We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Blackbird Cottage Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Blackbird Cottage Exterior
Blackbird Cottage traditional front appearance overlooking quiet country lane Blackbird Cottage compact country kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
Blackbird Cottage Exterior
Blackbird Cottage traditional front appearance overlooking quiet country lane
Blackbird Cottage compact country kitchen
Blackbird Cottage compact country kitchen
Blackbird cottage dinning room conservatory seat 6
Blackbird Cottage snug cosy lounge with abundance of reading books
Blackbird Cottage snug cosy lounge with abundance of reading books
Blackbird Cottage ground floor bathroom
Blackbird Cottage ground floor bathroom staircase leading to double bedroom
Blackbird Cottage romantic double bedroom
Blackbird Cottage light and airy twin loft bedroom
Blackbird Cottage side garden with patio furniture
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
patchy106...
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a weeks stay at blackbird cottage , what a little gem this is , everything and more of what you need a real home from home ,very comfortable , only few miles from Whitby , but far enough for peace and tranquility . So much to do in area ,you will have trouble fitting it all in , had an amazing steam train journey from Pickering to Whitby stopping at goathland ( hogs mead station for all you Harry Potter fans ) and just up the hill the fictional village of Aidan's field where heartbeat was filmed brilliant loved it . Also was very pleasantly surprised with Scarborough and fell in love with Robin Hoods bay spectacular . We also took our 2 year old wire fox terrier Stanley who really enjoyed his stay . So yes I think we will be returning soon , Thank you all at Bumblewick cottages , great end to my 50th birthday celebrations ☺️ X ps husband enjoyed all the cycling ,doing climbs featured in tour de Yorkshire

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 4, 2016
Hello Karen
I think your husband did very well doing the climbs of the Tour De Yorkshire! Glad you enjoyed your stay

Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JaneTheOl...
Rainow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a cottage - and a perfect few days in North Yorkshire”
Reviewed June 4, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Blackbird cottage was just perfect for our long weekend near Whitby. The village of Irburndale is beautiful - and we were delighted to find this pretty cottage nestled down a short country lane. Everything was as described on the Bumblewick Cottages website. We particularly liked the dining room off the kitchen - table laid for our arrival. The main bedroom was lovely too - and the bed very comfortable. Our teenagers had the twin room on the floor above - it too was beautifully presented.
We ate in the village pub one evening - friendly staff and good pub food (a steep walk up the hill on the way there; preferred walk home!). A pretty river ran through the village - our dog enjoyed her daily riverside walk.
Had a great morning at Malton Food Festival and kids enjoyed canoeing on the River Eske.
Wished we had been able to stay longer. Only disappointment was the early closing of fish and chip shops in the area!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cosiness
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2016
Hello Jane
Thank you for your fabulous review,we really do appreciate you ta
king the time to review. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Robert Crosbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette H
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely quaint cottage in quiet lication.”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Blackbird Cottage is a perfect base for exploring some of the nearby beaches. The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable. The Bumblewick cottage staff were very friendly and helpful. We visited with our two dogs and enjoyed visiting Whitby and Robin Hood bay, which are both only a 10 min drive from the cottage. Time flew by as it was only a short stay but we enjoyed dog friendly beach walks and yummy fish and chips in Robin hood Bay. It is a beautiful coast line and will hopefully visit again soon for more exploring.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2016
Goathland is also 10 minutes away and dog walks in that area are very good. Very glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodison
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy, cosy and looking forward to returning”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in this super cosy cottage for three nights in September. We chose it for its location nicely situated nearby Whitby, Robin Hood's Bay and the moors, and also because it was a pet friendly cottage so we could bring our dog along for the ride.

The cottage was brilliant, with a fully equipped kitchen and a comfortable living room (with a beautiful log burner which would have been nice to use if it had been a chilly weekend). The bed was really comfortable, and with the area being really quiet, I slept like a log! We were warned previously of a lack of shower because of the poor water pressure, but this just meant it was a good excuse for a long soak in the hot bath (we even brought bubbles!).

To top it all off, there was even milk in the fridge when we arrived so we could immediately relax with a brew. Look forward to visiting again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 29, 2015
Hello Heather & Craig

It is a lovely location. Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your very kind comments. Hope to welcome you back soon

Robert, Sue, Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark2270
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed February 24, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage was great, so central and very cosy, perfect if you also have dogs as gardens great plenty of space. Cottage itself has every thing you need, great location to Whitby and robin hood bay, well worth a stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cosiness
Liked least: Shower not very good
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 2, 2015
Hello Mark

Very pleased that you have an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your very kind comments. Hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Loraine Shelton
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BumblesF
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this cottage with our friends, their 18 month old daughter and both of our dogs for New Year.

We felt the cottage was in a great location, was warm (the gas stove was fantastic), clean and well equipped.

We went on lots of beach walks with the dogs, found supermarkets nearby and walked up to the Plough pub which was also great.

We were in the twin room and due to the style of the cottage there was no door which meant we could hear everything happening throughout the rest of the house so we didn't have the best sleep but understand this is not something that could be easily resolved.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2015
Hello Sam
I think you must have found some of the local places that we do when we stop there. It is a lovely location. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorraine...
Hedon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay..”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our weekend stay...
Warm and cosy peaceful all round lovely place to stay..
Was lovely clean and welcoming ..

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2014
Hello Duncan & Lorraine

Thank you very much for your very kind comments. Much appreciated we are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay. Hope to welcome you back soon.

Robert,Sue Crosbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing