We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly welcome and lovely accommodation”
Review of Abbotsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbotsleigh
Ranked #2 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome and lovely accommodation”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a short stay earlier this year and were really pleased with our choice. Met by Sharon and Paul with cake and tea on arrival and immediately felt welcome in their home. We were shown to our room in company with Sharon and Pauls grandson and weren't disappointed. Lovely decoration and amazing wet shower room. The Guest House is ideally located close to the sea and town centre and Pauls full English breakfast really did set us up for the day. Got to say that the bed was really comfortable, probably the best few nights sleep in a guest house we can remember, and we would thoroughly recommend the Abbotsleigh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
320
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A warm welcome from Sharon when we arrived with coffee and delicious home made cake. It is beautifully decorated, the bedroom a delight and spotlessly clean. A lovely breakfast set you up for the day. I would certainly recommend and we shall be returning.

Room Tip: All the rooms had their own theme and have luxury wet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie19642013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Very enjoyable stay recently for four nights in Abbotsleigh Guest House Whitby. The room was spacious, beds very comfortable and modern wet room. Lovely breakfasts including local kippers and homemade preserves. We were made very welcome by Sharon and Paul.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2013

What a great B&B! Arrived unexpectedly, gave Sharon a call on the mobile and she showed up in less than 5 minutes. My wife has celiac disease, Sharon made a gluten free cake and biscuits! Everything was top rate. One problem with July in the north part of England is little darkness; Abbotsleigh was the only B&B we stayed in over 8 days that had effective room darkening curtains.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

my husband + i thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Abbotsleigh in the Sea Biscuit room. The bedroom + bathroom are very spacious and the bathroom is very modern. Bed linen + towels very good quality. Sandra is an excellent cook as well as being friendly + helpful and our breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KEM1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a short break in Whitby and chose to stay at the Abbotsleigh B&B from a personal recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed . We were warmly welcomed by Sharon with a nice cup of tea and slice of home made cake and given lots of tips on what to see particularly to suit the weather. The rooms were very individually furnished to a very high and artistic standard. There were individual coffee machines in each room with an assortment of coffees and tea and hot chocolate and home made biscuits, refilled each day. We were spoilt for choice at breakfast in their sunny breakfast room, all cooked to order by Sharon to an excellent standard and a choice of fruits and cerals and home made jam etc. Staying here long term could prove very fattening. We were also greeted with a cuppa and cake at tea time every day. The room had a beatififully fitted wet room with a powerful shower, there was very little noise and a very comfy bed and we slept very well. The B&B is situated on a quite road very close to the sea front and was very easy to park near, ie the front gate. We will definitely be returning to stay when we next visit Whitby

Room Tip: some rooms are a bit bigger than others so have a slightly different price but all are beatifully de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
183 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We happened onto this delightful B&B after hoping to stay in Sandsend (all full), and were thrilled with what we stumbled onto. Our room was lovely, comfortable bed, delightfully decorated and appointed. And our host, Sharon, was friendly and helpful, guiding us to a nice evening in town, including a scenic walk into town and directions to the excellent Magpie Restaurant (with alternative choices if that proved to be too long a queue -- it didn't). Breakfast was outstanding, completely customized to our wishes. Couldn't have been nicer.

Room Tip: We stayed in an 85GBP room on the third floor and faced onto Argyle, and there was no noise. I doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#10 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsleigh

Property: Abbotsleigh
Address: 5 Argyle Road, Whitby, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbotsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing