We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, warm, cosy & dog friendly.”
other travelers have booked this property
Wren Cottage Exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wren Cottage Exterior
Wren cottage Characterful country kitchen Wren Cottage characterful Country Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Wren Cottage Exterior
Wren cottage Characterful country kitchen
Wren Cottage characterful Country Kitchen
Wren Cottage snug cosy lounge with gas stove and with Laura Ashley furnishings
Wren Cottage large country cottage double bedroom with Super kingsize bed
Wren Cottage large country cottage double bedroom with Super kingsize bed
Wren Cottage Cosy Double Bedroom with Laura Ashley furnishings
Wren Cottage traditional ground floor shower room with rain head shower
Wren Cottage traditional ground floor shower room with rain head shower
Wren Cottage Rear Spacious Garden
Wren Cottage rear leading up to a large spacious garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lizzy0114
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Comfortable, warm, cosy & dog friendly.”
Reviewed February 27, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Excellent service. Clean, warm, comfortable little cottage. Lovely little garden. Very dog friendly as was the area. Was surprised that so many places accepted dogs especially in Whitby. Good spot between Whitby & Robin Hoods Bay with good local walks also. Good old fashioned pub within walking distance in Sleights, The Plough, which takes dogs. Bit of a walk uphill there. Good home cooked pub food & very friendly. Also liked the Wayfarers bistro in RHB & Fylingdale Inn. No shower, but we took a shower attachment which worked well. Excellent for 2 people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2014
Hello Lizzy

Thank you very much for your comments. Much appreciated. I am very pleased that you had a comfortable stay.

Kind regards

Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jo W
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of North Yorkshire!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage. We took a short break for new year at Wren Cottage, and it was perfect. This is a period, terraced cottage within the tiny village of Iburndale, but without many of the foibles of a period cottage. Many of the windows were double glazed, the central heating was very effective - and such a nice touch for the cottage to be warm and lit at the point of arrival! The period features - beams in the kitchen, fireplace, and exposed floorboards were all lovely, and well kept. Everything was nice and clean, too, especially the kitchen.

The cottage is very well equipped - additional to the TV there is a DVD player and a small collection of DVDS; a CD player (plus CDs); the utility room comes with a washer/dryer and dishwasher - the latter was very well received by my partner! There were also a number of board games. There was no internet at the cottage; however this was not a problem. There is a mobile phone signal, though my o2 signal was a little inconsistent, no doubt due to the bad weather. The only thing missing, in my opinion, is a shower, though it was lovely to have a soak, and I would say it wouldn't be an easy job to install a shower in the property. Additionally of interest to those with children or pets, the cottage is fitted with a number of safety gates.

On the first night we had a couple of snags - a recent power cut seemed to have broken the Freesat box, but Robert, the owner, made a trip up especially on the Monday before New Year to repair this, while also fixing some lighting that hadn't worked (but had not been noticed). We were especially appreciative of this service, which I felt was above and beyond the expectation. Throughout the service has been polite, and very helpful.

Location-wise, it is great. Up the hill in Sleights there are a few shops - as we were there over New Year, only the Spar shop was open, so I can't comment on the other shops. Whitby was around 15 minutes' drive away, but there are plenty more places to see. It is worth noting that all pay and display car parks in places like Staithes, Robin Hood's Bay, etc. are free until March, so my tip would be to take advantage of this and visit the smaller villages and beaches on the cheap. Also, if you're in Whitby and fish and chips are your thing, go to The Magpie chippie - no queuing for ages for a table, and you're getting decent cod and chips for around £7 per portion. Not the cheapest, but it was good.

Back to Wren Cottage, I would absolutely stay there again, and would happily consider staying at any of the other cottages owned by Robert. It was a wonderful home away from home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The massive bed, and the effective central heating!
Liked least: Lack of shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2014
You, like us, find the area fantastic for a visit and It really can be a real breath of fresh air. Your comments are very kind and really just what we strive to achieve. If our guests have a good holiday we are happy and hopefully they tell others. Thank you very much for your comments.
Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewed November 14, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 14, 2013
Hello Tyra & Luke

Pleased that you enjoyed your returning visit.

Kind regards

Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Annette S
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“almost heaven”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Just got back from wren cottage and what can i say, never felt so chilled out for a long long time, excellent little cottage just perfect for me, hubby and 3 dogs, the garden is the most ideal place for my boys(dogs) to run about and be completley safe.
opened the front door to fresh flowers, local newspaper, and milk in fridge!!!!!
such a warm cottage never felt cold at all even after a full day out walking with the boys, came back to a very deep bath n gallons of hot water, many thanks for letting us stay at this little gem called wren we all loved it, will be back in march, n cant wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it all except no shower
Liked least: not having a shower was a let down, but managable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2013
Hello Annette

Thank you very much for your feedback. This is greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in march.

Kind regards

Robert, Sue & Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Reviewed September 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 5, 2013
Hello Tracey

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am very pleased you had a comfortably stay and returned home de-stressed. We Will look forward to your return next year.

Kind regards

Loraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carlisle
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2013
Hello Lindsay

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Very much appreciated, I am very pleased that you had a good stay and that kara enjoyed the garden.

Kind regards

Loraine Shelton
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barnsley
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2013
Hello Mr & Mrs Waterton

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Very much appreciated. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards

Loraine Shelton
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing