We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not at all what we expected.”
Review of Vinyard - CLOSED

Vinyard
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: British, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Lovely coffee lounge, cafe on a quiet side street with its own private courtyard. Beautiful homebaked cakes, tray bakes and scones etc available on a daily basis. Variety of Coffee Bean available to help you find your perfect coffee. Variety of Teas, Frappes, Milkshakes, Smoothies. Also available selection of Cold bottled lagers and beers, Wine and spirits. Fabulously tasty light lunchtime menu, all fresh produce prepared on site. Open daily from 10am.Occasional event held i.e Open Mic night or clairvoyant evening...Available to hire for birthdays, funeral teas, christenings or any other celebration events
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not at all what we expected.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I had been really looking forward to trying this restaurant.On arrival we were advised to eat in the bar, as this would be warmer, however it was not very warm at all, Along with several fellow diners we were forced to keep our coats on and were still very chilly. Our table had two burnt out candles on it demonstrating a lack of care and attention to detail because nobody had bothered to replace them, indeed we would have been grateful for the warmth a lit candle would have afforded.
As we sat down, the table next to us were complaining about how long their starters had taken to arrive, which concerned us. The menu is limited, with no specials board,as we would have expected. Due to the cold we didn't bother with starters,we just ordered steaks which arrived promptly but along with the chips were very over cooked, quite uninspiring, and really not of the standard we were expecting from such an establishment. Just one further point, we are by no means old fashioned, but really do think its inappropriate for the waitress in a restaurant to keep referring to us as 'guys,' more the sort of address we'd expect in a far more casual dining establishment. We won't bother visiting again, we have had many far more enjoyable dining experiences in Whitby.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Martins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecmd1, Manager at Vinyard, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are a new team and have made changes and got a great Chef in the kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    35
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just about made it”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hmm,conditions were tricky but the plucky crew kept it afloat!. Vinyard has the potential to be really lovely, but if I was being harsh I'd have to say it wasn't really very good the night we went. Several things were missing from the menu and this wasn't mentioned until we came to order, the waiting staff were unfamiliar with the offer, and the food (the things that were available!) was unremarkable.
Having said that we ended up enjoying our evening once we'd realised it wasn't going to be a flawless dining experience. The staff were doing their best, were friendly and helpful, and appeared to be learning fast. The food was nothing to write home about but it was nicely presented. We were advised to eat in the bar area because it was warmer (sensible advice) and it had a good atmosphere - we really liked that there was no loud background music - although they may just have forgotten to turn it on :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Westcountryvisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecmd1, Manager at Vinyard, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are a new team and hope to perfect everything that was not right
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Little Gem - highly recommended”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We booked a table here at the last minute on Saturday. Really happy with the service, food, drink and value for money. My lemon sole was cooked to perfection. Give it a go - you won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CW1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Evening meals”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great menu and good value food cooked very well with all the trimmings, I would recomended eating in this restaurant to all,

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank flyboy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Happy new year”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Booked for New Years Eve had a great time. The staff so attentive even though it was so busy. The food was great the whole evening a great success. See you again this year.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denise w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecmd1, Owner at Vinyard, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review. Glad you all enjoyed your evening with us, and look forward to seeing you again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinyard also viewed

 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Sandsend, Whitby
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing