We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a warm welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Overdale Guest House
Ranked #29 of 154 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night in January as a getaway having survived 15 months as parents to twins. Jayne and Keith were fantastic and the whole house had a friendly warm feeling on arrival. A choice of rooms when we got there was an added bonus, and the decor perfect. They hadnt forgotten a thing. The breakfast was exceptional - no grease here! And we enjoyed this in front of an open fire as it drizzled outside...perfect! Lovely to see that they cater for cyclists and families, and we have no doubt that we shall be back as a result. Just a short walk from the town centre, it's in a great location, nicely away from the hustle and bustle of the pier etc. The website doesn't do this place justice at all. Thanks so much for a lovely stay. Keith and Caroline x

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 178 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Booked this last minute for a half term break. Stayed at overdale for 1 night. The location is ideal - 10 minute walk from Whitby centre. The owners are super friendly and very accommodating - nothing is too much trouble. We had the family room which slept 5 and had a super king bed, double sofa bed and single bed + ensuite. Very comfy and crisp quality sheets. The place was spotless. The house and rooms are beautiful and the next morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast in the dining room infront of a roaring fire - perfect on a cold whitby day. Off street parking means no car hassles. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJT1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at this guesthouse with my partner for the weekend. The guesthouse was within 10 min walking distance from the town, excellent location. The pictures on the website do not do it justice. The room we stayed in was beautiful, clean, elegant and comfy. The house itself was warm and homely. The couple who run it were extremely welcoming and couldn't do enough to please us (giving advice on where to go/ eat and offering extras that weren't on the breakfast menu). Breakfast was lovely although it was only available at 8:30am maybe a little early on the weekends. That being said our next trip to Whitby this will be the first place we look to stay and I would highly recommend this to my friends. Pleasant enjoyable stay. Truly a home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelD1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night it was lovely room was comfortable breakfast was very nice and lots to choose from would stay here again very friendly I would recommend it to any one who wants to stay in Whitby
Trace n Paul

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracenpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at this B&B due to not being able to access our site on a recent camping trip. It was late on a Friday with two very agitated kids and we were desperate to find somewhere, we past lots of other places with "no vacancies" in the window and luckily for us Jayne and Keith had room for us. They were so welcoming and were very accommodating.

We were shown to the top floor where there were two double rooms, both beautifully decorated and spacious. The beds were really comfortable and it felt just like a home from home.

Breakfast the next morning was lovely with plenty on offer, my eldest son was impressed with the tea, commenting that "this tea is lovely, just like Grandma makes!"

The place itself is situated within easy walking distance to the centre of Whitby, although it is uphill on the way back so could be tricky for people with severe mobility issues.

I did find leaving your shoes by the front door and hanging your room key up as you went out a little strange, but we had no issues and it meant the carpets throughout were spotless.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdeGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 nights here a very pleasant welcome by Jayne, very clean and pristine room 2, useful welcome pack with recommendations of restaurants in Whitby ( Cosa Nosa Italian lovely!!).
Excellent tasty hearty breakfast.
Will to anyone in Somerset travelling to the Whitby area
Ian and Kathy

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Having picked this B & B off trip advisor I am happy to say that Overdale is an excellent little place to stay. However there are just a few little points that could make it perfect, all which have been mentioned in other reviews.
Firstly leaving your room key by the side of an open front door seems a bit risky, even though the alarm rings and is covered by CCTV and some one appears from their lounge. Secondly a clean bath towel and a hand towel could have been provided each day, even though I am sure they would have been supplied if we asked. Breakfast was set time, we appreciated that the food, which was excellent by the way, was cooked freshly but a bit of flexibilty would go down well.
After all of this please dont be put off it is a great place but it could be the best if little things were addressed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 19 in Whitby
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
2.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#11 of 154 in Whitby
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#2 of 54 in Whitby
153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#13 of 154 in Whitby
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overdale Guest House

Address: 39 Prospect Hill, Whitby, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $126 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Overdale Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overdale is a beautiful victorian guest house. Renovated to the highest standard. Home from home nothing is too much trouble for us here at Overdale. Jayne and Keith make your stay just perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Overdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing