We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away, at Dunsley hall”
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
barnsley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“weekend away, at Dunsley hall”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

weve just come back from an overnight stay (saturday) at Dunsley Hall. It is just up a hill from sendend and in a lovely quite setting. We got a good deal on the groupon site as the rooms can be expensive, but the are tastefully decorated and ours opened into the garden.

Breakfast was in a lovely dining room keeping with the character of the house. The receptionist was very welcoming and showed us to our room and offered us compimentary tea and coffee when we had settled in. I really felt that the hotel was a real treat for a weekend away at the seaside and would definately come back. Our room num ber was 27 and had the patio doors into the garden. It is a family run hotel and the made it just extra special because i think you got those extra personal touches. All staff as they walked past smiled and said good morning and the all seemed to be enjoying there job.!!

The hotel is a victorian house and very much off the beaten track which i just loved. definetly go back, when an offer is on again.

Room Tip: ours was room 27 on the ground floor. No swimming pool or gym, not that kind of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    267
    78
    29
    31
See reviews for
94
577
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed for just one night, on a last minute getaway, needing just to re-charge 'my batteries' from the daily grind, Hard to fault anything, Our room was cosy, comforable and immaculate, with the best shower in the bathroom I have ever seen or used! The food is truly superb, possibly one of the best meals I have eaten anywhere, The staff are attentive and friendly in this lovely old period house hotel. With without any hesitation I would and have recommended this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BebbieHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Wonderfully understated luxury in the most peaceful surroundings. The staff are most helpful and friendly and the food superb. I would highly recommend this hotel?

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kirkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

My husband and I love this place. We got married here last year and have had a few stays on the run up to the wedding but due to circumstances we haven't been back since we got married. We were really looking forward to revisiting Dunsley and were not disappointed! We were really touched to be remembered by the staff and the service we received was second to none.
We were in room 18 - our favourite! Huge room, beautiful building and the perfect place to relax. We dined in the restaurant in the evening too - again the service was fantastic as was the food. We ate off the al a carte menu which although leaned towards the more pricey side, was well worth it.
We were by far the youngest people in the hotel - a point raised by others in their reviews on here - but for the type of hotel with the room rates it commands, you aren't going to get masses of young folk on a cheap weekend away....which is pretty perfect for us.
I would recommend this place to those who enjoy a more relaxed, sedate break and whilst ever we have money in our pockets we will be lifelong visitors to Dunsley.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lytham st annes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

excellent hotel which ticks all the correct boxes. Professionally managed and excellently maintained providing us with a wonderful stay. Lovely period house which has an atmosphere of stepping back in time.Large comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms with comfy beds,hairdryer tea coffee robes etc. Lovely food and a great choice .Outstanding staff. Plenty of car parking and enjoyable gardens. We could not find fault with anything. This hotel is a true credit to its owners, many could learn from them!!!!Thank you so much. carol and john Lytham st annes

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolmarieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is a very impressive hotel, infact one of the most tasteful and well maintained I have stayed in. It is in a beautiful, quiet setting with excellent staff .
The rooms are spaceous, carefully designed and have a lovely period look.There is also a really impressive lounge too which is furnished to a high period standard, has a very relaxed atmosphere and has a lovely stained glass window which must be seen.
The dining experience is of a high standard with a good menu and the food is freshly cooked and well presented.
Altogether a very elegant hotel with excellent standards.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCOOTERCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night . The hotel is in a beautiful surroundings . The room we had was of the highest standard tastefully decorated but in keeping with the tradition of the hotel. The room had patio doors which opened up onto a small garden which in the summer would be fantastic. The bathroom was immaculate with a lovely old fashioned bath, the only downside to us was the fact that there was no shower but that is our personal preference. It was a very cold weekend but our room was beautifully warm as it had under floor heating which was really welcomed . The breakfast was excellent. A very nice hotel which we would return to again.

Room Tip: rooms 22 to 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,049 reviews
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,131 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,095 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#9 of 20 in Whitby
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Property: Dunsley Hall
Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing