We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem for lunch”

Teare Wood's Luxury Ice Cream Parlour
Ranked #3 of 15 Dessert in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $16
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Dog Friendly homemade ice cream parlour and café. Wide selection of lunch dishes, fabulous homemade cakes and ice cream. Tapas on Fridays
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem for lunch”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

You could potentially walk past this place without noticing it. They sell lovely fresh ciabatta sandwiches, lovely cakes and fantastic homemade ice-creams all at reasonable prices. The decor is really lovely.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimr0band
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    68
    11
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great coffee relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

A warm scouse welcome relaxed atmosphere lovely coffee and the dogs are welcome. Always enjoy our visit

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Capbrown2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Popped in here for a warm up on a bitter February morning. Other tables already occupied. Service was great and the coffee was excellent. Although not partaking, the homemade cakes looked really good. The place was clean and welcoming and the Friday night Tapas menu looked really interesting. Pity we live in York, a bit too far to travel for that. This will be a must visit next time we go for the day

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not just Ice Cream....”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cakes to die for, Delicious Coffee, Tasty Soups and Savouries, all served by friendly owners/staff. Will definitely try the Friday night Tapas menu next time we go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CinquantNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More than an ice cream parlour”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We've visited Teare Wood's a couple of times now, usually on a freezing cold winter's day when we've been searching for a hot drink to warm us up. The cake selection is fantastic, I had a delicious and massive slab of Victoria Sponge cake and a lovely cup of latte and it set me up for the day. The quirky decor makes you feel at home and kids and dogs are welcome. The girls behind the counter are hard working and friendly. My only criticism is that the outside doesn't do it justice, you have to go in to appreciate it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennybgood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teare Wood's Luxury Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Teare Wood's Luxury Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing