We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little jewl” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Shepherd's Purse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shepherd's Purse
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A little jewl”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel/guest house and it was a very pleasant experience.
The rooms are small but delightful everything you could want.
The location is very good right in the old town it gets a thums up.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinks1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    55
    18
    14
    4
See reviews for
14
156
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed at this accommodation for 3 nights in room one(with the brass bed). It was uncomfy as it was an old fashioned sprung bed. Rooms are ok, yes small but quaint. The bath wasn't very clean. You could literally hear a pin drop so the best advice I can give is bring earplugs. The conversations we heard were intriguing and if your a private person this accommodation probably isn't the best for you. Location is great right in the heart of Whitby, you can buy a 3/4 day parking ticket at the tourist information for £15; better value than paying per day. For the money I would say there are nicer places to stay that include breakfast but as our parents were staying at sanders yard we got breakfast for £5 a head which was very nice of them. Would I stay here again? No. It's pretty overrated to be fair. Sanders yard much nicer rooms and includes breakfast for only a few pounds more.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinklady890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night and when we arrived the girl on the desk was very helpful however we arrived 2 hours early for check in and the rooms where not ready so we left our bags at the reception.Just for your Information you need to go into the Shepherds purse shop and walk to the back and they desk for the hotel is there.

We returned after walking around the centre for a while and we where taken to our rooms.We where gob smacked at how romantic and beautiful the rooms where.They where fairly small rooms but even me who is over 18 stone still felt comfortable.The rooms are perfect and for the price I was amazed we got this place!!The room had been taken care of and someone had spent a lot of time decorating and making it perfect a real woman's touch.

The hotel is centrally located and close to everything you might want to see.I would recommend everyone visits the pubs it has that real old fashioned feeling and some great ales.Whitby is not far from where I live but far enough for me to enjoy every time I visit if you are visiting from another country then defiantly visit whitby even if its just for one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNewcastleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed in the room with the white four poster bed. It was really lovely decorated, small but perfectly formed. The location is fantastic. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyLouLovesYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

we stayed in a double room for one night on a business trip in february. The young lady was very helpful on the phone and we were met with a friendly and helpful reception on arrival
the double room had the best antique brass bed we had ever seen. the room was warm and cosy and the ensuite had ample cold water. our work collegue had a room on the ground floor which was also warm and cosy on a very cold night
the location was ideal for the centre of town
PWD

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pwd1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here for one night on our retun from Edingburgh and it was a sheer delight. We had a room with a four poster bed and a corner bath. Although the room was 'compact and bijou' it was so charming we fell in love with it. The location is superb as you are on the quaintly cobbled Church Street right in front of the Abbey and surrounded by lovely shops and pubs. The shop 'Shepherds Purse' sells all sorts of lovely local cheeses, breads and deli items as well as a selection of clothes and other weird and wonderful things. Although no breakfast is included, in the courtyard in from of the accomodation is a superb tea room that serves a divine full English breakfast for approx £5. Best breakfast we'd eaten in a long time! Really recommend this place if you are looking for a location in the heart of old Whitby - no amusement arcades on this side of the river but great fish and chips a minute walk away!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzleBrizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We had a mid week break and stayed in the cottage and had breakfast in the adjacent restaurant. The cottage was clean and tidy and breakfast was excellent. The gentleman owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shepherd's Purse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shepherd's Purse

Property: The Shepherd's Purse
Address: The Old Workshops Sanders Yard Church Street | Whitby, North Yorkshire, Whitby YO22 4DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
#9 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Shepherd's Purse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Accommodation in the heart of the Old Town, situated on Whitby's popular East side. Nestled below the roof tops of Church Street is our hidden garden, with galleried court yard accommodation and pretty bedrooms decorated with stripped pine furniture and lacy curtains, four posters and brass bed steads. Private balconies and china cups. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shepherd`s Purse Hotel Whitby
Shepherds Purse Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing