We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abbotsleigh
Nearby Hotels
Resolution Hotel(Whitby)(Great Value!)
$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$213
$206
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$174
$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$321
Toprooms.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Estbek House(Sandsend)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveler rating
515
9
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
515
9
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswet roomhomemade biscuitssea biscuitcakestarfish roomon arrivalb bcoffee machineperfect hostsdelicious homefirst classattention to detailsecond to nonewarm welcomehigh standardtop qualitybeautiful room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
436 - 441 of 525 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the Abbotsleigh. Sharon and Paul could not be better hosts. When we dropped off our bags early, we were offered tea and delicious muffins, and the baked goods kept coming. Sharon does all the baking and kept our room supplied with cookies, and the bread at breakfast was delicious. The breakfasts, by the way, were amazing, lots of fresh fruit, as well as the "full English." Our room (the Periwinkle) was very comfortable and clean. If you are visiting Whitby, I don't think you could find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Sandra and I had the best time ever in Whitby. Paul and Sharon were the best hosts and made us feel very, very welcome. We both loved our room (Ammonite), it was very clean and tidy and the wet room was fantastic.
We are both looking forward to coming to Whitby again and we will definately be staying in Abbotsleigh.

Room Tip: We didn't see the other rooms but we would recomend Ammonite.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

An excellent B and B in the lovely seaside town of Whitby. Paul and Sharon do everything possible to make your stay a pleasant experience. Attention to detail is everywhere -the fixtures and fittings, the furnishings - and especially the food! The breakfasts are fabulous, as are the home made biscuits and cakes. The location is also perfect, just opposite the wonderful West cliff beach and attractions, and a short walk into Whitby town. We would definitiely stay here again the next time we are in Whitby

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed in many places during our whirlwind trip to the UK in August, making the most of the available accommodation, ie, hotels and B&B's. Stayed in The Judges Lodgings in York, and The Roost, in Queens Park, London,to name a few, but, Abbotsleigh in Whitby takes our number one spot, Sharon and Paul just ticked all the boxes for us. The Periwinkle Room was comfortable, welcoming and so HUGE. The breakfasts were mouthwatering, and Sharon ordered a special kipper for me to try which I found very kind of her. It was sublime. Sublime!!! The B&B was just a stroll away from the ocean, and the little harbour town, yet away from the madding crowd, the while. Sharon and Paul are most attentive hosts, yet maintaining some reserve to allow us to feel at ease and not pestered. Their hosting approach is very non-intrustive, which I find most necessary. Thanks too for fixing up a table for us at the very popular Magpie Cafe. The aromas, oh the homely aroma of bread and biscuits being baked was wonderful to come home to. An EXCELLENT B&B, I cannot say enough to recommend it more highly. Go. Stay there. You will not regret it. Michele Wilson (SA)

Room Tip: As I only stayed in the downstairs twin room I cannot make a comment about the other rooms, but the twin room was huge and delightful.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkie900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We loved this place. Paul and Sharon made us feel really welcome and gave us some great advice about the area. The B&B itself was spotless and our room was perfect in every way (Seabiscuit). We cannot find fault with this place and the breakfast is absolutely gorgeous!!! Cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. Enjoy your stay. We loved Whitby and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zach_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews