many thanks for finding the time to write this positive review - we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Yes depending on the time of day it can be difficult if Church Street is busy. We are just about to leave now so by 5.00pm mid week we should be fine. We do send suggestions on where to leave the car for 20 minutes, unload the luggage and then park as it can be challenging but thanks for your feedback. The hustle and bustle of Church Street however cannot be heard as soon as you enter Kiln Yard and everybody seems to comment on this. We hope to welcome you back again for another holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikey596
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 27, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 3 nights and could not fault the cottage, it is clean well looked after and fresh smelling bedding / towels, the location is great for the beach, bars and shops right at the bottom of 'the steps' but not on the main street so you do not get all the noise from people outside. We have stayed in Whitby many times before but will definitely be returning to Cuddy Cottage again in future. Thanks Bryan and Elaine for a great stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Whitby and the cottage and look forward to your return in the future. Once again many thanks, it is rewarding to get such positive feedback. We enjoy the cottage and it's nice to know our guests do to.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joanne201...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cuddy cottage”
Reviewed June 18, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We've just returned from a short break at Whitby . Cuddy cottage is beautiful , comfy beds and good shower, clean & has everything you need to enjoy a break . Great location near bottom of steps, Abby, shops and bars . Would stay here again . Would recommend the Blitz cafe for food & atmosphere , it really is like stepping into the past ! .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2018
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Whitby and the cottage and would love to welcome you back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michelle...
1 review
“Lovely and cosy perfect location”
Reviewed June 16, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

I love Whitby and have stayed there many times this is by far my favorite place. Great location equipped with everything you could need and more ! Already booked again for next year . Good communication and helpful information from owners thank you Bryan and Elaine, see you next year Michelle

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2018
Hi Michelle We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Whitby and the cottage and look forward to welcoming you back next year. Thank you for taking the time to write the positive review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigger17
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed April 4, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Really lovely cottage in a brilliant location, close to everything like the town, bay, the abbey as the cottage is right at the bottom of the 199 Steps.
The cottage was spotless really homely and has everything you need to make your stay comfortable.
The communication with the owners is very good and kept us update on everything.
Can’t recommend enough and would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2018
Thank you so much for your positive review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Whitby and the cottage. We very much look forward to welcoming you back and just hope you have better weather when you do return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing