We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish Country Retreat by the Sea”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stylish Country Retreat by the Sea”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a true country hotel. Set in stunning North Yorkshire countryside by the sea at Whitby. The rooms finished to very high specification, no expense spared, they have certainly put a lot of investment in this old country house, cottages, out buildings and gardens.

The landscaping is very clever, the gardens are built on several levels with a charming lake and moat stream. The gardens were still in flower at the beginning of winter, very well kept.

This is a place of you want high quality and enjoy the peace of country and sea.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is nice, lovely to sit out and watch the birds,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickenliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,289
    390
    188
    74
    23
See reviews for
275
1,279
14
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous stay at the Raithwaite. The room, facilities, spa, bar and restaurant were all 1st class. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was on the third floor and very private. Breakfast in the conservatory was lovely and we enjoyed a circular walk to Sandsend, fantastic views.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 20, 2013

There was 12 of us ladies stayed at the hotel last Saturday as part of an organised work colleagues trip. I had a great staff member called Eleanor who I dealt with all the time in the 7 month build up to our stay. We had a deal which was bed, breakfast and 3 course evening meal with use of the spa during our stay. We all started off there at 12 o'clock with afternoon tea in a private room where we were looked after by the lovely Jordan, we then headed down to the spa to use the facilites (8 of us had treatments in the spa which were wonderful). We then had an evening meal in the restaurant and again were looked after by a lovely staff member Kevin. The 3 course meal included in our deal was amazing. The breakfast the next morning was also amazing, sitting in the conservatory was just so relaxing and a nice end to our stay. Our experience of this 5 star hotel was second to none and I would recomend it to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I enjoyed two separate stays here in October. On the first visit my daughter and I shared an executive room and on the second visit another daughter, a friend and I shared a family suite. Both rooms were in the main building which I requested at the time of booking. On both occasions we arrived early prepared to 'amuse ourselves' until our room was ready but were shown immediately to our rooms. Both rooms were delightful, well equipped, very modern and spotlessly clean. We found all of the staff to be very friendly, efficient and professional. We enjoyed meals in the restaurant and in the bar, including afternoon tea and had no complaints about any of it, the food was good and the staff efficient and attentive without being pushy. We had spa treatments on both stays and thought the facilities excellent for the size of the hotel - again everything was spotless. Breakfast in the conservatory was a real treat, the food was excellent with plenty of choice and the view of the beautiful gardens was very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed with Raithwaite Hall in October 13 as part of two couples for a 50th Birthday celebration. The first impression of the hotel from the drive up from Sandsend is very good. We checked into reception and staff were very friendly. The atmosphere was relaxing and laid back. We only booked 2 clubrooms but these were really good and comfortable. We didn't spend much time in the hotel during the day as we left to go on the Pulman Dining Train, so we didn't eat in the main restaurant having had gone out to eat. On our return we decided to try the Spa and Pool, this was very clean and well kept and we have a lovely few hours in the Jaquizi, Pool, Sauna and Steam Room. We headed down to the bar in the evening and ordered from the bar menu, although the basics were quite pricey but it is to be expected from a 5 star hotel. The breakfast the following morning was amazing. All in all it was a great stay and we would visit again.

Room Tip: The basic clubroom was great value and had everything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I reviewed the Sunday lunch in the restaurant a year ago after being very impressed. After a third visit this weekend I think standards have dropped a bit. Whilst there was nothing worth complaining about, it just wasn't as good as at other times. I had the roast beef and my husband had turbot. On previous occasions the beef has been pink in the middle, this time it was quite well done. OK, thats just personal preference. The Yorkshire puddings are normally light as a feather, I struggled to cut it this time as it was quite tough so left most of it. I noticed the man on the next table left his too. My husbands fish came on a bed of some kind of green vegetable (can't remember what it was), mashed potato, one carrot and one spring onion (just one each, why bother?). His mashed potato was cold but he didn't want the fuss of sending it back. We later heard the people on the next table saying that theirs was cold too. The apples in the apple crumble were harder than they should have been. So lots of little niggles which you tend to put up with but which spoils your overall enjoyment. The cheesecake was very good, as was the service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Hotels cannot be 100% perfect every time, things do happen from time to time where it can go wrong for guests, our visit just happened to be one of those. We had booked a 2 night stay at this hotel, slightly confusing on first entering the grounds as to where the reception was. We drove down to the main hotel where a smart gentleman told us we were to stay at the Keep (which we had passed on the way in). We checked in at this building which was 500 metres away from the Main Hall and Spa, shown the room by the duty manager, which was quite cool, he tried adjusting the room stat but this did not make any difference to the room during our stay. He then showed us the contents of the wardrobe, a large part of this space was taken up by the ironing board reducing hanging space in an average sized wardrobe. This was also broken leaning quite noticeably to one side, causing the doors not to stay open which was an inconvenience when trying to hang clothes! Could have done with more coat hangers too, we had to drape our coats on the easy chairs, perhaps some coat hooks on the wall would alleviate this problem? This was reported to the reception desk where we were told it would be sorted straight away.. it did not in the time we were there. This may be a minor inconvenience but it should be correct in a four/five star establishment we feel. The staff at the hotel were very polite, helpful and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were very good with quality foods used. The meal at the Brace restaurant was good, a little overpriced, but way overpriced when the bill was presented at £211 for two of us! We had inherited a bar bill from another guest, this was eventually taken off.
On arrival at the table we were asked if we would like a glass of champagne, this was not complimentary and so £20 was added to the bill, we pointed out that it should be made clear that the champagne is Not complimentary to reduce this ambiguity, again it was eventually taken off the bill. We sat waiting for the manager to return our updated bill to us for over 10 minutes, eventually giving up and going back to the Keep. At reception the next day we were ready to pay our final bill where upon close scrutiny we had two Spa Treatment charges of £65 added which we had certainly not used, again this was removed.
Check your bill closely if you do stay at this hotel, they are probably genuine mistakes, however it comes at a costly expense of the guest if overlooked. Attention to detail is paramount if you are advertising a hotel of quality – as guests will not rebook or, advertise verbally to other potential clients, plus Tripadvisor is the tourists guide to what to expect and can be very frank. As our title states, it was such a shame that our visit did not inspire us with confidence for further bookings here, this was my wife's birthday weekend and could have been so much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unclebaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Property: Raithwaite Estate
Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing