We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good Hotel .”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really Good Hotel .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here a couple of weeks back for just one night with friends . They have stayed numerous times but this was our first . In the previous weekends before we had stayed at The Feversham Arms in Helmsley and at The Cedar Court Grand in York which is Yorks only 5* hotel . I have to say that this is the best of the lot , and nearly half the cost . We stayed in the main hotel part overlooking the garden in a room with its own balcony . It was spotless and fitted out with the best quality items . I didn't do the spa thing but my wife did and said it was brilliant . We didn't have dinner there but we did have breakfast . This was a top notch start to the day .
We will definitely return again as we do feel like we have had value for money .
Excellent .

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sunworshiper76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,273
    388
    188
    73
    22
See reviews for
274
1,262
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Friendly staff, gorgeous location, amazing spa treatments. Deff innately recommend! I took my boyfriend for his birthday, we made full use of swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. Also had spa treatments massage and facial. The bar opened late and the gardens were beautiful. We had an amazing stay and the staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylviaharrygeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

There are many hotels calling themselves 5 stars because of the various extra bits and bobs on offer - however this is truly a 5 star hotel because the staff go out of their way to make it so.
We would truly have loved to stay a whole week to totally relax and enjoy the amazing breakfasts, beautiful location, and general facilities.
Raithwaite Hall managed that difficult balance of a warm and welcoming ambiance, but is spotlessly clean.
The staff are superb, respectful but incredibly friendly and totally happy to make sure you enjoy your stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I spent a wonderful midweek break at the Raithwaite
The rooms were of a good standard, comfortable bed, a large bathroom with large bath and separate walk in shower and nicely furnished.
We did not use the spa as the weather was beautiful so we walked part of the Cleveland Way which was easily accessed from the hotel. The hotel is situated in easy reach of the lovely sandy beach which we walked on to Whitby and back again. Sandsend itself is a small pretty place within easy walking distance from the hotel.
We ate in the restaurant both evenings and were served by friendly professional staff and the food was of a high standard as was the breakfast which we ate in the conservatory overlooking the beautiful gardens.
This is our third stay at the hotel and each time we have been we have seen the estate developing.
We will be back to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyt0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, Leeds
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Visited the hotel for 1 night in The Keep which is a newer part of the hotel and I think it's one of the best hotel's I have ever stayed in. The staff were amazing, hotel was immaculate, the rooms were spacious and the spa facilities were very relaxing. We were escorted to and from the main hall which is literally 2 minutes away in either a golf buggy or a rolls royce (very luxurious). Breakfast was fab too, we had a choice of everything from cereal to a full english. Would definitely stay here again, its definitely worth the price we paid!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbumby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We know this area well and have watched this hotel develop so were keen to try it for a special occasion. The setting is fabulous but the building work and grounds are not yet finished - not a problem in itself, but the feeling of 'not quite there yet' continues into the whole experience.
Much has been said in previous reviews about the staff, and whilst they are all lovely and friendly, the service is just not up to standard.
We were given a named waiter at dinner, and to begin with he filled glasses and fussed around, but then neither he nor the manager or maitre'd who were floating around noticed that we'd waited an hour and a quarter between starter and main course - when we asked where it was we were told it had been forgotten and would be 10 minutes, only to then wait 25. By this time we were low on wine and water but no got offer to reorder. We were then offered dessert menus that didn't come and had to be re-requested after 15 minutes, and coffees to come with dessert came well after. We were even billed for a random 'crème de menthe' (really?) that we didn't have. The food was average - soup was tasteless (nutmeg promised, not delivered), steaks underweight and overcooked (if mine had been 227g it may have been rare as requested, as it was only 6oz it was medium at best), triple cooked chips were French fries, arctic roll was just nasty, and devoid of its roasted fig companion. Additionally DBB guests are annexed into the conservatory off the main, gentlemans club styled dining room, a draughty, soulless, semi subterranean place, with cane seating, no table cloths, walls with space for pictures but none, and a bizarre twigs, fairy lights and model animal display over the windows - not fine dining by a long stretch.

After over 3 hours trapped in this dining room farce (which we laughed about at the time) we retired to the room, which was large and well appointed, with a very comfortable bed. But we obviously weren't meant to enjoy sleeping in it, as the room was located next to the staff stairwell and linen cupboard, which someone seemed to need to use until at least 1.30am, and slam shut every time. But the real noise kicked off at 9, when the area directly outside the (ill-fitting) door became the central hub of housekeeping activity - there was a walkie-talkie going, instructions about who was cleaning where being shouted along the corridor - they even started hoovering. They might as well have been in the room with us, it was so far from relaxing it was no longer funny. I'm just so pleased we hadn't paid the extra for post 11am checkout!
So, when asked at checkout (in the lobby which is far too small, and was even more chaotic than our corridor, with 5 staff behind a counter for 2 all elbowing each other) if we'd had a relaxing stay I started to explain, but as the manager was one of the five and was trying to take a telephone booking at the time (why?), I was told he would come back to me. They couldn't then get rid of us fast enough (the lobby was full to bursting by then and Basil, sorry Ben, was going purple), and having broken the one card machine, I didn't even get a proper receipt. Needless to say, nobody did come back to me, hence the review shared here.
At over £300 this was a very expensive mistake - Raithwaite is punching well above its weight and needs to get the basics sorted before its ever going to be the place it's aspiring to be. If you want a nice break in Whitby you'd be far better off in one of the nice boutique hotels where they leave you in peace until checkout, and trying one of the restaurants where the produce really is as good as its described. Could do a lot better.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you 307 or 308 - they are next to the staff staircase and linen cupboard and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The staff are very attentive and friendly, without being over the top. They were especially good with the our children (who are three and five), engaging with them and making them feel welcome. We stayed in one of the cottages which was immaculate and "done" to a very high standard. It was great to have the facilities of the cottage whilst being able to enjoy the hotel catering. The breakfast is outstanding with locally sourced ingredients and the honeycomb is a real highlight! As is the eggs florentine. There are lovely walks out from the estate, as well as good running routes and pretty gardens. We used the spa for some family swim time and really enjoyed it. We had a fantastic time in this beautiful setting, and were so well looked after by the staff. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicjwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#16 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Property: Raithwaite Estate
Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing