We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Spent lovely weekend here to celebrate wedding anniversary.
Staff very friendly and helpful even to the extent of allowing us to order our dinner from the menu by phone as we were late arriving & were going to narrowly miss last orders in the restaurant.
Food was well presented and prepared with a good menu selection. Breakfasts cooked to order, offering local produce (tasty sausages!) and kippers.
Great location for walks on the moors - to walk off breakfast!
Room perhaps more modern in furnishings than we had hoped, but spotless and obviously newly decorated. Would like to try four poster room next time.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MWKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 894 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2007

Wanted to stay in Whitby for a night and found this hotel through Tripadvisor. Arrived in Whitby and was surprised to find this wonderful hotel down a lovely country lane. Beautiful old stone house with distant views of the sea.
We were greeted by Reception and shown to a lovely large sunny bedroom with views over the garden. We were dashing out to have a look round Whitby but were offered a complimentary pot of tea in the lounge. The lounge is a fantastic wooden panalled room with a fantastic stain glass window.
The whole hotel has wonderful rooms - the bar, the dining
room need to be seen - they are all beautifully furnished and the staff obviously work hard to keep everything spotless.
We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was first class and you must try the deserts which are excellent. The breakfast was just as good and the porridge with cream and brown sugar is delicious
There were people of all ages staying at the hotel from families with young children to octogenarian couples and they all seemed happy and relaxed. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hounslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2007

We got married here on 30th June and it really couldn't have been a better venue. The staff are amazing - couldn't do enough to help and the whole place is so beautiful.

I also stayed there the night before the wedding in the bridal suite - what an amazing room, I haven't stayed in anything like it before - it was huge, with a massive bed, lovely views over the grounds and a wonderful bathroom.

If the food they provided for the wedding is an indication of what they serve in the restaurant - it is delicious! I had breakfast on the morning of the wedding and it really was superb, the perfect amount of food, excellently cooked.

Not to mention of course that Dunsley Hall is very well located for the moors and gorgeous Whitby.

I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MichelleJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

my girlfriend took me away for my birthday as a suprise and what a suprise it was its quiet relaxing place with warming staff happy to help and do as much for you. the night porter (George) was helpful.
would recommend this place to anyone, will be going back, thinking maybe xmas the place woyld look great with snow over it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gordon1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Found this Hotel to be poor value, paid full room rate for a Deluxe room and room was not special. Bar prices are ridiculous £5.50 for a glass of wine. Waiting staff not friendly. Towel rail didnt work in bathroom. The location is however good for Whitby and the NY Moors. Will not return to or recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2007
9  Thank zebedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Beautiful food and exquisite wine - the wine list is enviable.

The Hall is breath taking and majestic - you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

My wife and I dined here twice nearly ten years ago and have always wanted to go back and dine and stay. We booked a four poster room which was fantastic. The meal in the restaurant more than surpassed our high expectations - so much flavour and worth every penny.

Breakfast was lovely and fresh from the croissants to the cooked breakfast, shame I was full from the night before, so I didn't have the full cooked breakfast on offer.

The staff were very friendly and helped make the stay a wonderful one. Can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,163 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
650 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,195 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 19 in Whitby
470 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3FG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: $92 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing