We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Overdale Guest House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hudsons(Whitby)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
172
13
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housebirthday visitroll top bathmain centreoff street parkingwarm welcomelovely couplefriendly hostsopen top bushigh standardplace is spotlessdouble roomopened the doorstayed in the family roomhuge bedhome from homeperfect hosts
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 185 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2013

If there was a book about running the best guest house its written by the owners of overdale guest house. The best guest house we as a family have ever stayed in. The place is so homely and the room is perfectly clean. My two daughters loved it. lots of space too. The breakfast is beautiful, I love black pudding and they cook it all to perfection. Little touches make it all good too such as you place your shoes in a basket before going to the room. This gave us confidence that this guest house will be clean. Also my 2 daughters love a drink of milk before bed and keith and jayne were only too happy to give us a fresh jug full as we returned at night. Book it you will not want to go home. Whitby is beautiful and keith and jayne make your stay even better. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanandcass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hosts, excellent rooms, excellent breakfast service. We stayed for a week and had a fantastic time. Nothing is too much trouble, and the welcome is warm and friendly. We hope to come again soon. We would recommend this house to couples, families and anyone looking for a relaxing holiday. Many thanks joy and tony toone

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Beautiful house, comfortable,spacious,tastefully decorated and above all immaculate. Friendly hosts, scrummy breakfast. We couldn't have been happier - sinking into the crisp bedlinen on the wonderfully deep bed after a day exploring Whitby was a true joy. Thank you so much - we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We've never taken our daughter away before (11 months old) so were a bit worried about where to stay. The reviews on this site are spot on. Jayne & Keith are amazing hosts. Your made to feel comfortable and nothings too much trouble. They really care about you as a guest and were brilliant with our little one. They made sure she had what she needed for breakfast each day and our breakfasts were fantastic too. The family room is very spacious and spotlessly clean. By far the best B&B we've ever stayed in. Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMrsMissF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is quite simply the best b&b we have ever stayed in. The house is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and immaculately decorated. Jayne and Keith ( not to forget lovely Maureen next door) made us feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
Our room (2) was finished to a high standard and there was plenty of room for a big double bed, travel cot and lovely furniture. The ensuite was clean and modern.
The breakfast was plentiful and delicious, catering for adults and babies.
This is an ideal place to stay for young families, couples and singles.
I can not speak highly enough about this place and we look forward to our next trip to Whitby and our stay at Overdale. X

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrmellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews