We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food. Warm and friendly”
Review of The Hare & Hounds

The Hare & Hounds
Ranked #18 of 216 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Windermere, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food. Warm and friendly”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just a short walk from where we were staying, was The Hare and Hounds. We didn't get bored of there menu as there was lots of variety . Food fantastic , from Steak night to Steak or Chicken pies to salmon. Friendly staff and locals. Our dogs were also made to feel welcome in the bar area, there is a separate restaurant area. Thank you Hare and Hounds. From The four with the three springers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    71
    24
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A WARM WELCOME AND GREAT FOOD”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Even though we have lived locally for over 15 years it is relatively recently that my family and I discovered this little gem of a pub where we are given a warm and friendly welcome and served with great quality food and providing fantastic value for money - the chicken club baguettes are to die for!! The staff are brilliant and our little Yorkshire Terrier is made to feel as welcome as we are. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disgraceful service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Dont expect your booked table to be there. We booked it for 8 and at twenty to nine we were told they would be no table available for us. I asked the blonde lad behind the bar who i think runs the pub if he thought it was acceptable that someone who had booked a table a week in advance for there sons 16th birthday to basically go away as there was no available tables he just shrugged his shoulders and started pulling a pint for someone else. We have been in there for many years and wont be going back. Its sad to see a once good place to eat go down the nick through poor management.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pammarshall186380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Visited this place while we were staying nearby, and have to say the food was outstanding, and very reasonably priced for the quality. Food was cooked to perfection, and presentation was of a high standard. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely re-visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank poddersthepodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely staff and good pub food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Found this place by accident having been unable to park for Robin Hood's bay - really glad we did - my 83-year old father appreciated the relative peace and quiet! The food is good pub food - although it took a while to arrive.The fish and chips were a cut above what we have had in the "recommended" places in Whitby, the fish pie was also good and accompanied by a good mix of vegetables. This place seems to be on the coast to cost walk and quite a number of walkers stopped off for what seemed to be enormous baguettes. The staff are really friendly. Only sorry we were driving and unable to try the beer!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare & Hounds also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing