We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wow.. wow.. wow”
Review of Raithwaite Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raithwaite Estate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

this place is the biz 1 nights stay will stay 2 the next time room 5 star.. the staff the service 5 star.. the food 5 star.. indoor pool/spa the setting are all 5 star we had a deal dinner bed and breakfast nice walk to the beach .. will stay again you bet

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sean w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

sean w,
Thank you for such a fantastic review!
We are ecstatic that you had such a positive experience at our unique retreat and will share your kind comments with all of our team!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,075)
There are newer reviews for Raithwaite Estate
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,680 - 1,686 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We hadn't even left the car when Richard, one of the porters arrived to welcome us and deal with the luggage. This was just a one-night stay as a birthday celebration but we thoroughly enjoyed every minute.
Richard later showed us to our room and gave us a tour of the room which was very helpful.
All the staff we came into contact with were though very polite and friendly.
The resturant, food and service also excellent.
OK if being very picky, I'd agree that the pool area is a bit small and soom gets crowded.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Rhodes169,
Thank you for such a great review!
We are thrilled you were so pleased with your stay with us and will definitely share your kind words with our ladies and gentlemen!
We hope you will visit us again soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed here for four nights over the New Year and really cannot put my finger on the reason for my slight disappointment. The hotel is modern, our room was quiet, clean, well appointed with a super bathroom and a nice view over the hotel grounds but really was too small to be considered luxurious. The staff were very pleasant and most seemed to be local to the area and happy to chat when they had time. We had dinner on New Year's Eve in the restaurant and that was fine but served at a bit of a gallop. However, breakfast I thought was disappointing. I have had better, fresher and more imaginative buffet breakfasts in quite low budget chain hotels and been served superb cooked breakfasts in small B & Bs, so really was expecting more than the unappetising fare on offer here. The layout of the dining room means that wherever you are sitting you have a constant stream of staff/guests to-ing and fro-ing past you as you breakfast, which does not make for a relaxing start to the day. I think the hotel needs to have a serious rethink about the layout of the dining room and consider offering freshly cooked breakfasts to the table. In all, I think that the hotel has potential, but it doesn't quite do it for me at the present time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chrispHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

chrispHampshire,
Thank you for providing us with an honest review of your stay with us.
We are truly saddened to hear that you felt your stay with us was less than perfect as we hope that all of our guests have a relaxing and enjoyable time here at our retreat.
We have recently won an award for our breakfast from Quality in Tourism and also the Style Award from North Yorkshire Moors National Park Authority so we are honestly disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.
We truly appreciate your feedback and have passed on your comments to our teams to avoid any future issues, as we are constantly looking to improve our guests’ experience.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to change your mind in the future.
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arrived in pouring rain for 2 night stay - met with umbrella and porter offering to park car and collect our luggage - a great start. Lovely room - particularly appreciated little touches like homemade biscuits and Molton Brown products. Reception and bar staff were as lovely as the porters. Peter the porter gets a special mention for his tour of the room and his directions to Sandsend. The spa was lovely - enjoyed the pool although it got a bit crowded by late afternoon. Turn down service was much appreciated. On a slight downside the dinner menu was the same for both nights which was a bit disappointing as one of us is vegetarian. Service was attentive but could have done without the view of the kitchen door. All in all good value and a great break - thank you Raithwaite.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LibbyNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

LibbyNorthYorkshire,
Thank you for such a great review!
We are so happy that you were pleased with your room and enjoyed your time in the Spa!
We really appreciate your feedback regarding the dinner menu and will pass this on to the relevant departments.
We will be sure to share your inspiring comments to Peter and all of our ladies and gentlemen!
We hope to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Staff very professional and well trained. Everywhere very clean and tidy. Gym very small would have been crowded with 6 people in it. Ditto for spa but was fortunately quiet whilst we were there. Room opposite lift not the best if you want peace and quiet as some guests were noisy on first night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwiate Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

YourkshireMartinez,
Thank you for your kind words about our ladies and gentlemen, we will definitely pass them on!
Due to space limitations our fitness suite is unable to expand at the current moment without encroaching on any of the space elsewhere in the spa area, but we really appreciate your comments!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and hope you will return soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

At a five star hotel you expect to get very good service and we did. The room could have been bigger, but it was very well equipt with a sitting room upstairs. Bottle of wine, fresh fruit and water in the room. Flat screen TV was good, but did not have all the freeview channels. The spa facilities were excellent and there was a free spa each treatment included in the break. Overall a very relaxing break.

Room Tip: Our room was outside the main building, a small suite, very quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dodeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

dodeen,
Thank you for such a fantastic review of our unique retreat!
We are so pleased you enjoyed the facilities available in your room and the hotel. Unfortunately, due to our location being in a valley, we do not have sufficient signal for all of the freeview channels but we truly appreciate your feedback!
We are thrilled you enjoyed your experience at our Spa and were able to have the relaxing break you were looking for.
We hope to welcome you back in the future
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Efficient check in but we were not given any information about the hotel facilities & their locations.
Excellent size room - beautifly appointed. Turn down service a nice touch.
Clear glass in the bathroom window meant the blind had to be shut all the time making it very dark.
Dinner in the restaurant - a very high standard of service & a reasonable selection on the menu. Some unusual presentations of the meals!
Breakfast is buffet style with an excellent choice of hot & cold food.
Service in the Poachers bar could be rushed at times & it didn't have enough seating for all those wishing to use it, for either a drink or a meal.
Spa - good facilities with a generous sized pool. Very clean & tidy- towels provided & free lockers. At certain times of the day the pool is for adults only which was appreciated.
Spa treatments were professional & relaxing.
Overall, a very nice hotel with high standards.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raithwaite_Hall, Raithwaite Hall at Raithwaite Estate, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

YorkshireRamblers,
Thank you so much for a wonderful review!
Please accept our apologies that you weren’t given a sufficient orientation of our property upon check-in. It is standard practice for our ladies and gentlemen at the front of house to inform all of our guests of our facilities and opening times; we are sincerely sorry that this did not happen upon your arrival.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experiences in Brace Restaurant and Grill and also in our Spa!
We hope we can welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards
Your Raithwaite Hall Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
849 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
633 reviews
1.8 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,135 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
439 reviews
2.0 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raithwaite Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raithwaite Estate

Address: Sandsend Road, Whitby YO21 3SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
#1 Family Hotel in Whitby
#1 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: $122 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raithwaite Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 80-acre Raithwaite Estate with its landscaped grounds is located in the coastal North Yorkshire countryside. Luxurious rooms within The Hall and Keep buildings feature alongside an indoor pool, spa, sauna, gym, 2 restaurants and 2 bars. With luxurious bathrobes, spacious beds and an en suite bathroom, all rooms on the Raithwaite Estate are individually designed. Some also feature a balcony or terrace with stunning views of the landscaped grounds.Local, seasonal produce is used in the Estate's restaurants, located within both The Hall and Keep, with both specialising in Whitby's famous fresh produce from both land and sea.The extensive spa and fitness facilities on the Estate include an 11-metre pool, steam room, and a whirlpool. A range of indulgent spa treatments are also on offer and can be booked prior to arrival. The local countryside, beaches, and nearby North York Moors all offer fantastic scenic walks. The historic town of Whitby is just 5 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Raithwaite Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raithwaite Hall Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing