We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay, on arrival we were greeted checked in and shown to our rooms and were told we could take complimentary coffee in the bar or lounge once we were settled. As we were heading into Whitby we chose not to take them up on the offer. We went to the reception and asked a different receptionist if she could book us a taxi, this lady was as equally cheerful and professional as the First Lady.

Food, we had breakfast both days afternoon tea and an evening meal.

At breakfast there was a wide selection, I chose the Dunsley grill which was gorgeous. I believe the hotel has its own chickens so the eggs are very fresh.

Afternoon tea was equally gorgeous, we had various sandwiches, brownies, Bakewell tarts, Etonian mess and of course not to forget the freshly baked scones which were still warm with clotted cream and jam. As much tea or coffee you wanted too. We chose to have this in the lounge area which was very nice, panelled walls, lovely fire place and sofas. We played cards and read magazines,

Evening meal, we went to the bar got a drink while we looked at the menu, there was lots of nice sounding choices, we both chose the carpaccio for starters which melted in the mouth the main course I had slow cooked beef cheek which was to die for and the wife had Plaice which looked gorgeous.

The wine is of reasonable price most bottles around the 20 pound mark which I thought was good for a hotel, after our meal we ordered coffee and had this in the lounge were we played cards which was a lovely finish to our day.

Room, we were in room 25 this was a very spacious room which had a huge bed two seats, dressing table wardrobe side tables, tv and beverage making facilities, the bathroom had a heated floor which was great but could get warm if you were in there a while. The bath was large which had two shower heads a fixed and a wall one. Outside the window was bird feeders which was a nice touch as we got to see a lot of nice wildlife.

All in all our two nights away were very relaxing all the staff where very nice and engaged in conversation with you asking how your day had been which I thought was nice.

I will be going back.

Room Tip: We had a basic room which offered everything you needed. Therefore unless you want something a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    243
    76
    29
    29
See reviews for
86
533
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

A large, comfortable hotel, in its own grounds, some way outside Whitby. We had warned the hotel that we were bringing a dog, and they couldn’t have been more helpful, giving us a very pleasant dog-friendly room, which was ideal, close to an outside door to the grounds and away from other guests who might have been disturbed.
The restaurant’s a la carte menu was very expensive so we chose from the table d’hote menu – still not cheap at £22 for two courses. This gave us a choice of one meat dish, one fish dish, and one vegetarian dish, for both the starter and the main course. The following night we were surprised and disappointed to find that two each of the three dishes for starters and mains were unchanged. Portion sizes were very variable, as was the cooking. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. We would certainly go back to the hotel, but probably eat elsewhere - I'd have rated it four stars without the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voxhumani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

we had a lovely two night stay a treat from our Son and his partner on arrival we were met with a warm welcome from the lady on reception our room was fab with a four poster bed nice seating area lovely and warm plenty of hot water we ate in the restaurant on our first night the food was excellent on our second night we had been out all day so decided to take our evening meal in the bar the food choices and service were also excellent

Room Tip: room number 3 had twin aspect windows with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

First trip with 8 month old baby so we were apprehensive, but we were well looked after in this friendly place. Very accommodating, gave us a travel cot for baby and room near to the entrance which helped shipping all that stuff that you cart with you for the baby from the car! It also helped us nip back to the room for those nappy emergencies. This is a nice, tranquil place to relax and feels very homely. Not a sterile feeling hotel populated by people in suits! No pool or gymn or business centre, just tranquility and that's all you need. Could only eat at bar as no under 5's in fine dining restaurant, but that's fine as the food was really nice and service top notch. Really nice touches to make you feel welcome as well....staff really friendly, even put babies wet clothes in the boiler room to dry after I left them in the bathroom!

Really pleased...great first trip out for the family. Would recommend to anyone wanting a peaceful 'manor house' style break.

Room Tip: Room 2 was very close to the reception and with nice garden view. People may walk past to the lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalupukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

My friend couldn't join me for my 2 night break, and on arrival as a single traveller, I was upgraded to a double room. Very nice. The room was comfortable and warm, which was a godsend, as the temperatures outside were minus several degrees.
Both nights I ate in the main dining room and chose from the a la carte menu. I can't believe that this isn't a Michelin starred restaurant - the food was superb, probably some of the best I have ever tasted. Hang on to the chef - he/she is gifted!
Breakfast was also a fabulous fare - porridge made with double cream was a delight!
The restaurant staff couldn't have been more attentive. Their knowledge of the food they were serving was second to none. Most impressive.

Some constructive criticism -
1. it would have been nice for the room to have an information folder relating to the hotel and what was on offer, and where to find everything, and a short explanation as to how to work the remote control!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melt0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Stayed here with a 2 night Buy a Gift voucher and was expecting great things having viewed the hotel's web site. On approaching, Dunsley Hall looks a very attractive building and we went to reception with some anticipation to book in. However, this anticipation was soon eroded by the unfriendly and unhelpful attitude of the receptionist. To start with she was more interested in passing on her drinks order to another member of staff. When she did acknowledge us she told us we were in room 21, but when she realised we were using a Buy a Gift voucher she told us 21 was not ready (at 3.30pm) and we would be in room 8 instead. I did wonder at the time if voucher users were treated less favourably and my suspicions were later to be proved right. She showed us to our room without giving us any information about the hotel/breakfast times. In fact she did not speak at all and we did not feel at all welcome. The carpet in the area outside the room and on the stairs was threadbare. Room 8 had reasonable bedroom furniture but the decoration was very tired looking. The carpet looked as if it had been there since the hotel was built and the bed cover looked like it had never been cleaned. The bathroom was shabby and did not have a shower except as part of the bath's mixer tap. We did not eat in the hotel (thankfully) but went to a fabulous pub a few miles away. On returning to our room we found the curtains would not close fully. We both slept badly as the springs in the mattress stuck into your back. in addition, as It was a particularly windy night, the window frame fittings, which were made of wrought iron, rattled noisily against the metal window frames. I had a very poor night as a result. The following morning, after being unable to have a shower, I went to the reception to ask to be moved to a room with a walk in shower and with less noisy windows. The request was looked upon by the previous day's receptionist as if it had been made by someone with 2 heads, but she did agree to move us to a room in the newest part of the hotel. We were given room 21 (opposite 22 - yesterday's original room) and on entering my suspicions from yesterday appeared to be confirmed. The room was smaller than room 8 but was so much better. The bathroom had a lovely walk in shower and underfloor heating. This room also had a file of information about the hotel, which was absent from room 8. Even though this was a better room there were still some areas of damp, particularly around the window sill and the vanity unit and toilet roll holder in the bathroom had more rust on them than chromium plate. Breakfast was appalling. The Dunsley Grill (full English) was dire and the worst I have ever had anywhere. The bacon was not cooked, the fried bread swimming in fat and both the tomato and mushrooms cold. There was only a choice of one kind of jam and one kind of marmalade. On day 2, I decided to give the grill one more try and asked the waiter if I could swap my fried bread and bacon for an extra sausage. Again I got the "2 heads stare" from him this time, but he did take the order although he did not ask me how I would like my egg cooking.
To buy this breakfast as a separate item was nearly £15, although to be fair it did include other items. Even so it still rates as the worst hotel breakfast we have ever had. All in all, a very poor example of what an AA 3 star hotel should be. I can only assume the AA Inspector forewarns the hotel when they are coming and the last inspection was done many years ago. We will not be going back to, or recommending this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If you do choose to go to this hotel, avoid rooms (especially number 8) in the old part facing the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tiger1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night break via a KGB deal. Our second trip to this hotel ! Staff were as always, friendly and welcoming. Beautiful building with lots of character!

Stayed in room 25, lovely decor and furnishings, under floor heating in the room and bathroom. Comfy beds and patio doors looking out to the small garden. The only two negative remarks are ..It was very windy during our stay so there was a draft through the doors. However when the thick curtains were closed it wasn't as bad. Shower had a arm missing so you had to ensure it was directed towards the wall as it gushed out everywhere.

The food at the hotel is delicious, plenty of choice for breakfast. We had sandwiches when we arrived which were freshly made and plenty of them with salad and crisps. We ate from the market menu in the evening which was very nice and the chef came out to see if there was anything he could cook me as I am a vegetarian and wanted to ensure I was happy.

We found a wonderful place to have light meals,snacks called sidesand cafe. Lovely views of the sea! Turn right out of the hotel then right again down the country lane, at the end of the lane turn left and you will see the log cabin cafe right on the beach side. Excellent hot and cold food, homemade cakes...definitely worth a visit.

We had a relaxing and wonderful stay at dunsley hall and will definitely be back....thank you to all the staff who work hard to make your stay as special as possible.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank elliebear87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Property: Dunsley Hall
Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing