We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars are NOT enough for this hidden gem”
Review of Union Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Union Place
Ranked #106 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Siena, Italia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“5 stars are NOT enough for this hidden gem”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

As I said in the title...This place is just incredible!
Absolutely everything was perfect in our stay: room,bathroom,breakfast and service were superb,the price surprisingly low for such an historical house.
We loved the full Yorkshire breakfast and the kindness of the landlord, whose name I regretfully cannot recall... But I still remember the lovely Hattie, a well behaved dog who kept us company during our stay
We will definitely stay there again,if we pass through Whitby!
A warm hello from Italy, and thanks !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DayM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Union Place is an immaculate and beautifully furnished Georgian house in a good location, 10 minutes walk from Whitby harbour. We spent just one night there and enjoyed Richard's warm hospitality and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

No need to repeat what everyone is saying about this B & B because it is all good and all true! It really is excellent - house, décor, rooms, host, breakfast.......very good quality and very good value. Parking is on road but plenty of it right outside, and an easy 5 minute walk into central Whitby through the park if you like. Wonderful !

Room Tip: Back room is very sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntyRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights after our wedding. The rooms were gorgeous and the bathroom was equally amazing! Richard the host was really good and his breakfast was the best we've had! We would recommend this B&B to anyone coming to Whitby, a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Mcloughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I recently stayed with my husband at this wonderful hotel.
The rooms and bathroom were amazing, Richard the owner was lovely, the breakfast was more than I could eat.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and we are booking to go back again with the children over the summer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Honeylynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in Union Place in February this year and the review should have been instantly completed as it was terrific! The house is beautiful, a real pleasure to stay in it. As a guest, you have your own living room so don't feel compelled to stay in your bedroom. Richard, the host, is warm, friendly but, equally, he gives you space. His breakfasts are terrific too. The location is great - we arrived, parked the car and didn't get back in it until we set off again for home. We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAnoukB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I still can't quite believe we were lucky enough to find this place! A chance phone call to somewhere which was already full,and they recommended Union Place - I'm so glad they did. This is a beautiful, peaceful, restful house, with gorgeous bedrooms, a bathroom to die for and a scrumptious breakfast served by our very friendly and thoroughly helpful host Richard. An absolute delight to stay here, superb value for money, with wonderful rooms and luxurious decor to make our weekend truly special. We booked both rooms, one for us, one for our daughters, so we had the 'public' areas of the house to ourselves - a real treat. Utterly, completely, thoroughly recommended, and we will be back! Richard, thank you so much for making this weekend great - I think we've found a new favourite place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona_car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.6 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandsend
50 reviews
0.7 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#2 of 52 in Whitby
263 reviews
2.9 mi away
Netherby House
Netherby House
#103 of 151 in Whitby
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Place

Property: Union Place
Address: 9 Upgang Lane, Whitby YO21 3DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing