We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A departure from the many B & Bs”
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
winchester
Level Contributor
134 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A departure from the many B & Bs”
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Whitby. Home of thousands of perfectly acceptable guest houses and bed and breakfasts. However for something a little special (and relatively affordable for a family with two children 14 and 10) this hotel was a little piece of luxury. Very pleasing to the eye historically and if you like clean bathrooms and pristine bedlinen - this is the place for you. Restaurant prices a little high if one of your kids doesnt like food like mine but bar meals in a little oak panelled bar very good quality and reasonably priced). Staff extremely accommodating and the area (go to Robin Hoods Bay - sigh) is just breathtaking. Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lily23007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    251
    76
    29
    29
See reviews for
88
543
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My wife and I combined a trip on the nymr dining service with a stay at the Dunsley Hall. The two compliment each other perfectly so we are awash with nostalgia. The hotel is a hidden gem and I would definetly return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vulcan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We've just returned from a weeks stay at Dunsley Hall and couldn't be more pleased.
I booked the room direct with them a little while ago and agreed a preice for a delux room with sea view and wasn't disappointed.
The room was fantastic with a four poster bed and views across to Sandsend and Whitby.
When we arrived we were offered help with our luggage and nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay. All the staff were friendly and polite and the service was impeccable. We found the food to be very well prepared and good value for money and the breakfast was superb.
If you're looking for a base whilst you explore the Moors and coast the location of Dunsley Hall makes it an ideal choice.
We would have no hesitation in returning to Dunsley Hall or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
2 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I got married at Dunsley Hall in March 2009.

Postive aspects:-

* Beautiful, comfortable rooms - lacking a little in modern/up-to-date facilities though
* Stunning location/grounds etc
* Lovely function rooms
* Very friendly/helpful wedding co-ordinator (Caroline)
* The food - fabulous, though not cheap


Not so positive aspects:

* There is a certain lack of attention when it comes to customer service. There are several receptionists and some of them are not very friendly and left me feeling they cared very little about my customer service experience
* Food and drink available during breakfast needs to be regularly replenished. We arrived about half way through the breakfast dining period and a few of the jugs of juice were almost empty and the display looked a little lack lustre. The full english fry-up and whitby kippers we ordered however were beautifully cooked and presented and extremely delicious.
* No lift access

Summary:

I am so pleased we chose Dunsley Hall as our wedding venue. It provided a beautiful setting for our special day and the staff on the day were fabulous. I'd highly recommend a visit, but do ask about discounts on the phone - it's not a cheap place to stay, or eat, but it is pretty much worth every penny. Some of the rooms perhaps need to be updated a little in terms of facilities & decor. We had the Bridal Suite (room 18, 2nd floor) which is gorgeous, though, the shower played up a little in the morning resulting in the handyman having to come and look at things - apparently the tap just needed turning with extra force - they could do with getting little things like this sorted out. All in all, I'd award this hotel 8/10, the only real thing that lets it down is it's lack of friendly customer service all of the time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MumToEska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2009

Having just returned from a two night stay at Dunsley Hall it is imperative that we give the time to review this Hotel. From the moment we arrived we found that all the staff were helpful and efficient, tea/coffee served complimentary in the very tasteful lounge to help guests wind down after their journey. The rooms are very clean and tastefully furnished, in the upgraded delux room that we were allocated everything appeard new and very modern. The hall has a very homely, warm and welcoming feel with old world charm. The dining experience was superb from the order taking in the comfortable bar to the personal service given by both Carol the owner to her very efficient dining room staff. The food was freshly cooked with a vast menu choice, complimented by a good selection of wines. Breakfast was also freshly cooked and served to the same high standard as the eveing meal. This hotel is not a cheap option, however, you get what you pay for and you are left feeling that you are the customer which can be rare these days. This hotel caters for the more desening guest and is for those who require a stressless break away from the normal day to day noisy environment, it is not a child friendly environment and should remain that way.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolferDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

We stayed one night at a cost of £175 including dinner (up to the value of £30 from the A la Carte).
First impressions: wonderful old country manor house, receptionist unwelcoming and terse, took our table booking for 8pm with the advice to go to the bar and order your food, when it's ready you can go to the dining room. Sounded fine.. . Room wonderfully sumptious, spotlessly clean, spacious - couldn't fault it.
Went to the bar as directed at around 7.45pm - it was so full you could hardly get in, no seats. Had to perch at the end of the bar with our bottle of wine while continually pushed past by harassed waiting staff. Obviously too many people had booked for 8pm and the bar could not cope. Eventually found our own menus and stopped the waitress to order our food.
The dining room was lovely, and so was the food, although rather expensive (up to the £20 mark for a mains and you have to pay £3 extra each for chips / potatoes / veg, starters and puddings around £6 - £9). The dining experience was fine, if in a rather stuffy atmosphere.
Retired to the bar with our coffees - now almost completely empty. Totally lacking in atmosphere. Finished our drinks and went off to bed - at only 10pm! Had there been some atmosphere, or indeed any feeling of welcome at all, I am sure we would have stayed for another couple of drinks.
Breakfast was in the dining room, served until 9.30am. At 8.50 am there was a plate with around 5 croissants, 3 yogurts, the dregs of fruit juices in 3 empty jugs, 2 bowls of fruit salad with a few sad pieces of fruit left in them, and no milk for the cereal. The cafetiere coffee came with no milk, when we asked for milk were brough a tiny jug half full. The cooked breakfast was lovely, although we had to find our own sauces and refilled our own milk jug. We weren't asked if we wanted more coffee or toast.
At no point did anyone ask if we were enjoying our food / needed anything more / in fact I don't think we saw a smile the whole time.
I know the hotel and restaurant were busy during our stay, but when the rates are so high you do expect the service to match.
Overall, the hotel and food were lovely, the rest - well I wouldn't recommed this hotel to others mainly because we felt they had no interest in whether we enjoyed our stay or not, the general atmosphere was unwelcoming, service at times was sloppy, and I did expect to find enough breakfast on the buffet.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redjockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

We held our daughter's wedding reception there in August 2008. We live near Middlesbrough and after looking at all the usual venues in and around our home we were recommended the Dunsley. We were not disappointed. Carol, the owner, and her staff were so professional. On the day the hotel looked beautiful and the gardens were lovely - fantastic to have a pre-dinner drink out on the terrace. The dining room was so welcoming and the food was out of this world. The whole day was truly wonderful. Carol and her team took all the worry out of the day and we were just left to enjoy it. Several people stayed over and all found the rooms lovely and the breakfast was good too. Can't speak highly enough about the service we received. It was a day to remember.

  • Liked — All of it
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Property: Dunsley Hall
Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing