We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than excellent”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for my Birthday treat ,and boy what a treat it was, hotel was amazing our room was on the 3rd floor and very nice spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel .
We were met by the porter at the door who took our cases and brought them to the room checking in was very pleasant nothing was to much trouble we were shown around the hotel were dinner and breakfast would be served ect .
There were bathrobes and slippers provided for you to use down to the pool and spa areas ,which i have to say were fabulous all clean tidy and everything you could want from a spa,i booked in for a massage while i stayed it was amazing i highly recommend that.
We had food in the poachers bar one evening which was lovely but a tad expensive, breakfast was included in our stay,what can i say !beautiful from service to presentation couldn't fault a thing,very lovely time was had.
Just have to say i have stayed at many hotels but this one was by far one of the best ,I would also like to say every member of staff at this hotel are by far the most pleasant,thoughtful helpful people that i have come across to be working in a hotel not one thing was to much trouble for any of them.Highly recommend this hotel to anyone,thank you for making my birthday that bit more special .

Room Tip: ask for a lower floor if you need to look of windows 3rd floor have skylight windows .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

bostonLancashire,
Thank you for such a great review!
We are truly thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and chose to celebrate your birthday here!
We will be sure to pass on your great comments to all of our ladies and gentlemen!
We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,634 - 1,640 of 2,132 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just stayed here for four nights for our honeymoon. We chose it because it sounded like a little bit of luxury. We were not disappointed. On being greeted, we were offered congratulations by Pippa on reception. Richard, a very friendly man, took our luggage to our rooms and showed us around. A beautiful quiet place. Lovely comfy bed and big fat shower. All the staff were exceptionally helpful and polite- genuine 5 star treatment. As for the breakfast, it is an event! A chef on hand to cook eggs, everything delicious and locally sourced. Then there's the little spa, the Poacher's Bar, the location two miles beach walk from Whitby, oh, and afternoon tea. It all contributed to a wonderful relaxing few days.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Tracey L,
Thank you for your fantastic review of Raithwaite Hall!
We are ecstatic that you spent your honeymoon with us and that everything was to your satisfaction!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay!
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My friends and I treated ourselves to a spa day at Raithwaite Hall as a Christmas gift to each other and it really was fantastic.
The staff couldn't have been more approachable and helpful. The spa treatments were great and the facilities were lovely. The pool area with huge glass windows is beautiful.
We also had afternoon tea which was delicious and again the service could not have been better.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephlg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Stephlg123
Thank you for a wonderful review!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your spa day and that your afternoon tea was to your liking!
We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel is less than two years old and has been built to a high standard. The gardens are lovely. We were greeted by the concierge, who was very helpful. We asked to view a room for future reference and he took us up to view one. It was lovely and will certainly make us come back
and stay. The hotel is in a peaceful setting and has a spa. The afternoon tea was excellent (especially the warm scones). My only negative observation was the coffee, which was very strong. I didnt ask to change it but the waiter commented on the fact that I had left it and said he would have changed it, which I am sure would have been done as the service had been excellent. I would have preferred a pot of coffee so I could regulate it myself. Perhaps this is something in the future which could be offered? We shall certainly call back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Sue L,
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with us!
We truly appreciate your feedback and will pass on your comments to the relevant departments.
Thank you for your fantastic review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

my daughter paid for a spa day for me whilst staying in scarborough. Loved every minute of it and look forward to repaying the compliment. May have to go again myself. The service and way you were made to feel made us feel extra pampered and not just another customer

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinap732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

tinap732,
We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable experience at our spa and are already looking to come back!
We will pass on your wonderful comments to our team!
We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel was booked for a special occasion, we were made to feel special from the minute we arrived. Greeted by a superb gentleman who took our cases and helped us to our room. Champagne on ice waiting for us as a complementary gift from the hotel. Pool gowns in our rooms so we could change and then go via the lift to the pool area. The evening meal was superb and breakfast even had a chef specifically waiting to cook your eggs as you wished. The presentation of the breakfast food both hot and cold was excellent.
Attention to detail has been thought about when this hotel has been built and they have achieved it with great success. Many thanks to the hotel and staff for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Janet B,
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and were able to make the most of our facilities!
We will be sure to pass on all of your great comments to our team!
We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed overnight dinner, bed and breakfast. Arrived early as it was snowing heavily. There were several staff outside clearing paths, roads etc and directing us where to go. The staff inside were just as accommodating - really helpful and friendly - especially Peter the porter !
Room was lovely with french doors onto a small patio which unfortunately we couldn't us because of the snow. Afternoon scone and tea delicious. Great choice of different teas and coffees - Rooibos Vanilla for me ! Dinner was excellent - food and staff - and we were seated beside a wall of glass watching the snow falling. Very romantic. Breakfast was equally good with a huge choice - from Whitby kippers to porridge and everything in between. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We had a standard room and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Solotrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Solotrom,
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us!
We truly appreciate all of your comments and look forward to sharing them with all of our team!
We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
877 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#5 of 19 in Whitby
464 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 19 in Whitby
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: $122 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing