We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Cosy”

The Captains Lodge Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Captains Lodge Guest House
Ranked #117 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Heaton Chapel, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dated but Cosy”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Typical guest house, friendly service, great location, good hearty breakfast including delicious kippers, great Genesis/ Mike and the Mechanics sound track in breakfast room. Big old bath that ran quickly....two minutes from cliffs....Special place x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    21
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
33
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I booked to stay at this lovely place as we were travelling to Scotland and did not want to drive all that way on a Friday night. What a good idea it turned out to be. We arrived about 8.30 p.m. and rang the bell and were greeted by Kathy who opened the gates for us to park and then off we went into the house to be shown our room. The room was great with a view of the sea/sea front. The room had those small touches that make you feel good, china mugs instead of small cups, lots of pillows and a lovely big bed. Warm and cosy like you like your home to be.
We decided to go out for a walk and call in and have a drink somewhere, Kathy took the time to tell us where the drinking establishments were and the age group etc., of the people who drank there, we took her advice and had a great time.
We book breakfast for 8.00 a.m. so that we could get on our way and what a breakfast, my husband had the full breakfast and it was great and huge, I had the poached eggs abd they were lovely. All you need for breakfast is there and more, you just look at the menu in the drawer and place your order the night before.
Free wi-fi is available and the code is near the menu, also a hair dryier. I am so pleased we decided to stay and will be looking to book again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strongbow110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a good b+b nothing is totally outstanding but it does everything well. The owners were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable with en suite. The breakfast was good quality and plentiful, the full English seemed the most popular, overall it was good value for money. It is well positioned for exploring the town and the attractions.

Room Tip: You need to be fit if you are staying higher then the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancsprop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Party of 9, 5 rooms, 2 nights.
Hotel is easy to find & very close to attractions. Free on street parking. Couple who run hotel are lovely & very accommodating. Rooms are very clean & good sized with there own bathrooms (only bath no shower but shower head adapters are provided) TV, kettle, tea, coffee etc in rooms. Breakfast- dont miss it because it is beautiful :)
Great weekend had by all of us & we will definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummybee1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two night, weekend stay at this great little guest house in wonderful Whitby. The captains Lodge is an easy five minute walk from the town centre and harbour area and commands a corner plot which gives the breakfast room a bright and airy outlook. Talking of the breakfast, you would be very hard pressed to find a better one....ANYWHERE... The term full English really does mean 'full' in this case and it will certainly set you up for your day.
Mine hosts Carole and Tony run a very clean, tidy and efficient operation here and, yes some of the previous comments regarding the baths instead of showers are true, (we were in room 8 on the top floor which had a bath only) but this did not hinder our experience at the Captains Lodge and we will definitely be returning. All in all for the price we paid it was more than reasonable. Well done both..

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LenDudno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

stayed in the top room ,clean room,bath was added bonus,quiet location ,brill breakfast and plenty to choose from on the breakfast choice,only downside when coming back after a few drinks the 2 sets of stairs to climb was a killer ha ha! the beds were very comfy and spotless would stay
again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We came here for the Regatta and stayed in room 3 which is on the first floor

Positives..
Clean, quiet and comfortable.
Great breakfast, served on good quality tableware with crisp table linen
Good location just off the Royal Crescent
Nice big family room (1 double and 1 single bed) with quality bedding and a generously sized en suite bathroom

Negatives..
No shower, just a bath which was a chore when 3 of us were sharing the room (plenty of hot water though)
No TV reception, The room only had a set top aerial which provided insufficient signal strength for a modern digital tv.
On street car parking which is always busy in Whitby. You are lucky if you get anywhere near your hotel in the peak season.
The TV issue spoiled it for us as we had a youngster to amuse, luckily the TV had a DVD slot so we hired some films from a DVD shop on Flowergate.

The negatives noted would be cheap and easy to fix. The TV just needs the rooftop aerial which is already up there re-aligning and some new cable to replace the 30 year old weather worn co-ax.
The shower could be done by replacing the standard bath taps with a thermostatic bath and shower mixer tap, as there is enough hot water with plenty of pressure. The bathroom has been expertly tiled up to full height already so it only needs a shower curtain rail and the whole job would be done in half a day.

So, if you don't mind having a bath and not having a telly this place ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187067Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#8 of 151 in Whitby
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Guest House
Beaches Guest House
#102 of 151 in Whitby
57 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#4 of 52 in Whitby
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Discovery Accomodation
Discovery Accomodation
#90 of 151 in Whitby
768 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pinewood Guesthouse
Pinewood Guesthouse
#75 of 151 in Whitby
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Captains Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captains Lodge Guest House

Property: The Captains Lodge Guest House
Address: 3 Crescent Avenue, Whitby YO21 3EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Captains Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing