We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
conisbrough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

what a lovelly hotel with lovelly staff,first class accomodation in a lovelly setting,all meals where first class and reasonably priced,will go back again ,the main rooms in the older part of the house are very quaint and still okay after all this time ,the newer part of the hotel blends in with the old without it being noticed too much,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leighConisbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    236
    75
    29
    29
See reviews for
83
522
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

thanks to all the staff exc stay , room 17 , out of this world , everything is perfect, food was all fresh & hot full of taste , both evening meal & breakfast

thanks to the two male members of staff who let us back in after a late night xxxx
cant say anything bad about my stay even the taxi was booked for us to go back into town (harrison)
will deff re book well worth the money
thanks again to all the staff xxxxxx

Room Tip: book room 17 the bath is sooooooo big
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We have recently returned from a perfect overnight stay at Dunsley Hall and couldn't have asked for anything more!
From our arrival to our departure, everyone we came into contact with were so friendly and helpful without being overpowering!
We were there on a travelzoo deal and it was worth every single penny! We were there on a b&b and evening meal basis and my word, did we eat well! The food in the restaurant was outstanding. After having a taster in the bar while perusing the menu, then the most delicious amuse bouche I have ever tasted, followed by starter, sorbet and then main there was simply no room whatsoever to sample a dessert. We opted for coffee and petit fours instead.
The room, the facilities, in fact everything was just what we needed, couldn't have asked for more and will hopefully return to Dunsley Hall in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: The heating in room 2 was really far too warm for us through the night, may be fine for others but f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BikerJohn, Manager at Dunsley Hall, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your delight review, I am glad both you and partner enjoyed your stay and we do hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch to celebrate a birthday, was a superb experience.

Food was first class as was service, the staff were polite and attentive but it was in a completely relaxed and unhurried atmosphere.

Heartily recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TinaandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BikerJohn, Manager at Dunsley Hall, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed recently at Dunsley Hall just to get away from the everyday stress and daily grind. On arrival the staff where more than willing to help and a complimentry drink and biscuits offered to refreash after our journey over the foggy Yorkshire Moors.

The room was spacious and clean and the bed welcoming, only later was there noise from the kitchen staff and bins being moved/opened. There was also a constant drone from the kitchen
extractor fan? This really didn't make for a quiet evening and not really thought out ok if you are oblivious to background noise but unfortunately I am not.
Dining Room was really welcoming and the service very good though at times over intentitive, this may have been to the number of perople in the room at the time but a little too hurried.

Food was excellent, so all in all a pleasent dining experience. Breakfast was ok my egg was over done and the sausage had hints of game, the breakfast was too oily for my liking and was not up to the standard I expected.

Our room by the way was 18,.

Set in very pleasent surroundings I would visit again but seek a room away from the kitchen and not have the breakfast grill.

This a wonderful get away and the evening meal a experience to remember try it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank terriDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed here for an overnight whilst waking in the Whitby area on a voucher basis via TravelZoo. It was wonderful.

The staff could not do enough for you. The room was excellent, the welcome very warm, and the highlight was the food. STUNNING!!

Well worth staying - and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hexham
Level Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We used a voucher for a short break here. It is off the beaten track in a very pretty location near to Whitby and overlooking the bay.
Booking was simple and very satisfactory. As I had mentioned that we were celebrating my husband's birthday we were given a lovely 4-poster room. It was spacious, well furnished and comfortable, and had fab views.
We had a horrendous journey due to flooding and road closures, so arrived late in the evening, very tired. We didn't want to change for dinner and were offered room service for our supper (at an extra cost of £5 per head). It was ok - not brilliant.
We had a good night's sleep and woke to a sunny morning. Our room had a pleasant, comfortable bathroom, although my husband was disappointed that there was not a 'proper' shower, only a handset over the bath. Toiletries were lovely.
The house itself is grand, well-kept and clean, with lots of 'original featues' and beautiful old furniture. .
Breakfast was excellent, served in a lovely dining room by very good staff on the first day - not so good on the second, when I had a cup with sugar caked on it, and they forgot to bring the hot milk I had requested.
Having looked at the menu we decided not to book dinner as we felt it was very expensive - although the restaurant had a great reputation, and the menu was interesting.

All in all a very pleasant stay with a few disappointments - not least that we never did get the bottle of wine we were supposed to receive on arrival.
Although I fed all of my comments back to the hotel , I have never heard from them since our stay.
I think I would go again, but would hope for a slightly better experience.

Room Tip: the 4-poster room with dual aspect views of the bay was superb - as long as you like a bath, and don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
2.4 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Property: Dunsley Hall
Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing