We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse and Griffin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
White Horse and Griffin
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is THE best place to stay and eat in Whitby. We couldn't find anywhere else to eat that came close. The Seafood Mezze was the best meal I have every had. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Lee and Elliott who, although he hadn't started work, helped us by finding out what was in the Seafood Mezze that night. The rooms were very comfy and the character of the whole building is second to none.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJC1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    158
    61
    17
    23
See reviews for
53
315
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Spent two nights b+b here with dinner included on one of them as part of a voucher deal. Having stayed here before and loving Whitby, we were looking forward to it...but came away sadly disappointed on this occasion.
The main problems were with the room (the Mary Ann Hepworth, I think):
1. No shower and not even an attachment to wash/rinse your hair. It seemed very odd, as the ensuite bathroom was large enough for a stand-alone shower let alone a bath/shower combined and seemed to have been renovated fairly recently. I've stayed in plenty of places where there was a shower but no bath...but not the opposite.
2. Double bed but only one bedside table...so nowhere for one of a couple (guess which one!) to put phone, book, glass of water etc. Again, I've never before stayed in a double room which didn't have two bedside tables...very strange.
3. No chair in the bedroom so nowhere to sit other than on the bed.
Mentioned the first two to the extremely polite and helpful young man on reception (in fact all the staff were pretty good) and while he promised to make a note of them, he couldn't, understandably, do much to rectify the problems bar promise to pass on my remarks. He did point out that our room was the only one without a shower (which prompts the question "why?") but couldn't move us to another as the hotel was full.
One last moan about the room...our planned lie-in was disrupted by the clanking of the plumbing and splashing of you know what as the people in the room above went through their morning ablutions. An interesting experience.
Dinner was fine if not quite up to the high standards attained under previous ownership. Also the downstairs bistro room is still a brilliant eating area despite losing some of its unique atmosphere with the removal a couple of years ago of the central partition bookshelf and bar area, presumably to accommodate more tables.
Breakfast on the first morning was a low point. My kipper was badly overcooked and tough - indeed it was a struggle to get any decent flesh off it. A fellow kipper enthusiast on the next table seemed to have suffered the same fate and sympathised as he went past. "That was difficult to negotiate, wasn't it?" he whispered.
On the other hand, my wife's bacon was undercooked to the point of being raw, and she didn't dare risk a mouthful. In fact, the next day she gave breakfast a miss completely while I went for the omelette...a vast improvement on the previous day's kipper.
In summary, the WH + G is a beautiful, ancient building (17th C, I believe) in a great location, and we enjoyed our previous stay, albeit in a different room with no breakfast complaints. With that in mind, I've seriously erred on the side of generosity with a 3 star rating.
You have to accept the fact that there are steep staircases to negotiate (think twice if you've got mobility problems) and probably some very dodgy old plumbing to contend with, but the management really do need to sort out the Mary Ann Hepworth room and breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid the Mary Ann Hepworth room. Think twice if you've got mobility problems - stairs are steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barstander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Still sitting in the narrow and ancient bar after staying here overnight. Very comfy room up some steep stairs ( hey, this place is a few hundred years old). You should book a table in the restaurant - we REALLY enjoyed dining here last night, and the smoked Haddock omelette at breakfast was superb. Extremely friendly and helpful staff throughout. Would highly recommend this place.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just come back from a two night stay in this quaint old coaching house. The food was superb and the staff very friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is very old and has lots of stairs. It was charming with exposed beams and inglenook fireplaces and range. Our room was warm and compact. The hotel was a little difficult to find as it has a small frontage on a cobbled street. There is on site parking but parking is available in a council car park 500 yards away at £6.50 per day very reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We were pleased to stay in The Discovery Room at the top of the house and enjoy the views out over Whitby and watch the seagull on it's nest close by on a chimney pot. The room was well furnished, with some period items and luxury soft carpet, good sized TV, 2 very comfortable sofas, lots of hanging space, en suite bath room and a spare bedroom too. We enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant with first class food. The place is conveniently close to the rest of Whitby and would recommend a stay.

Room Tip: If you are ok with stairs we recommend the Discovery Room - wonderful views out over Whitby from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sabHull_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Mostly the staff were very friendly and helpfull. We booked the room in the attic but on viewing found it to be somewhat clostophobic and were relocated to the Warrior Queen Room. Our first impression is that the new owners have refurbished on a budget and paid very little attention to detail in the overal appearance of the general decoration and furnishings. Firstly the door carpet trim was loose, this was however fixed and the following day became loose again when asked for it to be repaired again the complaint was not received graciously as at this point we could not close our door, it was fixed yet again. The mattress protection on the bed was bizare as apparently they did not have a spare double mattress protector so therefore had put two sngle protectors across the bed, when asked this was changed. The room was at the back over the kitchen and we could hear the kitchen fan which was in a boxed area in the bedroom which was off putting but got used to the noise. The bathroom was very compact and did not have a wall mounted shower, the window was permanently open and unable to close with a blind that was unable to be raised. The cooked breakfast was cold and nothing special, although the following morning ordered the omlette which was good and hot. We did eat in the resturant and enjoyed our meal from the limited menu although it was rather expensive. Overal stay was below average mainly due to the room we were staying in the poor facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Right the first thing I should say from the outset is that I won a night b&b so stayed totally free of charge and have debated whether or not I should review at all.

That said being an avid trip advisee I felt like I should still review the stay. I will review the evening meal separately as we did pay for that.

Firstly. So pleased to win a free night but secondly what an historic venue, full of charm and character. The building is I believe over 400 years old so is indeed forgiven for the odd creaky floorboard and squeaky pipe. We stayed in helga Maria (front facing) which was a lovely room with very comfy bed and crisp bed linen. Tea and coffee provided (in abundance) so no having to get supplies topped up. The only gripe a bath instead of a shower however I know that other rooms have a proper shower and again a freebie night so rightly we enjoyed what we were given. Being front facing I found that the room was ever so slightly noisy, tho my hubby wasn't disturbed at all so possibly more due to personal sleeper preference. Breakfast was served In the lovely first floor dining rooms, if I'm honest and I had been a paying guest I would have been annoyed at the breakfast wait. When breakfast arrived it was tasty but nothing spectacular.
Would I stay again and pay next time? Yes indeed I would.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesska92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
#14 of 20 in Whitby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse and Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse and Griffin

Property: White Horse and Griffin
Address: 87 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse and Griffin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse & Griffin is an almost 450 year old Coaching Inn, the first built in Whitby to serve the route to London. Operating these days as a Restaurant with Rooms it is situated on an unspoilt cobbled shambles near the base of Whitby's famous 199 Abbey Steps. The building is technically on 3 floors but is actually on 7 different levels. It boasts 10 unique and quirky bedrooms full of history and character. The walls are bumpy, the stairs are narrow and the ceilings are low. The Bistro/ Restaurant is cosy and heated by an open fire. The food is outstanding with the signature dishes (such as the Seafood Meze for 2 & the Fillet Sharing Platter) saying much about the place - great quality, great quantity, designed for sharing and, as with much in life, you get what you are prepared to pay for. The WH&G is best suited to couples and groups who want to get away, eat great food, drink good wine, meet new people, join in with the atmosphere and then retire to a hand-made bed with a hand stuffed mattress to regroup before a chef-cooked breakfast. As well as a comprehensive English Breakfast choices in the morning also include Fortune's Kippers, Smoked Haddock, Kedgeree, Scrambles, Omlettes, Fresh Fruits and Honeyed Porridge. A major benefit is that the heart of unspoiled North Yorkshire and its Coast is outside the front door in either walking or steam train distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your White Horse and Griffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse And Griffin Hotel Whitby
White Horse And Griffin Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing