We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Cosy Cottage”
other traveler has booked this property
Chapel Cottage large family lounge with ample seating and big squishy cushions and gas stove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Chapel Cottage large family lounge with ample seating and big squishy cushions and gas stove
Chapel Cottage Exterior 10 minutes walk to the lovely beach Chapel Cottage back garden with patio furniture for barbacue's and a lovely glass of wine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
47 reviews
Chapel Cottage large family lounge with ample seating and big squishy cushions and gas stove
Chapel Cottage Exterior 10 minutes walk to the lovely beach
Chapel Cottage back garden with patio furniture for barbacue's and a lovely glass of wine
Chapel Cottage large country dinning kitchen seats 4, over looking the cottage garden
Chapel Cottage large country dinning kitchen seats 4, over looking the cottage garden
Gas Flamed fire for those snuggly nights on the sofa
Chapel  Cottage ground floor bathroom staircase leading to double…
Chapel Cottage Super King with canopy and abundance of cushions
Chapel Double Bedroom with relaxing Chaise Lounge
Adult sized bunk beds
Lots of cuddles for these lovely bears
Newly fitted fully tiled  bathroom suite with Shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tyra S
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Chapel Cottage We've had a fantastic long weekend away at chapel cottage, everything was clean & welcoming with the milk and central heating already on, so it was lovely and toasty when we arrived. We have stayed here before and every time we come back it's better than before. The new bathroom was great especially the shower and the television in the bedroom was great too. Free wifi was a definate plus. Just a short walk from Robin Hood's Bay where we spent the day crabbing and enjoyed a coffee in one of the lovely cafes. All in all it was another wonderful stay and we already can't wait to book to come again Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was superb couldnt ask for more
Liked least: we can honestly say there was nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 19, 2015
Hello Tyra
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We always like to welcome our returning guests. Very pleased that you have had yet another great stay. Hope to welcome you back soon

Sue Crosbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hap57
1 review
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed October 13, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Lovely cottage, well situated, very comfortable. Beautiful scenery a short drive away overlooking Robin Hoods Bay and further afield along the coast and up on the moors. Very nice pub across the road.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2015
Hello Heather
Thank you very much for your kind comments. Much appreciated

kind regards

Loraine
Team Bumblewick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittykat4...
England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning cottage & stunning location”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We arrived early evening after a 3 hour drive from Cumbria. The owners have thought of everything to make arrival so welcoming. No need to hang around waiting for someone to let you in, we received an email en route with the key codes for both front and rear door (what an excellent idea) entering the lounge the owners had left a lamp on for us
which was a welcome touch - lounge just like the picture, tasteful and keeping with the cottage. Kitchen is beautifully done and again the owner arranged for fresh milk to be in the fridge along with a small supply of tea and coffee to get you started. Bathroom lovely (shower excellent/powerful) and I have to say the owner has the heating set so it is comfortable (quite often rentals can be cold with no means of increasing heat) - we found this cottage was warm throughout our stay. Bedrooms
Lovely. Bonus that owner will except well behaved pooches because our westies loved their holiday too. This is an excellent base to explore RHB being only a 15 minute walk away and for shops Whitby is literally a 10 min car journey and you pass a Sainsburys on the way. There is a corner shop literally around the corner for provisions too. All in all we had a fab time, so peaceful having a drink of tea sat in the back garden listening to birds singing. We will most definitely return to this cottage.

cottage has a lovely blend of old and new,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2015
Hello Lindsay

I would have to say that your review is exactly what we work to achieve. Thank you.

Robert,Sue,Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyCBrown
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal cottage for a diverse holiday, cosy with everything we needed”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fabulous week, the cottage was the perfect size for our needs. The kitchen and bathroom are both good sizes and the kitchen is well kitted out which was excellent. I found the bed in the main bedroom really comfy. Our dog loved being there too and settled quickly.
It is cosy but that was part of the attraction; we were all together in the living room playing board games etc which was fun.

It is in a fabulous location; near a wonderful pub with great food (10 seconds away!), asy 15 minute walk to Robin hoods bay along the road or through fields, far enough away from all the hustle and bustle of Whitby and other more touristy places but near enough to be able to visit places easily by car. Good walks are to be had nearby too- we loved May beck to Falling Foss ( we swam beneath the fall).
We would go back as it was a relaxing and enjoyable experience, an easy holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, ambience of property.
Liked least: Floors need a good wash, socks got dirty easily!
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2015
Really pleased you had a fabulous week. We can't book the weather for you but we try hard where we can! Thank for taking the time to comment Robert.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donsmoll8...
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy & well kept cottage - didn't want to leave!!”
Reviewed September 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at Chapel Cottage for 4 nights and wish it could have been longer. Cottage is very cosy and the kind of place you'd love to come back to after a day of activities and exploring the area. Excellent size with pristine, top quality kitchen and bathroom (especially loved the large cubicle shower with massive shower head!!!), gorgeous cosy living room with stunning brick fireplace and two couches which was great for me and my boyfriend to both be able to lounge around after our days out (a lot of cottages have terrible seating arrangements/one couch) and the double bedroom was also cosy with beautiful fireplace, chaise longue and lovely decor. Also enjoyed the rear garden when it was sunny and warm.

We would definitely love to stay at Chapel Cottage again in the future. Ideal location for Whitby, Scarborough and Robin Hoods Bay, and the pub close by serves excellent food.

Thank you for a perfect stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy living room and shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
We are absolutely delighted with your review and the fact that you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for the kind words and we hope you have the opportunity of staying with us again. Kind Regards Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaynewo
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We felt like we had died and gone to Heaven!”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the moment we entered this cottage we were really impressed, it is kitted out with the utmost taste and had everything we could possibly want and some we did not realise we did, such as the Chaise Logue in the bedroom, not to mention the Kingsize bed and beautiful bedding. We were blessed with the weather and came home with fantastic tans a real unexpected bonus from a week in Yorkshire. Robin Hood's Bay is fascinating and such a lovely place to stay and as for the Pub opposite the cottage, we have never had such good pub food anywhere and ended up eating there almost every night, which is unheard of for us as we are people that like to go diferent places to eat, but there just seemed little point when we had such a lovely dining experience right on our doorstep. There are opportunities for some lovely walking locally and we walked the coastal path to Whitby one day which was really enjoyable and not too challenging. Whitby is beautiful too and well worth a visit. All in all a perfect stay - thank you so much.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2015
Hello Jayne
Thank you for your kind comments. I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Hope you welcome you back soon

Robert, Sue & Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryngi...
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect, a real home from home”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We had a fab weekend stay at Chapel Cottage, very cosy and comfy it was a pleasure to return home at the end of each day, our dog loved it too! We explored the local area, the local pub does great food and is 200 m away. It is a short walk to Robin Hood Bay and there is plenty to do in the local area. We will certainly be back again soon.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2015
Hello Kate,
Glad you all had a lovely time and managed to visit the local area. I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Sue - Team Bumblewick x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing