We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whitby Weekend was Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chiltern Guest House
Ranked #58 of 154 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We couldn't have picked a better weekend for the gorgeous weather to see Whitby. We were 4 couples having a break away and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There to greet us as we arrived was the lovely John & Jools who felt like family without ever having met them. They really do go that extra mile to make you feel welcome and give you all the information you need to make for a wonderful stay. The rooms were nicely decorated and clean and the breakfast was all freshly prepared and tasted delicious. We would highly recommend this delightful B&B where nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyLeicester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 177 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

We have just returned from a three night break at the Chiltern Guest House. From the moment that we arrived we were made most welcome by the landlady Jools, just like meeting an old friend. Lots of advice on where to visit and places to eat. Our room was fine with a huge comfortable bed. Great breakfasts, big choice and freshly cooked to order. Jools creates a friendly relaxed atmosphere that permeates to the guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were greeted by the lovely Jools who gave me a massive hug on arrival. Check in was easy & we were very happy with our rooms - the bed was massive & very comfy, if it wasn't for the breakfast the next day we wouldn't have got up!!
Jools gave us advice on where to go for places to eat, we decided on the Moon & Sixpence and we were very pleased with the recommendation.
John cooked us a lovely breakfast & he obliged with my special requests, very tasty food.
I have zero complaints or niggles about The Chiltern, and wouldn't be able to find any even if I had to try. I can't wait to come back and visit & I can't wait to see John & Jools again,
I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Kirsty J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Just returned from a short stay at the chiltern, really enjoyed the stay. Staff were very welcoming and could not do enough for you. The room we stayed in was double ensuite it was very well presented and clean. Most enjoyable and very recomendable.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamspencer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

amasing place to stay for my 30th birthday celebrations. we filled the place from top to bottom. what a weekend made extra special by jools and john. will be back again and again and again. lovd it loved it loved it!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toni526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed one night on a spur of the moment trip to Whitby. Arrived to a very warm welcome,room was clean modern and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent.we have stayed at many b and b s in Whitby, and this is by far the best , will definetly return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenjul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

i stop in october,the hotel was full with only a single room left,i needed a room for two males,jools offered me the double room next door but one,ok it was lucky it was good weather as we had to walk up the road for breakfast,but it was all woth it for the room was a delight,jools is a nice lady who gives everyone a warm welcome with a hug,i had a tear in my eye when i left she was like yer mum,when we first got there she took us to our room,showing us how everything works,nothing was to much trouble,,she can be contacted 24hrs so i sleept well ,its only 10mins walk to the harbour,we went for the vintage bus trip to gothland opperated by coatal buses,the village is known for "heartbeat"well woth the visit,we was blest with good weather,only problem was parking,but give the chilten a try.

Room Tip: we had a front downstairs room although on the main road it was so quiet all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyeden32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 19 in Whitby
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 19 in Whitby
1,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#19 of 154 in Whitby
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#45 of 154 in Whitby
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiltern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Guest House

Address: 13 Normanby Terrace | West Cliff, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: $81 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiltern Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Chiltern Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing