We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Faultless, would highly recommend.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of River Bank Cottage

The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
A view towards the moors Riverside Walk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
56 reviews
The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
A view towards the moors
Riverside Walk
Riverside Walk
first floor living room
living room to rear
from the living room
kitchen diner looking onto river
kitchen to the patio
bedroom overlooking river
Steam Train seen from cottage
Early morning view
Larpool Viaduct
Riverside Walk from the river
Feeding the ducks on the slipway
Walking the Whitby rail path
Whitby Abbey from the Viaduct
Whitby harbour from the old town
The famous Abbey steps
Taking a sea trip
from Whitby swing bridge
nearby Robin Hood's Bay
Robin Hood's Bay
Everyone likes a holiday!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adele071
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Faultless, would highly recommend.”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this lovely little house by the river for a long weekend in October.
My husband, myself our teenage son and little Jack Russell thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the house has everything that you would need and was so homely we would definitely return and would highly recommend to anyone.
It was great to see the river in front of the house and the trains running by.
Would recommend Beckett's coffee shop, the food is lovely and they welcome dogs, even when wet, with open arms!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to take our dog
Liked least: We liked everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn W
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic Again!!!”
Reviewed October 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed here. A beautiful quiet homely cottage, with everything you could wish for. A lovely welcome pack yet again! Just a ten minute walk into Whitby. This time we walked the cinder path to Robin Hoods Bay and back, a lovely walk with fantastic scenery. Also got the steam train to Pickering, again fantastic scenery. Even passed the cottage on the way! Thank you Tricia and Russ for yet another brilliant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Absolutely everything!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sue h
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“could not fault”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here 2nd to 9th august. When we arrived there was a welcome pack with tea coffee milk etc., which is very handy, saves you finding a shop. The cottage is lovely, spotless and so peaceful. We took our 10 year old granddaughter with us and she enjoyed playing in the garden when we returned after a busy day out. We would certainly recommend this cottage to anyone, we couldn't fault it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful surroundings
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewed July 25, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christine...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“perfect home from home”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

booked this last minute for my husbands 50th birthday parked the car and it was the last time we used it till we went home. the cottage was a delight every thing we could need was catered for . the view was spectacular loved the company of the squirrels ducks rabbits and geese .the geese came to the kitchen window for breakfast. lovely walks along the cinder path our dog was worn out we loved been at river view cottage and hope to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: every thing about this cottage
Liked least: every thing was good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette2...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful break”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay in this mews house, it has absolutely everything one would need and expect in a self catering holiday let, you are right on the river which is very peaceful.... we had some lovely walks around here, esp once up on the viaduct...took us about 20 mins to walk into Whitby.... Whitby is absolutely stunning...lots of places too eat and drink, the steam bus is a must....also we took a trip on the steam train from Whitby to Gothland (Heartbeat set) well worth a visit...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary P
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views in peaceful surroundings”
Reviewed March 28, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable, sitting in the most beautiful valley beside a river. We loved watching the wildlife from the window and waking up to the beautiful views. A lovely, quiet spot. Whitby is walkable, although getting back after dark can be a bit tricky, as the roads and paths are unlit some of the way. It's only 5 minutes by car though and we found plenty of free parking. Loads to see and do in and around Whitby, we'll definitely be coming back and would stay in the cottage again. Thanks for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing