We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Horse and Griffin
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay at this hotel, this was a special weekend for me, my birthday, our anniversary and also valentines treat, I've left feeling disappointed.
The room was a little grubby, but giving the age could be overlooked, I requested a double room and had two single beds, not a massive problem but wasn't what we wanted, then came our first morning breakfast..... Sat and waited fifteen minutes for order to be taken as to which another couple was served before us that walked straight in, I had to ask for a cup of tea three times, my partners order was wrong, our toast was freezing, when I finally got tea I had to wait till the man returned to get milk to which he got a milk jug off a previously used table that had floaters in, not nice !! We didn't have breakfast the second morning, instead went and paid for breakfast at a local cafe,
Ideally located but that's about it !!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisaxlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    177
    67
    18
    26
See reviews for
61
346
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay at the WH&G. Really enjoyable stay, the 2 night midweek deal included a 2 course meal on the first night. The meal exceeded our expectations, service was very efficient and the food was inventive seasonal and well executed. We chose the rack of lamb with a lamb suet pudding and the turbot on a bed of oxtail bolognese, both were superb! The hotel rooms are clean and adequate, overall a very enjoyable stay. Special mention to the member of staff who greeted us on our arrival, served our evening meal and following breakfast, extremely efficient and professional!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank montbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed at weekend with 2 other couples for 1 nights Dinner,B &B. A very pleasant experience. All staff very friendly. Room quirky (the place is over 300 yrs old) but good. Food excellent.

Only minor gripe is the waiting staff, although very friendly, need a little training in attentiveness e.g. getting food order right, clearing plates, asking if every thing is alright and lastly how to pour wine (do not fill to the brim!). Quick training session would soon put that right. All in all a good night and morning and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A group of around 16 of us visited here for sunday lunch, we had a room to ourselfs which was great as we had small children except there was glass on the floor, after informing the staff they quickly cleared it up.
The waitress got our food order wrong and and my husband ended up with a childs portion of roast pork! Everyone said the food was fantastic, I had the beef which I asked for rare and it was beautifully cooked with lovely vegetables and yorkshire pudding.
Our bill was incorrect as there were two extra meals added but this was rectified after we brought it to the attention of our waitress.
Drinks were over priced in my opinion which took the shine off it a little, £1.50 for a coke?
Overall though it was nice and we would probably visit again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadeycat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staithes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

On Sunday we had a table for 4 in the restaurant and was expecting something special. Unfortunately the meal of roast pork dinner was fairly tasteless, yorkshire puddings flat and the potatoes dry. The desert of granny smiths whatever was nothing special with apple and a small dollop of ice cream. The service was also a big let down. The waitress only took 3 orders and we had to remind her there were 4 of us. She never smiled once and didn't give us any sort of welcome. When asked for sauces we got horse radish but the apple sauce never turned up. We regularly go out to various restaurants around the Whitby Guisborough area and I can honestly say that this one was average at best. Very over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MACKEMLAD W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normanby
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family of 10 have booked breakfast here for the last 11 years on New Years Eve to celebrate my birthday, and year on year have looked forward to, and enjoyed the tasty food and excellent service. We will not be taking our custom here again after this year. The service was poor at best. Due to the lack of organisation we were made to feel uncomfortable in having to ask for juice, cereal, butter, more toast (2 slices were served - between 10 of us!), more tea (one small pot was served between 8 of us as 2 opted for coffee), which, on having to ask again, were informed, "sorry we're waiting for the boiler to warm up". We were eventually served our breakfast, (after being asked, "would you like to see the menu before you order?!!!!!"). Breakfast eventually was served. Cold. To add insult to injury, none of the staff had the decency to ask even once, if everything was ok. If you're looking for somewhere with tasty food in a relaxed and chilled out atmosphere then avoid this place at all costs. Fawlty Towers could do better! Your loss White Horse! We will not be visiting you again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cartier51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

What a lovely meal. The food was excellent along with the service. Candle on table, open log fire made this a very special evening meal for us. Will certainly recommend this restaurant to all our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,020 reviews
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,114 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse and Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse and Griffin

Property: White Horse and Griffin
Address: 87 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse and Griffin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse & Griffin is an almost 450 year old Coaching Inn, the first built in Whitby to serve the route to London. Operating these days as a Restaurant with Rooms it is situated on an unspoilt cobbled shambles near the base of Whitby's famous 199 Abbey Steps. The building is technically on 3 floors but is actually on 7 different levels. It boasts 10 unique and quirky bedrooms full of history and character. The walls are bumpy, the stairs are narrow and the ceilings are low. The Bistro/ Restaurant is cosy and heated by an open fire. The food is outstanding with the signature dishes (such as the Seafood Meze for 2 & the Fillet Sharing Platter) saying much about the place - great quality, great quantity, designed for sharing and, as with much in life, you get what you are prepared to pay for. The WH&G is best suited to couples and groups who want to get away, eat great food, drink good wine, meet new people, join in with the atmosphere and then retire to a hand-made bed with a hand stuffed mattress to regroup before a chef-cooked breakfast. As well as a comprehensive English Breakfast choices in the morning also include Fortune's Kippers, Smoked Haddock, Kedgeree, Scrambles, Omlettes, Fresh Fruits and Honeyed Porridge. A major benefit is that the heart of unspoiled North Yorkshire and its Coast is outside the front door in either walking or steam train distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your White Horse and Griffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse And Griffin Hotel Whitby
White Horse And Griffin Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing