We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shepherd's Purse
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Oasis...”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Fantastic location near market place/sights and host's trouble free/no corners cut with heat/beverages etc.; beautiful room and garden/courtyard. Only drawback is sound-proofing if downstairs as quite a noisy family upstairs and early birds. Choose an upper room.

Room Tip: Upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryanairhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    56
    19
    14
    4
See reviews for
14
167
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My partner and I visited for a one night mini break. When we arrived we had to collect our room key from the shop downstairs. Staff were helpful and took us to the room quickly. The location is excellent with many shops and bars nearby. We booked room 5 which is defiantly the best room especially for couples. The room was a decent size with four poster bed. It was nicely decorated (although my boyfriend thought it was girly). Everything was very clean as well. The bed was comfortable and we really didn't want to get up the next morning. There is a private balcony with this room which is a nice touch. There is also a jacuzzi bath with bath bubbles which is nice to come back to after walking around in the wind all day. Our only complaint was that the TV didn't seem to work in the room but to be fair we didn't feel like we needed it anyway. We only stayed one night but wished we could have stayed more. Overall I would recommend staying, especially in room 5.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here midweek for a little getaway. Having found that most of the campsites were booked up we decided to change direction and get a nice B&B instead. Although this is essentially only a room, there are so many places nearby to get breakfast, as well as an on site cafe serving cakes and tea too. We stayed in room 4 which was small but great. Customer service was great and all facilities including tea and coffee in the room were fantastic. There is also a big courtyard outside which is really nicely presented. On warmer nights you could sit out here with a bottle of wine. The location is also amazing, being very very central to all the shops, cafes., restaurants and pubs Whitby has to offer.

The only downside (and this is probably more of a personal thing) was that it was quite noisy in the morning with seagulls, people getting up early and tv from the next room. I would stay here again though - brilliant little place.

Room Tip: Room 4 very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UncleCatCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here for a night whilst visiting Whitby for a night to see a performance of "Dracula" at Whitby Abbey. The staff were very attentive. The room was small but airy, beautifully decorated with a comfortable bed. Our room was augmented by a balcony which looked over the courtyard and although we were only a few steps from a busy street, peace reigned. The staff were kind enough to store our luggage whilst we explored Whitby before catching our homebound train.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stu_denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, beautiful and clean in a perfect location!!

Definitely recommend, they have thought of everything - fresh flowers in the room, wine glasses (came in handy) and just all the touches that you don't usually get.....fab!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlesBarnHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Booked room 4 for 2 weeks & was charged 900 pounds for the stay,its a very little room. Three days into the stay my partner fell down the outside stairs as it had been raining heavily and the stairs were wet at the bottom and badly sprained her ankle, having to have hospital treatment. The next day I spoke to the girl in the shop who really didn't seem bothered at all and I bought up the fact that the stairs were wet and should be covered by something non slip but was blankly stared at, which annoyed us both. The Saturday night following were woken at 2am by a couple arguing in room 7 which lasted 3 hours with the girl constantly crying (very loudly I might add) and doors slamming constantly because they were both drunk so we decided to sit it out on the cold balcony and listen to a very poor version of Jeremy Kyle above us. We complained the next morning (as did everyone in the vicinity) and were very poorly rewarded with a bottle of wine, we were hoping for a reduction in the bill which we didn't get. A few days later we were again woken at 7am by a family had kids running around slamming doors, and them marching up and down stairs every 5 minutes packing their car, on our way that morning they had blocked the entire entrance to Sanders Yard and we made a point of remarking about it to which my partner was called 'A Cheeky @^*£$) which I didn't take too kindly too. after about 4 years of staying in Shepherds Purse we have to say that customer service isn't their strong point, and they cant get people in quick enough as soon as you've left, as we had left at 10:30am and returned to pick up our bags at 11:30am a sign was outside saying they had vacancies. After paying the huge amount of money we did we feel ripped off and we will not be returning to their premises.

Room Tip: You can hear people taking a shower at all hours. A place to stay if you like listening to loved up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in July in room 6. Lovely little room with tea and coffee in lovely china cups. Cosy atmosphere. My only criticism is that there was no mirror with easy access there was a mirror above the bed or above the bath/toilet and I don't want to stand on a bed or over a loo when I'm getting ready. The shared bathroom was fine didn't bump into anyone. Enjoyable stay and would stay again as excellent access to Whitby and for the time spent in the room when you have so much to see and do it really is a lovely romantic little base.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,090 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shepherd's Purse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherd's Purse

Property: The Shepherd's Purse
Address: The Old Workshops Sanders Yard Church Street | Whitby, North Yorkshire, Whitby YO22 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
#9 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shepherd's Purse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Accommodation in the heart of the Old Town, situated on Whitby's popular East side. Nestled below the roof tops of Church Street is our hidden garden, with galleried court yard accommodation and pretty bedrooms decorated with stripped pine furniture and lacy curtains, four posters and brass bed steads. Private balconies and china cups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Shepherd's Purse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shepherd`s Purse Hotel Whitby
Shepherds Purse Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing