We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morningside the friendly place to stay.”
Review of Morningside Hotel

Morningside Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Morningside Hotel
Ranked #58 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Morningside the friendly place to stay.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Booked this Hotel on the internet after reading other peoples reviews that had stayed there several times before, all good reviews. From the time we arrived until the time we checked out we were treated as friends more than guests, this makes for a great stay nothing was to much trouble, we met people who had been there dozens of times before and had nothing for praise for the owners and staff alike. The food is to die for the breakfasts are not only large but quality, and so are the evening meals. The hotel is right on the promenade overlooking the sea and so quiet. We had a back room looking over the cricket grounds it was roomy and very clean. There is daily servicing of all the rooms and coffee and tea making facilities as well as biscuits. It takes about 10 minutes to walk into Whitby town centre so its very handy if you like going out for a meal or drink as apposed to having one at the Hotel you don't have to worry about driving. The outlook from the hotel when your in the dining room or the lounge is stunning can't wait to go back again, absolutely loved it. Note they have car parking on site and in the street free which is a bonus as most of the hotels in the town and surrounding area have limited parking or none and on street or pay to park is not cheap, they also cater for Motorcyclists as I asked them if they minded if I came on my motorcycle anytime. Its just a great friendly spotlessly clean place to stay.

Room Tip: We had room 6 it was brilliant and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
49
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel. View from front window to die for. The room was lovely, clean and comfortable. I would definitely go there again. We were travelling down from Berwick on Tweed and the room was so good we decided to stay two nights to have a good rest. Weather brilliant. I had forgotten how nice Whitby is, especially when the sun is shining. Great breakfast even though we are veggie. Plenty to eat. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view its worth it. I could have stood at the window all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

went to this hotel, never been in such a well maintained, clean hotel. The food was out of this world and the owners were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only downside was the weather in Whitby when we were there, but the hotel was lovely and warm and there was a bar to have a drink in, reasonably priced to keep out of the cold. We will be going back to this hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trish042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Arrived last-minute to a very friendly welcome. Given a choice of 3 rooms. Each were clean and comfortable with child friendly facilities. Communal areas traditional and homely, bedrooms fresh and updated. View from front double bedroom excellent, flawless breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay, will return to Morningside if we visit Whitby again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

What a real northern warm welcome. What a wonderful room with sea view and lounge area. What a comfortable bed. What a great loo and shower room. What a great place to have a bar with a magic selection of drinks. What a fabulous breakfast so perfectly cooked on demand (no mass catering style hot plates making the egg hard or bacon tough here). What care to make sure everything was prefect, even down to the acr staying after check out whilst we went off to enjoy ourselves. Look no further this is THE place in Whitby.

Room Tip: You can't have rom 2 when we want to go to Whitby for fish n chips - that's ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogInNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed for a long weekend with all family tp spread grandads ashes in the Whitby sea. Fab rooms great views spotless and staff could not do enough for you. Lovely breakfast options and reasonable cost too.great views and location well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

on arrival we were met by sandra and paul and you could not wish for better hosts, we were in room 16 and the room was fantastic with a sea view,nice and clean.
food was out of this world all home cooked by paul and served by sandra and her very nice staff. very friendly hotel with outstanding views from the cliff top with some beautiful walks and when speaking to other guests they had been coming for a number of years and would not go anywhere else so i think that speaks for it's self we will return.
again thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
The Wheeldale
The Wheeldale
#12 of 20 in Whitby
369 reviews
0.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
502 reviews
1.3 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#8 of 151 in Whitby
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Station Inn Whitby
The Station Inn Whitby
#89 of 151 in Whitby
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morningside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morningside Hotel

Property: Morningside Hotel
Address: 10 North Promenade, Whitby YO21 3JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing