We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't ask for more”

Review of Tumble Cottage

A Side on view of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Side on view of the cottage
A view looking towards the landing from the master bedroom Bed in master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
A Side on view of the cottage
A view looking towards the landing from the master bedroom
Bed in master bedroom
The Staircase taken from the kitchen
Downstairs toilet
Kitchen Diner
Museum at The Abbey
Captain cook statue
The Garage from Heartbeat
The Post office from Heartbeat
Whitby Abbey
A view looking towards the swing bridge
Lounge featuring the pull out bed settee
Second Bedroom double bed
The Second bedroom TV and wardrobe
A view looking across the harbour towards the town
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annetted4...
Sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't ask for more”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Literally just arrived home from 2 night stay at Tumble cottage-fab place, great venue, wonderful use of space, fantastic family bolthole and wonderful kind owners. Everyone catered for, and even a bottle of pink fizz waiting for us! Thanks Ivy, hope to see you again soon xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 26, 2016
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Tumble cottage nice meeting you and the family thank you for your positive response appreciated. Rgs. Ivy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauradrum...
Bournemouth
1 review
“Lovely little homely base in town centre”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here with 2 young children whilst visiting nearby family. Great location didn't need car at all until we left. Spotless and so homely it was great for our our kids they even found some toys hidden away. Ivy was very accommodating and made sure it was all stocked up and clean for us. Would definitely stay here again if we venture this far north again..

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2016
Thank you for your positive comments appreciated. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Whitby in Tumble cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
conniebel
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely ”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just spent 3 days at this cottage for my husbands birthday. Ivy was lovely and everything was as described. The cottage is lovely and in a great location. Would definitely recommend. Thank you Ivy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments pleased everything was OK for you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulS1279...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tumble Cottage”
Reviewed June 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed for 3 nights at tumble cottage. 2 adults and two children aged 9 and 6.

The cottage lived up to the excellent reviews we had read before our trip. A cozy and moden cottage in a great location with everything you need.

Ivy, the owner, is friendly and helpful whilst also communicating promptly and professionally prior to and on the day of our stay. Ivy ensured there was fresh milk plus tea and coffee on out arrival plus left us a bottle of fizz.

Will book again. Had a great time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2016
Thanks for the positives Paul and Family glad to hear you had a pleasant stay. Ivy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shona M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tumble cottage.... A real treat!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had a wonderful break at tumble cottage. It was so clean and comfortable and in a great location near to station and harbour. There's a super bakers across the street and a newsagent/ general store next door.thers also a pub which is good and thankfully we heard no noise ( and we were there on a bank holiday weekend). Ivy the owner had thought of everything we could need including tea coffee sugar milk wine and chocolates!!wifi was excellent too. Ivy was very friendly and always replied to my texts or e mails promptly. Can't wait to go back to Whitby and will most certainly be booking tumble cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Toilet a bit small
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2016
Hi Shona,
pleased you enjoyed your stay it was nice meeting you, pleased you found us OK, after your mystery tour it all adds to the adventure. Ivy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigpest27...
Gateshead
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Best place ever! Loved every second of being in there”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Tumble Cottage for two nights on 1st April 2016... Ivy and her partner were very welcoming....but the property speaks for itself...very clean and very well furnished with every detail covered in the very well thought out living areas. I've recommended this place to everyone now and will be our destination every time we go to to Whitby .... Loved it.....10/10 from me ...thank you!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Pleased you had a good time thank you for your review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Jean...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fabulous!,”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

This was a great cottage and we wanted for nothing. It had everything we needed for our stay and the location was great. We received a very warm welcome from Ivy and Allan and would definitely love to visit again. Parking was great just outside on the road! Jean and Lee Orridge

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2016
Pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a good time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing