We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week end in Whitby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A week end in Whitby”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited Whitby last week end, and were lucky enough to have chosen Rosewood as our base.
Everything was excellent - the welcome - the food - the rooms, Freda and Dave certainly know how to make you feel "at home".
When we go back to Whitby we will certainly try to book Rosewood again - try it for yourself if you are reading this - you will not be disappointed!!
Thanks again Freda and Dave - we had a great time
Norman and Jen, Adrian and Angela (Wilingham, Cambs.)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    20
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
220
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

me and my husband come to rosewood b & b 4 or 5 times a year ,and it just gets better freda and dave are so warm and friendly people,who can not do enough for you ,when you arrive theres scone and tea ,the rooms are excellent very warm and cosy ,and decor lovely,theres cakes in your rooms every evening with as much tea and coffee you can drink ,the breakfasts are fantastic full cooked english yum yum ,fresh organic fruits ,all different types of cereals,plenty of toast ,coffee or tea ,and the thing i like in the cold months is the open roaring fire in the lounge we can not wait to visit again thank you freda and dave your fantastic hosts xxx

Room Tip: both rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booked this as a 6 month anniversary getaway for me and my girlfriend,Dave and Freda are the perfect hosts cant do enough for you its a 5 min walk into town and the beach is just round the corner from the hotel.the room as a bath and shower,breakfast well the selection was awesome cant say enough to pay this justice.But if your thinking of staying in whitby try to get in perfect place to stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

just got back from a fantastic easter week end staying at the rosewood b&b run bu freda&dave feel i have known thm years what a fantastic couple on arrivel home made scones jam cream tea or coffee the room warm and cosey cam back after a walk cake home made in the room the breakfast full english fantastic or you could have had local kippers salmon what a fantastic couple can not wait to go again Brian&Barbara from Barnsley P.S ALL HOME MADE fruits just fantastic

Room Tip: Two rooms both the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brigriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and i booked this to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary, Freda and Dave were very welcoming and with the hosting they do make it feel really special, the extras for example cake in the room on your return, its also really quiet and the rooms have a cosy feel about them, the bathrooms are also very spacious and there is everything, if you forget something fear not Freda will come to the rescue. The best B&B we have stayed in and beleive me we have stayed in a few, great location for everything you will not be dissapointed by the location, food or accomodation. Thank you Freda and Dave we will be back.

Room Tip: Both rooms are cosy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was a short trip away for my birthday and it was absolutely fantastic. Dave and Freda are brilliant hosts, so friendly and nothing too much trouble. We were welcomed with tea and scones by a lovely open fire, there were chocolates and a birthday card in our room - how thoughtful. Both rooms and en-suites are a very geneous size, spotlessly clean with everything you could possibly need including tea, coffee etc fresh milk in the fridge and a whole host of toiletries, nail files, sewing kits etc. Freda even phoned the Magpie Cafe to book a table for us so we wouldn't have to queue in the cold. Breakfast each day was delicious, home made fruit compotes and various dried fruits, cereals, toast, home made marmalade followed by freshly cooked full english or whitby kippers or in fact anything else you wanted. Returning in the afternoon there was chocolate cake or cheesecake in our room. All in all this was a perfect trip-Whitby is a lovely town and Freda and Dave have made the Rosewood a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonk360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Rosewood B & B is the only place to stay if you are visiting Whitby. The hosts are sooo friendly and sooo welcoming that you feel right at home. They left cake for us in our room after a day out! The location is great, 2 mins away from the sea and very close to the town and all of its restaurants but it is The Rosewood itself which is the real star of the show; the rooms are lovely, everything you can possibly need is there including magazines and books for you to read and all the toiletries you can possibly need. The breakfast is stunning, you can pretty much have whatever you want as long as you tell them the night before. Nothing here is too much trouble. If you are staying in Whitby, you MUST choose The Rosewood, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gembob83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#16 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#18 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#9 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#21 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3 Ocean Road, Whitby YO21 3HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosewood Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rosewood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing