We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Vinyard - CLOSED

Vinyard
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: British, Healthy, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Lovely coffee lounge, cafe on a quiet side street with its own private courtyard. Beautiful homebaked cakes, tray bakes and scones etc available on a daily basis. Variety of Coffee Bean available to help you find your perfect coffee. Variety of Teas, Frappes, Milkshakes, Smoothies. Also available selection of Cold bottled lagers and beers, Wine and spirits. Fabulously tasty light lunchtime menu, all fresh produce prepared on site. Open daily from 10am.Occasional event held i.e Open Mic night or clairvoyant evening...Available to hire for birthdays, funeral teas, christenings or any other celebration events
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Myself and some friends booked a table for the Christmas Party night, last night. The food was exceptional, as was the service, and entertainment. The staff went out of their way to make sure that customers were happy. We had a fantastic evening, and will definatly be eating here again. I would highly recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank neraK752011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecmd1, Owner at Vinyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it. Look forward to seeing you at the Vinyard again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 174 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

eat here with 9 friends for our Christmas meal last night, the food was delicious,turkey gorgeous with very tasty gravy, the chocolate fudge cake is to die for!!, the service exceptional and personal, as their sign says " you arrive as customers and leave as friends". A great night and I would highly recommend. As a local, I will certainly go there again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank caz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecmd1, Owner at Vinyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas meal with us and appreciate the review. Look forward to seeing you in the Vinyard again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked a table here last minute after being let down by another Whitby restaurant. On arrival we were surprised to see there was almost nobody in. It seems to have changed hands since the last time we went. It has always been packed out before so we feared the worst.

However, a few more did turn up during the evening and all in all we had a good meal. The moules were the largest I have ever seen and at a good price. The rib-eye steak , monkfish and chicken wrapped in bacon were all good. The service was excellent and we were asked regularly if the food was ok. The only thing I could nitpick about was that the chunky chips were a bit soggy for my taste.

Special recognition to the waitress from Surrey who was very chatty and helpful. The price for 4 beers, 3 bottles of wine and four starters and main courses was £145.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank waj_the_badge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecmd1, Owner at Vinyard, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it. We look forward to seeing you in the Vinyard again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The place is huge and we were the first to arrive. The staff were very pleasant and informed us that 2 large parties were due in later. My starter (supposedly pigeon) was too tough tio cut let alone eat. My friend's sea food was good but only small. The main course of steak pie was just about acceptable.

Thank johnpattaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thecmd1, Owner at Vinyard, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

I am sorry you had a problem with your starter. I do believe the staff explained the awkward situation we found ourselves in that night, where we had no chef as such in the kitchen due to unforseen circumstances. I am also aware you did not get charged for your starter as an apology. The rest of the meal as you state was perfectly alright. I do apologise for your poor starter, however feel the need to let you know this was not representative of the food usually served at the restaurant, and hopefully if you are ever in Whitby again you will give it another go and experience the quality usually received. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

It was a Sunday and the people who owned the B&B where we were staying suggested the Vinyard for Sunday lunch. It was tucked away but we found it. The Vinyard was busy with mostly local customers. The food was excellent - and we waddled back to our B & B. Fresh vegetables and good portions.

1  Thank Desertblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinyard also viewed

 
 
Sandsend, Whitby
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing