We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”

Teare Wood's Luxury Ice Cream Parlour
Ranked #2 of 15 Dessert in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dog Friendly homemade ice cream parlour and café. Wide selection of lunch dishes, fabulous homemade cakes and ice cream. Tapas on Fridays
York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A great find”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Popped in here for a warm up on a bitter February morning. Other tables already occupied. Service was great and the coffee was excellent. Although not partaking, the homemade cakes looked really good. The place was clean and welcoming and the Friday night Tapas menu looked really interesting. Pity we live in York, a bit too far to travel for that. This will be a must visit next time we go for the day

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    69
    13
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Not just Ice Cream....”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cakes to die for, Delicious Coffee, Tasty Soups and Savouries, all served by friendly owners/staff. Will definitely try the Friday night Tapas menu next time we go.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CinquantNeuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“More than an ice cream parlour”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We've visited Teare Wood's a couple of times now, usually on a freezing cold winter's day when we've been searching for a hot drink to warm us up. The cake selection is fantastic, I had a delicious and massive slab of Victoria Sponge cake and a lovely cup of latte and it set me up for the day. The quirky decor makes you feel at home and kids and dogs are welcome. The girls behind the counter are hard working and friendly. My only criticism is that the outside doesn't do it justice, you have to go in to appreciate it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennybgood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch on a cold day”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We managed to get a table and had some really nice sandwiches. Adults and children alike were very happy with the excellent fare.

Despite being a cold day around new year, the kids had ice cream to finish, a great finish for them.

The only sad bit is that when we returned later in the week, we were unable to get a table, but will return to Whitby to revisit!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cannot be beaten”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Have become regulars here since Teare Woods opened & now it feels like meeting friends when you visit. Abi, Shayne & all the staff always make you feel very welcome. The daytime food is good ,the tapas nights are brilliant & the ice cream excellent but all concerned just make you WANT to return time after time. It has been a pleasure supporting Teare Woods this year with our custom & looking forward to the same in 2013. Where else would the staff make you some Cranberry & Cinnamon muffins while you waited. Mmmmmmmmm

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teare Wood's Luxury Ice Cream Parlour also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Teare Wood's Luxury Ice Cream Parlour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing