We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic for couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Helmsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic for couples”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night Dinner Bed and Breakfast it was a surprise for my wife's Birthday
We could not have asked for more,The room was large with a massive very comfy bed
The dinner was amazing think we had around 7 courses and it was fantastic quality
Breakfast was superb the next morning
We can't wait to return just waiting for another great Deal

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisfev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    244
    76
    29
    29
See reviews for
87
534
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Arrived in fog after an awful drive across the moors. Very friendly welcome from helpful receptionist. Small room but adequate, nice bathroom spoilt but rusty toilet roll holder and dirt behind the wash basin. Ate in the bar, friendly and efficient staff again but bar food average and overpriced. Great nights sleep in very comfortable bed and a well layed out breakfast with plenty of choice. I wouldn't go out of my way to stay but would stay if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stumpy1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall Fantastic experience,slightly too far to walk into Whitby town Center however faultless service fantastic high class restaurant the lounge and bar area were finished with oak panel walls giving an olde world feel a welcoming ambiance and clean,spacious,comfortable room's.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrtaximam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have just got home from our 3 day break, this is our 4th visit to the hotel. We are made so welcome the minute we walk over the threshold. We can not thank the reception staff enough who always make us feel "we are home", Carol who is so patient with us when we constantly change our meal choice, Gordon who accomodates all requests no matter what!!, and the 2 Lydia`s who go that extra mile and always with a smile, not to forget the bar staff and the night porters and the room ladies who all add their own unique touches to our stay. Room 3 is our favourite room, we can sit in a four poster bed or even relax in the bath with views of the sea, amazing!!!!! The Sunday lunch has got to be one of our best moments, enjoying the choice from an outstanding menu. We love it soooo much we have booked yet again for next year. Highly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Room 3 - 2nd level, 4 poster bed and the exceptional views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbr
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Using a living social deal for 2 nights b&b.Initially a very cold welcome from the receptionist after that things improved the room was excellent no 27.Room was spacious warm with ample facilities .Breakfast menu good as was the breakfast.Service really good and friendly.Although a little way out taxis around £7 to Whitby centre also good walk to Whitby along the beach. Would recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbyhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We used an offer from Travel24 and are glad we did. The hotel is in a superb location (some might say isolated). Jaded elegance could describe our room (No.8) but everything was fine. Comfortable bed, warm room and lovely white towels in bathroom. Our offer included one dinner which we took on our first night. We were so impressed that we booked again for our second night and again were not disappointed. Such attention to detail and the quality of the food made our break. The breakfast also was first class - good selection and perfectly cooked. All staff without exception were extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed overnight on a travel zoo deal very impressed. The hotel was very welcoming warm and cosy even though it was a large hotel.the staff were friendly .the bedroom was. Very comfortable and warm. Evening meal was very good and also the breakfast. Definitely go again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosieebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Property: Dunsley Hall
Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing